10/28 Chloe AMPS 274

If you can test before bed tonight, it would be interesting to see if she is doing anything lower. Sometimes it takes a few days to get into the groove, and many of us have found that flat yellows can signal some action. Have you decided to go with SLGS, or a somewhat combo with vet suggested dosing?
 
If you can test before bed tonight, it would be interesting to see if she is doing anything lower. Sometimes it takes a few days to get into the groove, and many of us have found that flat yellows can signal some action. Have you decided to go with SLGS, or a somewhat combo with vet suggested dosing?

combo with vet suggested dosing. I'm getting worried because her coat is dull and scraggly and she seems to be losing weight. She was at 255 this morning and I gave her fat .5. I started my Lantus pen on 9/23 and am wondering if I should start a new one?
@Christie & Maverick
If I reply to your post, do you get an alert? I tagged you just in case you don't.
 
Last edited:
Remember, with Lantus you don’t determine whether to change dose based on the pre-shot values. The pre-shots help you determine that it’s safe to give insulin and also give you a starting point to see how the BG trends throughout the cycle. Rather, dosing changes are based on nadir (low points in the cycle) which is why it’s so very, very important to get BG tests during the middle(ish) portion of each cycle. Just because a cat’s BG stays flat during one cycle doesn’t mean it’ll do the same the next cycle or the next day. It’s important not to make assumptions about what’s happening. They have a way of surprising us!

So, I strongly encourage you to get at least one mid-cycle test during today’s cycle as well as a +2 or +3 to see where tonight’s cycle might be heading.

As for poor coat quality and weight loss ... yes, it can be related to diabetes, but it can be other things as well. Has Chloe been tested for hyperthyroidism? Has she ever had fleas? Given that she goes outside, it’s possible that she has picked up something and needs to be dewormed. Just a few ideas to mull over. It’s so hard to see them looking unkempt. :-(

The insulin should probably still be ok if you’ve been keeping it properly refrigerated but it never hurts to crack open a new pen if you want to rule out that variable.
 
Has she ever had fleas? Given that she goes outside, it’s possible that she has picked up something and needs to be dewormed.
Chloe is strictly an indoor cat, although she grooms Cheddar, who is my most outdoor cat. We don't have fleas here, it's too dry.
She's at 68 right now, 4:00 pm. I just gave her some food and a few treats. After this, nothing until shot time at 7 pm.
She didn't get much breakfast this morning because I woke up hearing her pee next to the bed. There's a shallow litter box not two feet away. So I was annoyed and fed Chico first and put Cheddar outside to eat his kibble (or Chico will push him away and eat it). By that time, Chloe came into the kitchen to eat, but I didn't see how much she got. I fed her and Fuzma a new can a couple hours later when Chico was sleeping. Since I put Chico on a wet food diet to lose weight, he's always the first to get to the food. My vet recommended that.
 
Last edited:
Wow, I wonder if that’s a rising or falling 68. She could have been even lower earlier in the day. That certainly shows that she doesn’t need a higher dose right now.

Litter box issues are rough. Has she been checked for a UTI? Some cats develop an aversion to the box — associate it with pain, or it smells of the other cats, or the sides are too high if they have mobility issues, or the litter makes them unstable on their feet, or they don’t like the gritty texture of the litter on their feet, or a hundred other things. In those cases, sometimes even a pee pad placed in a litter box gives them a softer surface that they find acceptable.

Sorry you’re having a tough time with Chloe. It has to be frustrating.
 
Sorry Roberta, the tag didn't come through, but I was at work anyway, and not online. I never found any issues with the potency of insulin, for the most part my Lantus vial lasted for around 6 months. Most times when I wondered whether the insulin was not effective, it really wasn't the insulin. And now than I have been using the Levemir pens vs. a vial, I find the pens very good. Seems with that 68 the insulin is fine ;)

Let us know how she is tonight.
 
Sorry Roberta, the tag didn't come through, but I was at work anyway, and not online. I never found any issues with the potency of insulin, for the most part my Lantus vial lasted for around 6 months. Most times when I wondered whether the insulin was not effective, it really wasn't the insulin. And now than I have been using the Levemir pens vs. a vial, I find the pens very good. Seems with that 68 the insulin is fine ;)

Let us know how she is tonight.
I'm using a pen and not a vial. It's 9:30 and she's at 190.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top