10/27 Shylo AMPS 260 +2 253 PMBG 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127492

We had a good appetite this morning even with slightly higher numbers, but despite no puke anywhere when I got home Shylo just doesn't seem interested in dinner tonight, let alone that many treats. ): I think I'm going to end up skipping his dose tonight if he doesn't decide he wants to eat within the next half hour or so. So far he's turned his nose up to raw, canned, and baby food, plus all of the assorted treats he usually likes.

I did finally get a timed feeder at least, so I'll be able to set small portions out for when I'm at work. That's a plus for today, I guess lol.
 
I take that back, I did find a very small spot of throw up in the living room, but it wasn't much. Still doesn't want to eat any dinner. ): Oh well. I'll keep the thread posted.
 
fingers crossed that the little guy feels better soon.

if he's still not eating in the morning, you might make another vet visit. doesn't seem like the Pepcid is enough to help him. It's really important that he both eat and get his insulin.
 
Yeah, I have tomorrow off so I'll be able to take him if he's not eating tomorrow. I left out some baby food for him so hopefully he comes in and decides he's feeling a little better.

I've been giving 2.5mg of pepcid, but based on his large size do you think it's worth it to try doing 5mg instead?
 
i have only heard people give 1/4 of a 10mg Pepcid AC - which would be 2.5mg. Does Shylo act like he wants to eat, but just can't make himself do it? maybe licking his lips, sniffing the food and then walking away? or asking for food but then not eating? that's usually a sign of nausea. Pepcid doesn't work on nausea, it just helps if there is an acid tummy, like heartburn.

It's so important for a cat to eat, especially a diabetic cat, that I'd be on the phone with the vet in the morning asking for either the cerenia or ondansetron. You can google both of those to get general information about them. You'll find people on here that have had successes with both of those - some cats seem to do well with one, some the other.

With diabetic cats we have to be aware of the risk of ketones developing. The "recipe" for ketones is "not enough food + not enough insulin + infection/inflammation." In general, people say to give your cat whatever it takes to get him/her to eat, even if it's high carb, ice cream, dry food. You can give insulin to compensate. I'm a little concerned about skipping his shot entirely tonight for this reason. It's probably ok tonight, it would be like a fur shot, but i wouldn't skip again in the morning. Even giving 0.25u would get some insulin into him.

Have you tried rotisserie chicken or lunchmeat?
hot dogs (as long as there's no onion or garlic?),
canned tuna?
some new cat foods?
cheese?

warming up food can often tempt a cat,
making little meatballs of the food,
putting some food in his mouth with your finger to "prime the pump."
sprinkle on fortiflora, oregano, catnip, parmesan cheese

pulverize some dry food and sprinkle it on his regular food

Try those and see if anything works.
 
The vet initially suggested 5mg, but after talking with you guys everyone seemed to agree that 2.5mg was a more appropriate dose. It's definitely nausea- I've gotten him to eat a couple small treats, but so far with the food he's just been sniffing and walking away. When I got home he came running like he was ready to eat but since then he really hasn't wanted to. The vet did say if the pepcid wasn't helping that we would try cerenia next, so I'll call in the morning and see if I can get it ASAP.

I'll definitely shoot tomorrow, even if I have to do a very reduced dose. I'm going to go try one other canned food and if he won't touch that I'll go crack open a can of tuna and see if that works. He may take some kibble, which would be better than nothing, like you say... let me go see what I can do.
 
parmesan cheese is enticing to a lot of cats, if you have any of that at your place.

oregano is in the same family as catnip, which explains why cats like oregano too. just thinking you might have some of that on hand.

i think i mentioned to you before that we had great luck with cerenia. i hope it helps shylo quickly.
 
Canned tuna worked (always been a favorite), so he's at least nibbling at that now. I mixed some of the tuna water in with chicken baby food and warmed that up too, so hopefully once he finishes the tuna he'll move onto that.

I just really want the poor baby to feel better. ): He's been through so much in the last two months. Every time we make good progress I feel like something else pops up... super frustrating of course, lmao.
 
Emily

Were you able to get a copy of the labs to put on his SS? If you need a lab template page, let me know. I can send you one although if your vet uses IDEXX, you will have to adjust the reference ranges.

IMHO, Pepcid is over prescribed. It's great to help CKD kitties deal with the acid tummies they get as their CKD progresses. But if a cat does not have excess tummy acid, they don't need Pepcid. It is not a slam dunk that a cat with pancreatitis needs Pepcid either. Cats, like people, need acid to digest their food so if you are giving an antacid that isn't needed, then his system is working a little harder to digest food without help of normal tummy acid.

If Shylo is exhibiting symptoms of nausea as Julie has described, I'd talk to the vet about ondansetron for the nausea and cerenia for vomiting. The snap tests are not infallible. If you can afford an ultrasound, it's not a bad idea.

Julie made a lot of good suggestions for getting him to eat.

I've also used the liver shake (recipe below) with great luck.

THE '~LIVER SHAKE~' FOR SICK CATS

This liquid food is appropriate for cats suffering from conditions where they are eating very little or not at all such as anemias, leukemias, deficiency states with symptoms of lethargy, listlessness, and weakness.

1 cup RAW LIVER (BEEF, or CHICKEN)
1 cup FRESH CARROT JUICE or V-8, or Tomatoe Juice
1/4 cup *FRESH FILTERED WATER
1 RAW EGG YOLK
1 tsp.KELP POWDER OR SPIRULINA


COMBINE AND MIX IN A BLENDER UNTIL LIQUEFIED. (Note: it will be frothy)

Dosage:

Administer 10cc daily 3-6 times a day. (6Occ per day max)

Some cats will need to be force-fed with a syringe, while others will drink it out of a bowl.

This food has a sweet and salty taste, and the energetic properties of tonifying (energy boosting), warming and stimulating and supports the kidneys, spleen, liver and stomach.

This drink is a complete dinner for a sick cat until they feel good enough to eat by themselves again.
 
Hi Marje! When I call the vet tomorrow and (hopefully) go over to get other medication I'm going to ask about getting a copy of his test results. I work Friday through Monday so tomorrow's my first day off that I can actually get out and over there to get them.

Now that you mention all that I'm actually a little more leery of the antacid given his gallstone history. I'll have to take a look at what I've got right now but I might be able to do an ultrasound... I still owe at least 3000 from his surgery so I've been pretty strapped for cash recently, but I'll make it happen if it means sorting out what's going on with him.

Liver shake seems like a good idea... I'll have to see if I can find the spirulina or kelp powder around here. There's a Whole Foods about fifteen minutes from here so they may have it if I'm lucky.

He ate about a half can of tuna, so the good news is at least his belly isn't empty.
 
Whole foods is where I got the spiraling when I made it for Gus.

Given Shylos history, I'm surprised the vet is not being more proactive about checking his gallbladder and biliary system.
 
We saw a different vet than usual this time around as Tufts where he had his surgery is really quite expensive.. but I think I might call in the morning and see if they have an appointment available since Dr. Cooper is a gastrointestinal specialist and really was good with him. It sucks to have to shell out more there but honestly at this point I'd rather go and just have them figure it out in one trip instead of guessing and using a wait-and-see approach. I'd do anything for this cat but I'm already moving back to my parent's when this lease is up to pay off his first vet bills and I just don't know how far I can stretch myself... I really would rather not make six trips to have the vet guessing what could be wrong.

We got a +3 of 333, which makes sense since I didn't shoot tonight.

Bleh, I'm starting to feel like a negative nelly tonight, got myself all worked up over everything. Going to head to bed and just figure it all out in the morning, I think.
 
Aaah Emily! You aren't a negative nelly! Your sweet boy won't eat and, to me, that is one of the most stressful things in having a kitty. Throw in FD and their little mysterious bodies....it's very stressful because we love them so much!!!

I knew it was a new vet but not sure if you just hadn't had much of a chance to work with her. Seems to me if you can wrangle the $$$, a follow up or at least a call to Dr, Cooper is worthwhile.

Hugs and vines!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top