10/27 Zener PMPS 54;+1.5 80;+3 40;+3.5 73;+5 74;+7 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Zener is doing fine this morning. His BG is a lot lower than I would have expected from last night's reading. :-D :-D Mr. P is sputtering. Appy is OK. Annebean gave one of her world famous tummy massages and now he's eating a little more. :-D

OT: Tillie is doing a little better this morning.. She ate some yogurt and chicken florentine without too much encouragement. The vet prescribed prednisolone and it was $286 for 30, 5 mg pills at Target. :shock: So the pharmacy substituted prednisone for $4. Then the vet couldn't withdraw the prescription and send it somewhere else since I got the prednisone, thinking it was better than nothing. Anne found prednisolone for $21 at thrivingpets.com and now they have to call Target and get the script transferred. Jeesh! :-x My opinion: our health care system is a disaster.

Thinking of ailing kitties and beans. Happy Sunday, LL!
Liz
 
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58

Scuba party at the Lagoon! Come on kids! EAT!!!

How frustrating! Can't the vet just write a new RX?
 
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58

NO PLEASE - no prednisone. A Cat's body can't use it right. It's an OK substitute for humans and dogs but not cats!!! Cat's need prednisolone which they CAN use. I can't believe that price...that's just not right....

Mr. Z! That was a steep dive pretty black boy! Show MamaBean's a bit higher surfin', K?

HUGS ANNE/LIZ...
 
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58

Wowzers, Zener! You really wanted to play in the lagoon, didn't you?! :mrgreen: Sending good eatin' vines! Tillie, I'm sending you feel better vines and I'm sending your mamabeans good luck with your prescription vines. Happy Sunday, Liz & Anne!
 
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58;+5 75

Hey Zener - hope you're having fun in the lagoon. All the cool kids are chillaxin there today. Pill prices - blech! Glad Anne found something better - what a mess. Happy appy vines to everyone!!
 
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58;+5 75

OK, Mr. Z, time to surf along smoothly!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Glad Tillie is eating a little better, hope she feel better each day. I hope you are able to get a new rx for the better med~

Jane
 
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58;+5 75



@Ann & Tess - the scuba party is on. Appy has picked up, thank goodness! You would think the vet could just write a new prescription, but the law here does not allow that for some reason the receptionist at the vet could not explain. We were informed it was now between us and Target. Liz contacted Target and was told that the new pharmacy we want to transfer the prescription to must contact them. I know things are different state by state, but it seems very strange. It's not like we were getting Oxycontin.

@Lyresa - that is what we told the pharmacists too, but it was written on the script that prenisone could be substituted. That will be the last time we allow the vet to fax a prescription to a pharmacy without us seeing it first. The price was outrageoous. We read here recently - Melissa & Tarragon and Marge and Gracie - that prednisolone is not being made anymore so that may be why the huge jump in price.

@Deborah & Shasta - thanks for the eating vines, he is doing a bit better now. Thanks for the good luck with the prescription. I read in LL recently about others having trouble getting prednisolone.

Snow is in our forecast for early this week!
 

Attachments

  • diving cat 2.jpg
    diving cat 2.jpg
    106.8 KB · Views: 486
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58;+5 75;+6 67

Hi guys,

Zener, surf safe, buddy!

Amazing about the prednisolone vs. prednisone thing. I think your vet owes you an explanation and a new Rx.

Glad that Tillie is feeling some better and that she can eat the yogurt. It's always nice to have options when it comes to this sort of thing. We are expecting some snow tomorrow, too, but nothing to write home about. It is definitely not canoeing weather, however.

Have a good evening. More vines for Tillie.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58;+5 75;+6 67;+9.5 51

Nice greens for Zener. I'm glad Tillie is feeling a little better. I hope you can get the prescription transferred quickly.
 
Re: 10/27 Zener AMPS 210;+3 75;+4 58;+5 75;+6 67;+9.5 51

Wow, look at Zener gooooooo!

Glad to year Tillie is feeling better. Yikes on that Pred price. I know Melissa was having a hard time getting it, and it's the only thing that controls T's asthma well. What are beans supposed to do now that they are discontinuing it????

Have a great night, guys!
 
Re: 10/27 Zener PMPS 54

We sure do hate to stall and get Zener off his (and our) schedule. He surfed around the 50s most of the afternoon, so we decided to go ahead and shoot after a 20 minute short stall and re-test without any further dropping. Then we had to wait 30 minutes anyway for him to eat enough to shoot safely, so all in all, the shot was about 30 minutes late and we gave him a decent chunk of cypro, just in case. :? We'll get a couple of early tests, just to be safe.

Tillie's appy is pretty iffy this evening too. Paws crossed we get the prescription for prednisolone transferred smoothly tomorrow and it arrives in a few days. We are waiting a week for the ABs to clear her system before a trial with the prednisolone. We swear now that both kitties have appy issues, it's gonna kill us! :evil:

@Ella - we agree about the explanation and the new Rx! Our regular vet has not been treating Tillie, so we will get in touch with her next week if no change. What, no canoeing in the snow? ;-)

@carla - just when we think it may be time to fatten up a dose, back to greens followed by another bounce. Tillie is feeling a little better but not back to her sassy self. Thanks for the prescription luck! :razz:

@Amy & TrixieCat - we like greens but geez... No kidding on the prednisolone price. We see better prices at some of the online pharmacies but it sure is hard to get. We read it was not being discontinued in other places and that generic can be found but you sure have to shop around. :cool:

We are hoping Z's numbers come up along with his (and Tillie's) appy so we can have a calm and dramafree Sunday evening. Wishing the same to all in LL. :YMHUG:

Anne
 
Re: 10/27 Zener PMPS 54

Beautiful cycle today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Interesting results on the late cycle testing. Paws crossed for more green surfing, but perhaps a tiny bit higher tonight.

Piling on more vines for Tillie. Hope you get the bureaucratize sorted out soon for the pred prescription.
 
Re: 10/27 Zener PMPS 54;+1.5 80;+3 40

:mrgreen: :o :mrgreen:
Holy moly on the +3 - guess dramarama it is for tonight. I do not like Sunday night PJ parties. ~O) @-) ~O)

Appy is happy for both kitties, better life through chemistry.

@Josie & Ripley - Zener has not yet received the surf message. :roll: Thank you for the Tillie vines!

@Wendy & Neko - looks like the delay didn't make too much difference. The good news - the honey laced treats are on the menu. Thanks for the vines for the Queen of Everything, and a pox on the bureaucrats' houses. :evil:

Will get another test in 30 minutes, looks like a reducie is on tap tomorrow....
 
Re: 10/27 Zener PMPS 54;+1.5 80;+3 40

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :shock: :cool: GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO ZENER!, but a little higher. please....
 
Re: 10/27 Zener PMPS 54;+1.5 80;+3 40

Put on the brakes Z-man! Your mamabeans don't wanna be up all night worried about you! Crank it up about 15 points would ya?
 
Re: 10/27 Zener PMPS 54;+1.5 80;+3 40

Glad you shot!!! The Borg Queen is sooooo proud!!!

Did you call thriving pets to be positive they have the prednisolone in stock? I cannot believe the price you were quoted for 30! Highway robbery! I had OT compounded and a two month prescription was $35.

Some cats might be able to convert prednisone to prednisolone but if Tillie isn't one of them, you could waste times no money on the prednisone. Better to must find a way to get prednisolone.

Hope you aren't up too late with your pj party :-D Congrats the reduction.
 
Re: 10/27 Zener PMPS 54;+1.5 80;+3 40

Marje and Gracie said:
Glad you shot!!! The Borg Queen is sooooo proud!!!
Hahahahaahha, we are definitely assimilated!

Marje and Gracie said:
Did you call thriving pets to be positive they have the prednisolone in stock? I cannot believe the price you were quoted for 30! Highway robbery! I had OT compounded and a two month prescription was $35.
According to their webpage, they have it in stock. Their offices are closed over the weekend, but I will be in contact with them tomorrow. Compounding might be a better way to go, we have a local compounding pharmacy. What is the method of delivery if compounded? Liquid?

Marje and Gracie said:
Some cats might be able to convert prednisone to prednisolone but if Tillie isn't one of them, you could waste times no money on the prednisone. Better to must find a way to get prednisolone.
Our thoughts too. Target only charged $4 for 30 tablets of prednisone. So, we have 30 tablets 5mg prednisone we will gladly send to whoever needs it!

Marje and Gracie said:
Hope you aren't up too late with your pj party :-D Congrats the reduction.
Sunday night PJ parties can be wild ones. Paws crossed it isn't too late an evening, but since I have an early morning conference call with a colleague in Germany.... :roll:
 
Re: 10/27 Zener PMPS 54;+1.5 80;+3 40;+3.5 73

You can have it compounded Into a capsule or liquid but the liquid is probably easier because you can vary the dose. There is no way to halve a capsule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top