? 10/28 - Dolly - AMPS 258 240 +2.25 Considering TR need advice

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...23-4-182-6-5-0-9-ketones.237355/#post-2665199
I upped Dolly's insulin to 1.5 without a curve but feel I test enough. Maybe this was the wrong thing to do. I gave her a fat 1.25 10/26 and her numbers were some better. My main concern is removing Dr. Elsey's for overnight feeding. She eats very little of it but she has something should she get hungry. What do others do about food during the night? Can I still give her Young Again Zero treats? Was also thinking of putting her on Young Again Zero Mature, it seems to put a lot of cats in remission. As always I am conflicted as to what I should do that is best for my cat.
 
Others use an auto feeder set to go off at scheduled times. I used to leave food out for my civvies for years and never had a problem. If you feed any dry food TR is not for you. You can lower no shot numbers and reduction numbers a bit though.
 
Others use an auto feeder set to go off at scheduled times. I used to leave food out for my civvies for years and never had a problem. If you feed any dry food TR is not for you. You can lower no shot numbers and reduction numbers a bit though.
I am confused with “lower no shot numbers and reduction numbers”. My brain is not working as well as usual, lots of stress since my husbands surgery Friday. Does the no dry food include the young again treats? Thanks for the response.
 
With SLGS you reduce if you get a test under 90. Some people choose a slightly lower number such as 70 or 80. I’m having internet issues so can’t access your ss at the moment to see what the lowest number you shoot. If 160, you might consider lowering that to 140 or 150 for example. These are just random numbers I am using as examples. Does this make sense?
 
I got
With SLGS you reduce if you get a test under 90. Some people choose a slightly lower number such as 70 or 80. I’m having internet issues so can’t access your ss at the moment to see what the lowest number you shoot. If 160, you might consider lowering that to 140 or 150 for example. These are just random numbers I am using as examples. Does this make sense?
Yes, I get it. Dolly hasn’t had low enough numbers to even consider reducing. I am hoping the increase starts to bring her down. She’s still floating in the yellows.
 
No dry food at all for TR but is there any problem with leaving out wet food instead? If Dolly will just eat that straight away, as Elise suggested a timed feeder could be a good option. Especially because you can get it to turn to an empty slot 2hrs before preshot so not have to get up to remove it :)
 
No dry food at all for TR but is there any problem with leaving out wet food instead? If Dolly will just eat that straight away, as Elise suggested a timed feeder could be a good option. Especia:(:(:(lly because you can get it to turn to an empty slot 2hrs before preshot so not have to get up to remove it :)
She never eats the canned food I leave out. I don’t think she even leaves the bedroom once we go to bed. If my memory wasn’t so bad, trying to remember what I did pre remission and during (through August this year :() The no dry would include the Young Again Zero treats, right? She’s not a big fan of Freeze dried treats. I will add TR to our profile and spreadsheet tomorrow am. I have to keep reading the protocol, my brain just doesn’t absorb anything, too much illness for the last two years. Too much isolation (like everyone). Thanks for you thoughts, I really am so grateful to you and everyone else that gives us so much support. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Sorry that I talk so much. :eek:
 
Last edited:
Lol you can talk as much as you like! Yes no dry includes the young again. Most kitties like a little raw meat as a treat so you might like to try that for Dolly if she doesn’t like the freeze dried stuff. If you leave a bit of wet food out and she doesn’t eat it then she’s not that hungry ;)
 
Lol you can talk as much as you like! Yes no dry includes the young again. Most kitties like a little raw meat as a treat so you might like to try that for Dolly if she doesn’t like the freeze dried stuff. If you leave a bit of wet food out and she doesn’t eat it then she’s not that hungry ;)
Dolly says “no” to any people food:woot:. Won’t eat raw or cooked. She’s always been difficult, picky, I know it’s my fault for that. I agree about the wet food at night. Her biggest problem is her congestion, can’t smell most things. She’s been treated for years with different meds. Now she even has occasional very bloody sneezes. When she eats I can hear and see the mucous bubbling in her nose. It’s painful to watch because she can barely breathe while eating. So today, no Young Again treats after testing. She is confused and not happy about that. She is mad :mad:

So sorry for taking you seriously about talking. :joyful: I can talk about Dolly forever.

Thank you so much for the response. Take good care and be safe. :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top