10/28 Josie AMPS 333 PMPS 232 (Dosing help needed)

Status
Not open for further replies.

eccentricfuzzyme

Member Since 2011
Josie is at 333 this morning.

After raising her dose from 1.50 to 2.00 almost 2 weeks ago it seems like her numbers have gotten worse, not better. And they are all over the place, over 100 difference from one night to the next. I am getting incredibly frustrated with this whole process and its unresponsiveness.
 
Re: 10/28 Josie AMPS 333 (Dosing help needed)

Sorry, but there's no way to know what's going on without any routine PM tests. Josie may be bouncing. I just don't feel comfortable making any recommendations since it could jeopardize Josie's safety.
 
Re: 10/28 Josie AMPS 333 (Dosing help needed)

Hi guys .. yep .. frustration can be the name of the game with feline diabetes .. You have to learn that bounces will happen (if that is what is happening) and sometimes those numbers will go all over the place even without a bounce .. Sometimes you have to just follow protocol/spotchecks and know you are doing what is best for your kitty and wait for results .. it's hard, but it's the safest thing ..
 
Re: 10/28 Josie AMPS 333 (Dosing help needed)

I think I am going to have to consider getting rid of her. I cannot go any deeper into debt caring for her. I have no money to buy food for myself, every cent is going to her insulin,her test strips, her needles, her food, her vet bills.
I dont have the time or money to devote to the constant care she demands. It isnt possible for a single caregiver who has a life to do so.
 
Re: 10/28 Josie AMPS 333 (Dosing help needed)

Angela:

I know how very much you love Josie. You've been trying very hard to take the best care of her. We all make sacrifices for our kitties....it's just what we do. I haven't been able to go see my mom since Gracie was dxd. My mom is 83 and not in the best of health. But she understands ....she is the one that raised me to have such love and compassion for the little souls we bring into our lives and make a committment to.

I know Josie feels your love.
 
Re: 10/28 Josie AMPS 333 (Dosing help needed)

has anyone mentioned DCIN to you?

they can sometimes help with expenses.

sending hugs your way...
 
Re: 10/28 Josie AMPS 333 (Dosing help needed)

Or, Diabetic Cats in Need (DCIN) may be able to help with re-homing Josie.

Frankly, many of us are the sole caretaker for our cat. There are, in fact, some solo caregivers who have 2 diabetic cats. Yes, it can be expensive to care for a companion with a health problem. And yes, it has had an effect on my life. My travel is severely curtailed. My friends know that my socializing revolves around shot time and that I will cancel plans if Gabby's numbers are low. I've lost countless hours of sleep. That's my choice because when I accepted the responsibility when I brought both of my cats into my life it was with the understanding that it was in health and in sickness. What would you do if this was a child? Or a spouse? Or a parent that you were the caregiver for?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top