10/28 Olive AMPS 124, 119+1, 130+2, 140+3, 121+4,131+5, 124+7, 158+9

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...bg-91-14-94-16-141-17-without-insulin.237569/

On the heels of yesterday I am more than a little anxious this morning as Olive did exactly as she had done the day before and continued to drop through the end of the cycle and by shot time she was the lowest I've ever shot @ 124. Knowing that yesterday we had to skip the morning injection due to too low of numbers, I was afraid if I stalled even a little that she'd drop even more, so I took a chance at shooting low to stay low. I hope I didn't make a mistake. I'll be home all day to monitor her.

Update on Cindy's first appointment with the new holistic vet: For starters, my husband and I was extremely impressed by two things yesterday...One: Even though we couldn't be with Cindy during the appointment thanks to Covid, the doc was on the phone with us and was the most thorough, kind, and helpful vet I've met since moving up North. She was patient to explain everything and more than willing to entertain different ideas and solutions and took her time to answer all my questions. And second: EVERYTHING that Dr. Jeff from Holisticactions.com had said to me during our phone consultation the day before mirrored what she said. How often does that happen???! So we were pleased as punch. It was relieving to us to learn we are doing all the right things from Cindy's nutrition to the herbals, to the supplements she's currently on and the one she knows we've already ordered. She agrees with Dr. Jeff that we should try Cindy on the Thyroid Support Gold FIRST for 3 solid weeks and then will do lab work to recheck and see if and how it has effected her T levels. If there's no change she plans to move to another holistic option and we'll go from there. But the drops were her first recommendation as it has and does work for many cats and we are hopeful that Cindy will be one of them. The good news is that she's actually gained a tad of weight which she was very happy to see and that, along with the better clinical signs, gives us all hope that Cindy will respond to the holistic approach. The only negative was that, as we already knew, Cindy didn't handle the ride well and was so stressed that she stayed open mouthed and panting the whole time and that vet is 40 minutes away! It's not good on her heart and had us all nervous. She gave her some herbal poppy seed drops for the ride home, but as we all knew, that really needed to be given an hour before and definitely given while Cindy was at home and under no stress. But she was so stressed out there I asked her to just give it to her anyways as it certainly couldn't hurt. Even still, my husband noted right away that she wasn't screaming as much on the ride back home even though she remained open mouthed, so that gives us hope that next time the poppy seed will do a far better job when given as they should. So if you guys are looking for an herbal to calm down your cat, check into poppy seed. So far it has done a far better job than anything else I've tried. Please keep her...and Olive in your prayers. Thanks everyone!
 
Last edited:
Good luck, Robyn :bighug: You have all the tools to keep Olive safe and the board to help you. I will be on and off this morning but will check-in.

Glad to hear the news on Olive and that you all liked her vet.

Sending good vibes to all of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck, Robyn :bighug: You have all the tools to keep Olive safe and the board to help you. I will be on and off this morning but will check-in.

Glad to hear the news on Olive and that you all liked her vet.

Sending good vibes to all of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you! :)
 
Good job shooting this morning. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2. I'm glad things went well with the holistic vet. I hope the treatment plan helps her. Sending prayers.
 
Good job shooting this morning. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2. I'm glad things went well with the holistic vet. I hope the treatment plan helps her. Sending prayers.
Thanks! Her numbers have risen when I thought they would have gone down, but we shall see. She's at 140+3. Maybe I goofed again when at +1 she was lower than the preshot so I gave her a half tsp of FF and a tsp of raw to bump her a tad knowing that two hours from then the Lantus would kick in. I didn't know what kind of a drop to expect. Maybe I shouldn't have fed her. Olive's BG has been so wonky I'm not sure of anything at this moment. lol.
 
She's still pretty flat and could come back down later. It's all a learning experience. Just take good notes on what you feed and when so you can look back if you need to.
 
Yes, Olive has done great all day. She's beginning to go up at +9 but all in all she didn't dive like I expected today. I'm most pleased. Now I know I can shoot even lower than I imagined I would when all this began back in August. She's been sleeping most of the day...as I've learned is her way of saying "I'm feeling better, Mom, and just need to relax and let my body enjoy it."
she’s handling it well and so are you!
Thank you! ;)
 
Back
Top