? 10.27./ Charlie AMPS 184 +3 11 +5 42 (up to 84) +6.5 142 +8 124 +9 119 PMPS 187 dosing question?

He was 42 at +5. I just gave him a big scoop of his normal, high carb food with a couple of drops of Karo.

He doesn't seem to be showing any symptoms.

Can I drop him a whole .5 on his next reduction? This is too crazy making for me.
 
Glad he came up! Congrats on the reduction.
In the interest of safety let's see what @Bandit's Mom (who should be asleep now) and Elise @tiffmaxee thinks of a bigger reduction considering the removal of pred and you are technically feeding high carb wet food.
 
Yeah this who feeding high carb food and getting such low numbers is crazy town. I'll definitely look for some advice from Bandit's mom and Elise.

His shot time is 8pm US central. I'll be at a dear friend's birthday gathering before hand. But will try to keep an eye out for dosing advice
 
We started tapering 8/31 by going from 1 click from 2 (the new packaging our pharmacy uses makes it hard to know the dosage on the transdermal, but I think it was 10 mg). On 9/22, we switched to 1 click every other day. His last pred dose was 10/9. He's be rather flying through reductions since then. We did a week of his new food mixed with old and fully switched over to the prescription food on 10/14. We've been seeing way more blues and greens in the last 10 days, since 10/17.
 
What is the carb percent of the new foodHow long has he been on it?

If you can monitor it would stick to .25 reductions. It looks like he came up nicely. If ever you have a hard time getting the bg over 50 and staying there that would be the time to consider a larger decrease I think. With SLGS you can decrease back to back. If you need a break it’s better to skip a dose and continue with .25 reductions I think.
 
Last edited:
Eliminating prednisolone for many cats gets them diet controlled. Remind me, was the prednisolone given because of pancreatitis? It’s rarely the treatment of choice.
 
He originally was put on pred for a blood clotting disorder he absolutely doesn't have.

Yeah, that was what I was wondering, could be be diet controlled if he wasn't on this crazy high carb food. But he's on the crazy high carb food to get his triglycerides down since that was probably making the diabetes worse and putting his other organs at risk. The vet said he had both kinds of fat... like he's not clearing what he eats and his body is making it's own, which apparently is genetic
 
Is the vet a board certified internist? Was he fasted to test triglycerides? If s the vet suggesting only this food? Is it an RX food? Sorry for some many questions but it seems if the high triglycerides are due to diabetes then a low carb food which controls the diabetes should solve the issue. I am not a vet so just have questions
 
So both the resident internist at Iowa State and his regular vet both said they wanted him on a low fat food. Since his regular vet is totally on board with, even suggests raw feeding, I'm some what more inclined to listen to her because I know she's not peddling Hills or Purina because that's all she knows. She was telling me when I refused to take him off raw to see the VCA vet that she'd just spent three hours at a conference learning about all the benefits of raw feeding. So I feel like she wouldn't suggest this is there was another option.

It is a prescription diet, there are no other food that low in fat, supposedly.

Previously, he had been eating a high protein, low carb food that had more fat but was as low as I could find in the raw food. I was also feeding him chicken breasts with EZ complete. We had switched to lightly cooked as a compromise from getting shamed by every other vet we saw.

I should have added that he's also getting Omega 3s. And not every day but when I remember, also chitosan, which is shrimp or insect shell ground up that apparently helps flush fat out of the GI track. People use it to lose weight, apparently. I need to be more consistent with that one but it can't be given with the Omegas.

If his blood work shows improvement, I would like to see if we could try the chicken, Omegas, and chitosan to see if that gets us to a place where we aren't in the high triglycerides- diabetes loop anymore because we are getting to diet controlled diabetes.

He has been racing down with reductions, every 3 days. Even if he just had a reduction last night with that 42, I would like to try a reduction tonight for my sanity and need for sleep. If he doesn't hold it he doesn't hold it but my hunch is he will.

Kim and Tonya in the Facebook group were joking with me that my overreaction with the Karo was going to shoot him sky high but he went up to 140 and back down to 120.
 
He’s earned a reduction to 3.0 today. I am feeding my two raw. I’d like to make my own but it’s tough because one has IBD or SCL. She’s getting pork now. I’d use EZComplete but it contains chicken liver and my other cat has skin allergies and getting lamb which is high fat. :banghead:
 
I've also used Alnutrin but once I realized he could eat chicken, not having to much around measuring liver was nice.

Homemade chicken would be cheaper than the rabbit I was feeding him, which was over a dollar an ounce but including shipping. He loves rabbit tho. I'm glad he hasn't had a reaction yet this good. I chose the only flavor without fish, which I think might be what sets him off.
 
Back
Top