10/28 Chewie AMPS 139/ +2 108/ +5 98/ +7 103/ PMPS 126/ +2.5 127

Virginie & Chewie (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

Finally a good night's sleep, thanks Chewie :cat: (maybe she went back in the blues because she knew I needed it, how sweet of her)

First, it would be lovely to know why Chewie needs the amount of insulin she needs. It is rather unusual to need that high a dose without some other condition present. My suggestions for dosing are tweaked somewhat if there is a secondary endocrine condition present.
Her home vet visit is on Nov 1st, I'll be sure to ask them about testing for acromegaly and IAA.

Keeping Chewie is greens at a dose is a nice goal, but not by forcing it with HC. If she wants a reduction and you have to pile on the carbs to keep her safe, then let her earn a reduction by just giving LC and MC. Otherwise you risk an overfull depot, which can be hard to keep ahead of with higher doses.
That was my understanding, thanks for reiterating. I haven't used any HC at all so far, only LC and a touch of MC when she wouldn't eat the LC alone. Highest was 12%, and never more than 1-1.5 tsp.

Also, reductions over 5 units are by 0.5 units at a time, not 1.0. And that PMPS has told you it can be hard to maintain the solid greens if she's not ready for it.
Ah, did not know that. I assumed that since increases were by 1 unit in high doses, the decreases would go the same way. Thanks for clarifying that. I'm not worried about the blues anymore, just seeing how lethargic and unlike herself she is when under 85 tells me she needs time to get used to that level.
My old vet finally provided a prescription to Mark's Marine Pharmacy, so I was able to order a pack of 5 pens, that should arrive in a few weeks. I'll still need to get a single pen locally with a prescription from the home visit vet to tide us over until then. And after that the constant worry that we will run out of insulin because she needs such high doses will be over, and I'll be SO relieved.
 
Oh that sounds interesting ! I was thinking of taking Bella to an acupuncturist, there is one at the university hospital, they say arthritis is one of the things they treat. I might still do it. And I hope I. An watch, I am impressed just imagining doing that on a cat!
What kind of treatment do they do ?
 
Oh that sounds interesting ! I was thinking of taking Bella to an acupuncturist, there is one at the university hospital, they say arthritis is one of the things they treat. I might still do it. And I hope I. An watch, I am impressed just imagining doing that on a cat!
What kind of treatment do they do ?
Chewie actually got both acupuncture and laser therapy for her back when she injured it in March (herniated disk). She did not like the insertion of needles, but still sat there quietly in her carrier for 20min without moving! It really did help with her pain and healing, but I couldn’t tell you which of the two helped most.
 
was thinking of taking Bella to an acupuncturist, there is one at the university hospital, they say arthritis is one of the things they treat. I might still do it.
Neko got acupuncture treatment for her arthritis. Her arthritis came from her acromegaly (bony growths), so was quite bad, but the treatments really helped her mobility. She got a combinations of needles and acupuncture laser. Neko told the vet where she could needle, and where she couldn't. :p She knew it helped, and really leaned into the vet during treatment. If vetty and I were chatting too much at the beginning of the session, she'd tell us to get on with it. The vet also showed me how to do acupressure along her spine, which I did daily, to supplement and extend the effect of the acupuncture.
 
Neko got acupuncture treatment for her arthritis. Her arthritis came from her acromegaly (bony growths), so was quite bad, but the treatments really helped her mobility. She got a combinations of needles and acupuncture laser. Neko told the vet where she could needle, and where she couldn't. :p She knew it helped, and really leaned into the vet during treatment. If vetty and I were chatting too much at the beginning of the session, she'd tell us to get on with it. The vet also showed me how to do acupressure along her spine, which I did daily, to supplement and extend the effect of the acupuncture.
That’s so great that she just knew, and had no patience for chitchat - I love it :cat:
The acupressure bit is awesome, I will ask about that next week! Chewie recovered well from her injury (the jerk vet warned we may have to euthanize her since we couldn’t afford a MRI and $10k surgery) but she will have a swaying/shuffly walk for the rest of her life and has a hard time jumping up. Wouldn’t mind having home PT strategies to supplement the Adequan injections.
 
Back
Top