10/28/2010 Spitzer AMPS = 295, +10=59, +12=59

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Spitz's in a good mood this morning. Purred, preened, played with the boys (Buster, Street, Smokey Joe), & pestered Farrall, Tux, & Precious.

He made a trip to the basement and after furious scratching of the litterbox, bolted upstairs, so I'm going to infer poo &/or pee.
 
Re: 10/28/2010 Spitzer AMPS = 295

glad to hear spitzer is in a good mood! And a sunny yellow amps this morning too ... I hope you come down, nice and slow today! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/28/2010 Spitzer AMPS = 295, +10=59

I wonder if it'll come up enough @ +12 to shoot! (I doubt it)

I wonder if he ought to be dosed every 16 hours! Lets see ... that would be @ 1 am ... I supose I could go to bed early and set the alarm.

I'm really thinking a different insulin might be needed.
 
Re: 10/28/2010 Spitzer AMPS = 295, +10=59

Yep, I would try less before switching to something else. Not that I give advice...that's just my opinion.
 
Re: 10/28/2010 Spitzer AMPS = 295, +10=59

Spitzer is obviously responding very well to Lantus. It just looks like he needs a little LESS per shot.
That is how I would resolve the bouncing from low to high.

Lowering a dose is great news! Most people would kill to have that problem! :lol:

Why don't you try a lower dose for a while and see how that works?
The way Spitzer is going, you may not have to worry about any dose after a while.
I sure wouldn't switch to a different insulin at this point. :shock:
 
Re: 10/28/2010 Spitzer AMPS = 295, +10=59

BJ, you are getting into a yo-yo pattern because the dose is too high. See the following from the sticky on the storage shed.

When you get impatient and overfill the storage shed by upping the dose too fast, you get into a situation where at first it looks like nothing is happening because the shed is still filling up. Then you reach the point where it is totally full and yet you are still giving a dose that's too high. Now suddenly none is going into shed, because that is full. It is all working on the cat... and the numbers drop out on you.

Worse case scenario is when you over fill the shed/insulin depot... get very low numbers... then empty out shed by dropping dose too much... or having to skip the shot. Then you'll see high numbers from the combo of the effects of rebound and an empty storage shed/insulin depot. Most react by bumping the dose back up which overfills the shed/depot again resulting in a roller coaster ride to nowhere. Not the way to work this insulin.

This is exactly what's happening....your dose is too high, the numbers get too low, so you don't shoot...the shed empties out, the BG rises, you go back and shoot the same dose that's too high, and start the roller coaster all over again....lower the dose, try cutting it in half. Use reading glasses and a lighted magnifier (that's what I do!) to draw a 0.25u and give it a try.
 
I actually wrote BD (syringe manufacturer) that there is a market for a smaller barrel syringe for the small companion animal diabetes market.

I think the photos of syringes with minute variations between the lines are nice ... but I question just how accurate those estimated amounts are. All of us would be much better off it either a smaller barrel syringe was available, or a lower concentration of Lantus (U-50 would be about right for the low shooters)

In the morning, I'll try to shoot lower than .5 units - but even with a magnifier, I am going to have measurement problems due the !@#$ cataracts.
 
A lot of people here use a variety of magnifying devices. Maybe one of these or something similar would help since I doubt a syringe manufacturer will come up with a new syringe by the time you need it. I also suspect it will be hard to read a smaller barrel syringe.
 
Yes it would be nice for a lot of us if there was a syringe to measure smaller doses but unfortunately most of us rely on magnifying glasses of some sort. It is more important that once you figure out what dose you are going to shoot that you be consistent. My 0.1 may not be the same as your 0.1 but whatever you shoot for a smaller dose that you shoot the same dose twice a day. I am sure having cataracts does not make it any easier to see such a small amount.

I also agree with others that Spitzer is having a great response to Lantus and would not change insulin.
 
Cataracts cloud the vision, bouncing light erratically within the lens of the eye before sending it through to the retina. And all the magnification in the world won't help that, unfortunately, which is why I've an opthamologist apt coming up. I've got crappy retinas and have a 10% risk of retinal detachment if I have any eye surgery ... but even with brand new glasses, I've had to start limiting driving after dark, the closed captioning on the TV is blurry, and the glare from stage lights makes it hard to see the conductor, so it may be time to risk it.

Not to mention I need to be able to dose my cat!

He's adorable!
 
BJ, sorry to hear about the cataracts and retinal issues. Good luck with your upcoming appointment.

One option for measuring smaller doses is to draw a little extra insulin and count how many drops there are in 0.5u. Then squirt out half of the drops to get to 0.25u. I haven't done this myself, but I know people do use a method like this to reduce small doses.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top