10/27 Red AMPS 101 Not to shoot???

Status
Not open for further replies.

kathpj

Member Since 2012
Hi
AMPS 101
He has eaten normal LC canned food.
I should not shoot???

As no ss yet previous data copy & paste

yesterday 19/26 readings.
AMPS 342 0.5 unit given
AMPS+1 306
AMPS+3 200
AMPS+5 99
AMPS+9 76
AMPS+10 95
AMPS+11 129
AMPS+11.75 157 (Now)

23rd October
(AMBG) 304 --- No Shot
(+3) 307
(+6) 299
(+9) 322
24th October
(PMPS) 324 --- 1u Shot (Lantus, First Ever Shot)
(+1) 302
(+2) 211
25th October
(AMPS) 103 --- 1u Shot
(+1) 83
(+5) 56
(+6) 68
(+8) 104
(+10) 109
(+11.45) 95 --- Skipped Shot
(+12.5) 95
(+13.5) 76
(+15) 59
(+ 15.25) 55 --- Fed (Whiskas Jelly Canned)
(+16) 65
(+16.5) 72
Kath & Red
 
Sorry, just saw this. I'm not familiar w/ Red. Any update? You said he has already eaten? That will influence any new tests and make it harder to see just where the numbers are going.

Since you are so new you don't have much data to shoot this low. The safe thing is to skip again, it looks like Red may not want to stick around here for too long.
 
Hi. Kathypj, I just wanted to drop in and say hello and welcome you to LL. you found the right place for great information and a tremendous amount of support. Good luck and have a great day.
 
Hi,
Update AMPS +1.5 154
Have skipped shot.
Will continue to monitor during day. What levels should it ideally stay between for him?
I cant accurately measure less than 1 unit (they dont have 1/2 unit incriment syringes in NZ).
Kath & Red
 
Welcome to the best place you want to be :thumbup

Although I cannot advise you on dosing, I have a thought about ur syringes. If you have a fine point Sharpie marker, draw some 1/2unit markings on it. Then put some red (ha ha) or colored water in it to the 1/2mark. You'll have something to go by when ur drawing up a shot?
 
Thanks for the advice about marking my own syringes. Good idea. I am collecting o.3 syringes today, have had to use 0.5 so far.
0.5 units seems too much at the moment?
Kath
 
Even w/ the half unit markings these tiny doses are hard. And then of course the markings can be off, not enough to effect humans for their much larger doses, but a lot for the kittehs.

There are a couple of ways to go. Tess has been on about .25u for ages. The method I use is drop counting. It does waste some insulin but if you can get used to expelling uniform drop it works quite well:
  • -- First I draw up insulin to my .5u mark (you would need to go to the 1u mark)
    -- Squeeze uniformly sized drops out and count them, if you want to shoot half a unit it will be half that number of drops
    -- Draw up to your mark again and squeeze out the number of drops to get to your dose

Another way is a little more high tech. Marje has worked out measuring the dose w/ a digital caliper. Just keep the setting for your dose and compare the syringe to the caliper. Here is her post on that.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79851&p=862835&hilit=caliper#p862835
 
Thank you I will practice the drops technique today when I get the 0.3 syringes and look at the link.
So much great advice, can't thank you all enough.
Kath & Red
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top