10/27 DoDo HI 3.00units

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovetheduns

Member
I am thinking yesterday evening's shot must have been a fur shot.

He never went down and this morning we hit HI.

Per Relion HI is over 500mg but we have received over 500mg on the meter before so I am just going to call it 580 since I cant recall having a 580 before.

If anyone has more experience with what that could be please do tell!

Other than that, I gave a 3.00unit this morning.

He has .4 blood ketones which is not horrible.

His appetite is hearty and he had hardly any patience with getting his antibiotic and bandage change today since he could hear breakfast being made in the kitchen.

Hopefully the day ends on a positive note and not on the note it began!
 
oh gosh cristina, i hope it was just a fur shot. you shot the # and that was the right thing to do. with these bouncy #'s all over the place i really do think shooting the # is the way to go. i still don't think you can shoot the 3u into a # under 200 as before you hit some pretty low low's.
i hope peeps will take a good look at your ss. it is a tough one to figure.
 
Hi there, I havn't been around much lately so I don't know your history.

But from a quick look at your ss it looks to me like you're getting panicky liver bounces from those low numbers. What is your no shoot number?

I'm probably more conservative than most here but it makes me nervous to see you shooting 2 units into bg's in the 150's. Maybe on lower PS #'s you could reduce the dose and try to even out the swings.

I'll go back tonight and catch up on your history. Hang in there, you're doing great.
 
oh gosh, just peeked at your SS, I would get the dose back to higher for the higher PSs, especially since ketones are coming back... sorry I am pretty brain dead and haven't paid any attention to #s for several days

at a quick & tired-brain look, it looks to me like:

150 PS - 2u good dose
200 PS - 2u slightly too low (see 10/25) I would try 2.2
400 PS - 3u just a hair too high, I would try 2.8 or skinny 3u

If it were me & I would be shooting something like:

150 - 2u
200 - 2.2
250 - 2.4
300 - 2.6
350 - 2.8
400 - skinny 3u
450+ PS - 3u

Or if that's too complex, I would probably do something like 2.5 as a basic dose, and lower it to 2u on a PS under 200, and raise it closer to 3 on a PS near 400.

I would continue to shoot the highest dose you feel comfortable with to keep those ketones at bay. If there weren't ketones I'd be comfortable with a less aggressive approach, but with the ketones I would stay on top of it as much as you can. If your meter has a comfort-level in the 40s (your civies were there, right? or am I confused?) even 88 isn't near low. In my head if I think the meter runs low I add 30 points to lower #s. So if that's the case, 88 could be 118 in real life - almost treading into diabetic #s even. Of course it's an unknown really, but just for perspective not to be thinking that something like 88 may be occasion for a dose reduction.

Just my 2c. I am really tired, so if my thinking makes no sense, toss it out the window. :) Whatever you were doing when the ketones went from a few points down to 0 is what worked, so above all, I would think back to whatever you were doing then and try to get back to that. Hope that helps. No offense to anyone I may be contradicting, I haven't had the focus to really follow everyone's posts :oops: just skimmed & saw that .4 ketone return and peeked at the SS...
 
p.s. just realized you already did raise the dose back up, so I'm preaching to the choir I guess :) my guess on the HI would be either fur shot like you said, or you lost momentum on the 2u and it caught up with you. He looks to maybe have a sputtering pancreas, so sometimes with those it seems like they can hold a run of better #s for a little while on a lowered dose, but then they lose the gain at some point.

Anyhow, I agree there's a little bounciness, but I think with the ketones you have to shoot through it, barring low #s. I did like the 2u though on that 150 PS you had. Looks like you are doing pretty good though if he is eating well & is feisty, that is awesome! Keep up the great work! :mrgreen:
 
Whew---

So the past day and a half has been.. well I am not getting much sleep nor is my mom.

I am finding even with a sliding scale-- I seem to be choosing.. poorly. We are doing some bouncing.

However, no ketones really (or very small blood levels) his appetite is ferocious.. and he would like to try and steal his friend's food.

Very loving-- very happy... I am hoping his pancrease continues to sputter.

However-- if I look at his stats since he has been home---

we spend 62% of the time below 300 which is so much better than before he was admitted to the hospital. So that is my silver lining.
 
ummmmm...WOW @-) your SS is amazing. never seen one quite like it.
it should go down as a case study!
yes, let's keep that Mr. P sputtering to a full throttle.
lori
 
*LOL*

Well... I guess it is being "unique" is special.

On the plus side-- in a way-- this whole DKA thing has been good.

His sugars are much better now since they have been in the past--- we used to be more in the 62% higher than 300 with some decent nadirs here and there.

On the plus side, DoDo seems so more energetic and just generally thinks he is a prince.

He trots now everywhere, he tries to steal food, and he spends a lot of time grooming. My mom says now when he is wanting breakfast, lunch, or dinner he will stand on her desk attempting to get in between her and her monitor. He will then half way close his eyes as if to say--yeah I am not begging, just letting you know the time servant.

SO.. the fact he has been doing so well even though moms are not getting much sleep-- makes it worth it.

Well, I am going to go take a nap now for my lunch break (the really nice thing about working from home).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top