10/27 Sarge AMPS 503! +1.5 442 PMPS 323

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
AMPS 503

Looks like Sarge is bouncing from hitting blue (145) at +5 (maybe green in the wee hours of the morning?). Do I give him another couple cycles to clear it before I consider the increase that came up in his condo from yesterday? I'm not sure I could tell if 2.25 units works right now.

10/26
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127483
 
Re: 10/27 Sarge AMPS 503! +1.5 442

I think you can still go up to 2.25U. You've been at this dose for 8 cycles now and you just saw one blue nadir. The only reason you might hold off on the increase is if he is breaking his bounce today. When the bounce is breaking there is a lot of downward momentum. If you increase then, it can be an exciting cycle. There is some interesting reading on increasing during a bounce in this post on TR Myths Debunked and Bouncing.
 
Thanks Wendy :) Increased to 2.25 units tonight. Whiskers crossed. Just curious, at what point to you consider a new insulin? I noticed in your signature that you changed from Lantus to Levemir. I am beginning to wonder if Lantus just isn't compatible with Sarge.

P.S. Sorry about this condo showing up so late in the day. I thought it went up this morning but it didn't!
 
Good luck with the increase! We usually suggest that people give Lantus a good 6 months of following the TR protocol before deciding to switch. Lantus is a very good insulin for many kitties. It's hard to say yet if Lantus will work for Sarge. I switched after 1.5 years on Lantus, but not for the usual reason people switch. Neko was driving me crazy only going low at night for many months in a row. I'd tried everything I could think of except an insulin switch so tried that. She still prefers going lower at night, but she's flatter so I get more sleep and as a bonus sometimes she goes lower during the day. It was a bit of a gamble because not all cats are flatter on Levemir.
 
Oh my, I hear you on the going low at night! If Sarge is going to go low it is at night. I was about worn out when he was on Novolin. So glad to be on a better insulin now! Thanks for sharing your experience Wendy. Looks like Sarge has some trial time to go and we hit blue last night again. If he can just quit bouncing when he reaches normal or nearly normal we will be golden!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top