10/28/10 Squamee AMPS 345 .8U

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Member Since 2009
AMPS (at +11) 345 .8U
Came upstairs this morning--that is good. But back into hiding after test and phenobarb. Ate some during the night and early this morning.
 
I'm betting with whatever may be going on currently, she'll need .9 to come down [from PS to PS] a bit at this point whereas a bit ago it was looking like .7u. IMHO, this is a good example of where the more recent history is more important that the more distant history. Usually, just the past few days or so really play the most influence.
 
Thanks for the input , Gator. I was trying to decide that this morning. She had eaten an hour before so I was thinking that might have inflated her number. But I will watch it, and probably give .9U tonight.

I called the pharmacy about other ways of compounding the gabapentin. They have tried it in a transdermal patch and found it was not absorbed. They can compound it with corn oil instead of almond oil. I guess I will try that. I have no idea what the difference will be. Seems like corn oil might be milder in taste.
 
+6 245. So, Gator, you were definitely right. I spoke with the vet who wants to up her phenobarb to 3x/day, which is OK with me, since her mouth symptoms are a little worse. Also, she has been in hiding and very passive the last few days. Late this morning I couldn't even find her! (And I really searched) Now she is under a blanket, but I know where. THe vet want s me to up the insulin to a steady 1.5 to get the diabetes under control and hopefully make the symptom picture clearer. I do have the sense that I ought to pick one dose and stick with it for awhile (unless she starts to go low), but 1.5 scares me. I know you had suggested .9 but if I am around to test, do you think it's too risky to do 1U?
 
I'm not going to advise you to pick a dose and stick with it just because that is not what I am personally comfortable with - which doesn't mean you shouldn't do it. I am clearly not the best advice giver here for consistent dosing strategies. :smile:

The vet did not want her on any insulin originally... :roll: And currently, I am uncomfortable with 1.5u. You were making some headway and her needs just went up in the past couple days. Can the vet [get his/her panties out of a bunch ;-) ] & give you a few more days to adjust here to the new realities?

As Joanna was pointing out - one of the issues with variable dosing is the tendency to let up on the dose too much when one is starting out on it because they chicken out. It is not that you should let up on the dose and the numbers go down, it is that you should let up on the dose when the PS to PS drop is too much and numbers go down where that sort of drop is unacceptable. Not sure if that is making any sense?

I am not at all against you pursuing other strategies. Just I personally am not so good with the other strategies.
 
It is not that you should let up on the dose and the numbers go down, it is that you should let up on the dose when the PS to PS drop is too much and numbers go down where that sort of drop is unacceptable. Not sure if that is making any sense?


I am trying to be clear about the above (and I can't figure out how to use the "quote" function) What drop from PS to PS is unacceptable? If the BG is in a safe range , let's say above 70, is there still a drop that is too great? In other words, are you saying that you can be at a "good" BG reading and still have too much of a drop? If that is what you mean, then what is too great a drop?

Gator, I really appreciate your flexibility and willingness to help me even when I might not be doing things your way! I have not met many people in my life who are able to take that attitude.
 
judy and squamee said:
It is not that you should let up on the dose and the numbers go down, it is that you should let up on the dose when the PS to PS drop is too much and numbers go down where that sort of drop is unacceptable. Not sure if that is making any sense?
OK I really apologize, I was getting pressured to get that off quickly and did not type things right. What I think I meant to say was:
It is not that you shouldn't let up on the dose as the numbers go down, it is that you should let up on the dose when the PS to PS drop is too much and numbers go down where that sort of drop is unacceptable.

judy and squamee said:
What drop from PS to PS is unacceptable? If the BG is in a safe range , let's say above 70, is there still a drop that is too great? In other words, are you saying that you can be at a "good" BG reading and still have too much of a drop? If that is what you mean, then what is too great a drop?
In a perfect world I like to make changes to the PS in about 30 points when the BGs are under 300. When under 200 then it would be nice to make changes in about 20 points. That is just my preference and is very conservative. A change in 50 points from PS to PS between 200-300 is acceptable - but clearly one does not want to keep driving the dose down by 50 points from PS to PS indefinitely. The key is to have a good idea what that "magic" does at that time might be that will keep the PS to PS even so hopefully you can back off to that number if needed. One should not get worried if the changes happen outside what my preference is [unless the changes are huge]. For instance a 100 point drop from PS to PS when the PSes are under 300 is pretty significant and would indicate that you need to back off a bit for the next dose. How much that bit is, has many inputs. Also an important note is that from my experience the "magic" dose tends to change a little as the numbers go down, but that is something you will have to really divine for yourself. I guess what I'm trying to say is that different doses work different at different PSes. That's why I said in one of my much earlier topics to you that it is a about what X dose you give for a Y change at a Z PS. But this is not a crucial point when you are just simply trying to hone in on basic "magic" dose and keep kitty out of 300+ type PSes. I would say, once you can get PSes under 200 that's really when you start fine tuning.

judy and squamee said:
I have not met many people in my life who are able to take that attitude.
You're preachin' to the choir. :smile:

I'm happy to tell you about my way and advise you in my way. If you don't drink the kool aid I can't control that. :-D

I'm going to be really honest with you here. *I think* you are moving faster with this approach than you might with another approach. I cannot promise that though. Maybe I just have this self-deluded idea that I was able to adapt to things quicker when I was doing it and I have to be careful not to try to extrapolate that idea to other kitties. You have been aggressive about upping the dose which has helped. And you have to look at when you do a BCD dose as beneficial in gathering data. BCD doses give you confidence that the next time you decide to dose a little higher that it will work out OK for you.

IMHO it wasn't even slightly clear until 2 days ago that you were having a new dose reality going on and now just one day ago you were beginning to try to adapt to that reality. You've had one BCD [*maybe* two] dose in there. I'm not sure how much faster you could be going here. The normal advice for consistent dosing is to hold a dose for at LEAST 2 days - that's 4 cycles [some here swear that with ProZinc it should be held for 5... or more days]. So with variable we do a little more fiddling that eats some time, but we learn and get even faster down the road. And you've only been trying this variable type dosing for a couple weeks maybe? Maybe I'm lacking some distance/perspective on the topic but *I* think you are doing fine [but maybe I'm the wrong person to judge that].

BTW new dosing realities can happen in a downward trend too so you do have to stay open to things all the time. You just kind of have to stay on your toes and await the next punch.

Did the vet have any input on what you are doing wrong and why and why his/her approach would be better in this instance? I'm sorry, I get very frustrated with vets [they have caused me and my kitties so many problems] - I'm being on my best behavior here and trying to avoid unnecessary comments. :smile: I'm trying to approach it in a matter of fact way - and I'm honestly very open to constructive input from any source.

Here in PZI we are a little short on resources - limited people with limited time. Sort of by accident, we've ended up just kind of pair or split off. This is good because at least you get one consistent set of eyes on you - a "buddy" who's got your back hopefully. This is bad because others may not really be reading all of your topics. So if you feel it might help you, you should post something obvious like "seeking everyone's input/other eyes" or something like that in PZI to attract other eyes and you might want to link back to this topic. Maybe some others will be able to point where the variable is not working right for S - I lack the proper perspective/knowledge to really judge how another approach might work better.

Keep asking questions and I'll keep trying to answer them. And again [at any time], please ask me to clarify anything that I say if it's not clicking. I'm also open to talking real-time with you [PM me] - but I do also feel it is important to address things here so that others can see what I'm advising and correct me if they feel needed [the informal and highly beneficial peer review system here :smile: ].
 
Yes you can have to great of a drop if the BGs are in a good 'range.' If one PS is 150, you dose .5 and you drop by 50 so the next PS is 100 then I would advise dosing something lower [like .1 or .2 if not 0.0] at that PS of 100. And during that PS drop hopefully the nadir was not too low either. Another example: if the PS is 200 you dose .8 and the next PS is 170 that's just fine. But you will still probably want to back off on the dose at least by a bit because if you have another 30 point drop in the PS you are at 140 and still dropping by 30 points at a time and getting into having to take lager correction zone. So at that first drop to 170 I might back off to .7 just to try to avoid having to take bigger action. Small changes in dose, that's where you would ultimately like to be headed. Sometimes it takes multiple small changes upwards to get control of upward trending or higher type numbers. As you know I recommend even smaller increments than .1u but I know it is difficult for you to see that type of increment so I'm trying to limit my crazy small increment advice. :mrgreen:
 
Also it looks like *maybe* a trend to higher at PMPS? Any thoughts on that? Just guessing - making sure if you think you might be observing anything that might add up to that kind of hypothesis?
 
Re: 10/28/10 Squamee AMPS 345 .8U, +6 242, PMPS "HIGH" 1.2U,

edit-- -PMPS read "HIGH", +3.5 311


First, I feel like a moron, but I have to ask, what is a BCD dose?

Second, I don't mind your having negative things to say about vets---I am astonished by their lack of knowledge. I think this vet is sort of covering his ass because he "made" her be diabetic by giving her steroids, even tho the dental specialist he was consulting with advised against it. Of course, that specialist was suggesting it was stomach problems and recommending an endoscopy, to be followed by a CAT scan and an MRI--all of which I was refusing to do. The last time around with this symptom the steroids did resolve it, and besides, she had a seizure and the vet was thinking she had a brain tumor, so he thought we didn't have many options and steroids made sense (and I agreed). He was quite sure the diabetes would be reversed once the steroids wore off, and I think he feels badly that didn't happen. (So he both missed the call on the FOPS and turned her into a diabetic). Anyhow, these days he mostly goes along with what I want, and if I decide to ignore his advise that's just on my shoulders. I have been thinking a lot about this, and I think my inclination to stick to some dose for a few days has less to do with what Squamee needs and more to do with my exhaustion, hopelessness, and a wish to not have to constantly be making decisions and worrying if I am wrong. SO if I had a non-flexible program I could just stick to it and not have to think about it. But I must do what I really think is best for her, so it looks like I am on board with a variable schedule. But I have to ask you to keep in mind AT ALL TIMES that I am very afraid because I cannot count on the fact that she will be able to eat whenever she goes low and needs carbs. That was my safety net in the past, and now I never know when the symptoms will interfere with her eating.

The "high" reading tonight really scared me, and I am grateful you reminded me to check ketones. So far I have not gotten her urine. If it does turn out she has ketones, what constitutes an emergency? At what point do I have to take her immediately to a vet?

This morning she was hiding and I searched the house and was unable to find her. I still don't know where she was---she was around after I left and came back. Her hiding disturbs me and not being able to find her makes me nuts. I have the awful thought that she is going off to die. And I also feel that she is running away from me---I have become her torturer who forces her to take the medicine she hates which then sends her into awful fits of mouth symptoms. I have a little bit of relief at the moment, because today she took the phenobarb in Velveeta. Did I tell you the vet said to up the 7.5mg BID to 7.5 TID? So, at the moment, the Velveeta is a godsend. (3x/day I don't have to fight her). Hope it lasts. (the pill pockets only worked for 3 days). I still have to fight her 2x/day to give the gabapentin, even though I don't even know if it is getting into her (she continues to have white drool afterwards).

SO I feel most grateful to have you for a "BUDDY". Lucky for me you are on this board.
 
BCD = Big Chicken Dose

Thank goodness the Velveda is working currently! *Big sigh!*

I'll be pretty honest with you again lol. PZI - at least in the varied approaches presented mostly here are not so conducive to "auto pilot" - or not thinking about what you are doing. Your "exhaustion" is very understandable. There have been others that have left ['defected' lol - just kidding] PZI just for that exact reason. Lantus and Levimir are much more geared that way because of their protocols developed for those insulins. But I will say that the Lantus folk seem to test WAY more and their nadir run low seeming way more frequently requiring higher carb food interventions. If you check their SSs you will see what I mean.

The "high" reading is no good for sure. I'm with you on hopefully getting that ended ASAP. We'll see where she ends up tomorrow morning. I'm thinking for tomorrow morning maybe you might want to shoot a minimum of .9 all the way down to a PS above or perhaps into the low 200's. Let me know if you have any other ideas [I'll be up for another 1/2 hour]?

I know next to nothing about keytones!! Shame on me! So what I recommend is posting in Health about info related to keytone level dangers/danger zones. When you get the info, please share it with me as I need to read up on it myself. I'm hoping we can end this crazy 499+ crud like yesterday. And the Thing is that she doesn't really appear to be spending a whole lot of time in the 400+ zone. Just those weird end of day times mostly.

I think if anything my approach is too conservative. I hope I am not making you to scared? As I've said, every time you "BCD" ;-) can be turned into a positive and just give you more confidence the next time. You are the one with the needle in your hand not me - you are always the best judge of what to dose and not me. I'm just a good backseat driver. :mrgreen:
 
Gator, you are suggesting that the minimum I shoot is .9 unless the AMPS is low 200s? That seems ok to me. I will be around tomorrow so I can be testing and giving her food if necessary (my kitchen floor is covered with different plates of cat food!) Sometimes she will eat if I bring it to wherever she is lying.
 
Yea that is my suggestion - only if it sounds good to you.

Obviously you need to up the dose again if you do not get out of the 499+ territory. Ugg lets hope that does not happen.

Then I don't know I'm just kind of making this up and this would be tomorrow's scale and only tomorrow's scale and only if no other factors change that you and only you can be observing:
But like
210+ 0.9
275+ 1.0
350+ 1.1
400+ 1.2
499+ 1.3

Just some ideas???? Please do what seems right for you at the time.

Variable is like sliding scale, but a new one every day. :-D We would like to ultimately not have such a wide variation in possible doses but we are just trying to figure things out here a little bit more.

I don't know - I usually just make it up as I go and react to the situation when it happens - it is so hard for me to react to a situation before it happens.
 
I [really sincerely] wish I could take the responsibility of giving you a suggested scale before every PS. Unfortunately things are a little too chaotic and constrained for me right now to do that. So that's why I'm really trying to focus on getting you the confidence [and quickly] to take charge if I'm not around. :smile: We'll get you there - and I think we'll be there in a very short time. I understand how unnerving it can be.

You might also want to read in on DoDo's progress? It seems they are doing some sliding scale too. I think Klinger was doing some scale too but just had some dental work so I would expect/hope for things to be changing for them. Watching the other cats here [including staying on top of their SSs] is another good way to learn. I think one of the wonderful things about PZI are all the different approaches we take. Then is just up to the bean to pick and choose what works best for them. :smile:
 
I would be wary of going to 1.5. If you wanted to try a steady dose for a few cycles and see if the results even out a bit, I would try 1, or 1.2 and be vigilant around cycles 3 & 4 to be sure it isn't too much. (Not arguing against a sliding scale, just continuing on the thread of the vet comments...) On the other hand, in part why Squamee went OTJ so fast last time was because you were pretty aggressive with her dose (in part from your vet overdosing her), so I wouldn't be too timid with the dose either (not saying you are or anything, just in general terms).

Wondering if she is eating higher carb food than usual? I haven't followed closely enough to say for sure, but the recent red #s and the HI seem out of the ordinary to me, for Squamee. It makes me wonder what is up, since it seems like she isn't responding the same way as she was say a week ago. Sometimes that happens with Bix, as far as I can tell it's when he isn't feeling well, and/or if I get the dose too low sometimes I think his pancreas stops pitching in as well.

Anyhow, sorry to keep jumping in and making suggestions without taking the time to really study her #s and such. :oops: I like to be part of the party. :-D
 
Welcome to the party, Joanna! I know these numbers are very different for Squamee. Her food is the same. The main difference is her mouth problem and the meds she is getting. I think there is probably some serious underlying malady ( which might also account for the seizure a few weeks ago)THe vet thought her quickly going OTJ last time was because the diabetes was induced by the steroids which wore off. He expected the same thing to happen this time. CLearly, we are not following the same pattern. But last time the steroids also resolved the mouth symptoms, which was not accomplished this time. Who knows if we will ever understand.
Anyhow, you have a special place at the party---as my original connection to this life saving board!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top