? 10/27 - Pickles amps 90 - ready for OTJ trial??

Wow look at Pickles go! A 2nd OTJ for him on the horizon??? That would be awesome.

As far as your question, there are specific guidelines to the OTJ trial and the experts here like Bron, Bhooma, Elise, Wendy etc can help guide you through the trial.

And also they will say whether or not Pickles is ready to start the trial -- I think they will say yes, based on your spreadsheet and numbers after 10 days of drop doses. But let's see what they say.

If you do get the green light to start the trial, these are the instructions:

Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Wow look at Pickles go! A 2nd OTJ for him on the horizon??? That would be awesome.

As far as your question, there are specific guidelines to the OTJ trial and the experts here like Bron, Bhooma, Elise, Wendy etc can help guide you through the trial.

And also they will say whether or not Pickles is ready to start the trial -- I think they will say yes, based on your spreadsheet and numbers after 10 days of drop doses. But let's see what they say.

If you do get the green light to start the trial, these are the instructions:

Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
Yea I was so distraught when he fell out of remission I assumed a second remission would be impossible. Thankfully this time i educated myself and did Lantus, TR and home testing while last time I did vetsulin and tested sporadically. So I actually think that first remission was more luck than anything! I also got him a dental several weeks ago so that probably helped.
 
Why did you skip the a.m. shot yesterday? With that 131 at amps I would give the drop dose a little longer.
You mean the 141? He likely wasn’t fasted for that one as the batteries ran out of the autofeeder so I just left his food out the night before (see comments). And yesterday I left too early to give it
 
You mean the 141? He likely wasn’t fasted for that one as the batteries ran out of the autofeeder so I just left his food out the night before (see comments). And yesterday I left too early to give it
Yes the 141. Since this will be a second remission I would continue with the drop dose to get rid of the blues after pmps as you want a strong remission.

Let’s get a few more opinions though. @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko
 
I agree with Elise. Since this is the second time around, and we really want it to stick this time, I'd like to see all numbers under 100 for the week, ideally the majority under 80. Today can be day 4 of that week on this dose.
 
Back
Top