10/27 Abby AMPS 199 / + 3 201 / +7 153 / PMPS 162 / +2 185

SDAbby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-21-abby-amps-149-4-81-pmps-185.237292/

Hi, all - so it appears Abby wasn't ready to reduce her insulin further yet...In looking at her SS, I think .5U was her last "successful" dose, so I've taken her back there. I just wanted to sanity check that decision.

Also, in the last post @Wendy&Neko was helpful and suggested trying to feed her at +8/9, but Abby really has no interest in doing that (I take her to the food and try to encourage her, but have not been successful over the last week). She does eat small meals throughout the day (usually because I take her to her food bowl, although she does go on her own once and a while).

If .5U is the right dosage to "restart" with, I guess I will look into switching to TR (or just get more comfortable with letting her have lower numbers on SLGS method).

Anyways, if anyone has any suggestions and/or if they've seen this scenario before, I'd appreciate any thoughts! thanks!
 
Hi! I am not one to give dosing advice but recommend editing your title and picking the ? from the drop down - this will help draw more eyes to your question when people are scanning the board.

FWIW, I think the last successful dose for Abby was 0.25; I believe another option is to fatten the 0.1. Have you seen the fine dosing info <link here>?

At the least, my comment will bump up your post :)
 
thanks @JaxBenji ! I will update my title and appreciate the link - yes, unfortunately the pictures make it clearer than it is (for me) in real life, but I've been trying to notice the difference between .1 and .25. Thanks for point out .25 - I'll take a closer look at that - I just got nervous with how consistently Abby was rising over the last week. Jax's spreadsheet looks great - do you think TR helped get you to where you are today?
 
yes, unfortunately the pictures make it clearer than it is (for me) in real life,
Haha, I get this. Some members use a magnifying glass. Someone on here recommended these jeweler glasses - amazon link here - I love them. I use them with calipers for dosing.

Jax's spreadsheet looks great - do you think TR helped get you to where you are today?
Thanks :bighug: And yes totally. It also fits with my life style (I'm home, can test, Jax is a good patient, and Jax never ever turns down food :p that last one is not a requirement but it sure helps lol). I haven't been on the board long but there are kitties that go OTJ on SLGS too but I believe there is a higher chance when using TR. You just have to figure out the dosing method that fits your lifestyle. Just know Abby is very lucky to have you looking out for her and you are doing a great job - even if numbers aren't always what we'd like them to be :bighug:
 
The trick is to post for advice before you make the adjustments not after ;)

I would’ve wanted you to hold the .25 for a minimum of 6 cycles to allow the depot to fill at that level and see what it could do. But since you’re already two shots in at .5 I think just keep a close eye on her BG to tell you this is too much - she almost earned a TR reduction with some .25 shots and a .5 carry over depot just a week ago. But others may suggest dropping back, let’s see what they say.

For TR you need to get a mid cycle test every cycle, you’re almost there but there are a few blank PM cycles. If you’re not able to always get those tests then reducing her reduction level from 90 to say 70 might be a good option, again let’s see what others think.
 
reducing her reduction level from 90 to say 70 might be a good option
Hi vyktor's mum! Just curious if you realized she was using AlphaTrak? You have far more experience than me but just wanted to check. To me, it looks like you're thinking in human meter #s but I could be mistaken. Thanks in advance for clarifying :bighug:
 
Hi vyktor's mum! Just curious if you realized she was using AlphaTrak? You have far more experience than me but just wanted to check. To me, it looks like you're thinking in human meter #s but I could be mistaken. Thanks in advance for clarifying :bighug:
Yes I had missed that, thank you, teach me to reply before :coffee: . So that absolutely would have been a reduction on the .25/.5 depot. I don’t think I’d adjust my thoughts on the current dosing though - except to say keep an even closer eye. But I am a bit rusty and others may think otherwise - and if they do I would listen to them!
 
The trick is to post for advice before you make the adjustments not after
lesson learned:) will do so going forward!

In all seriousness, thanks @JaxBenji and @Vyktors Mum. I really appreciate the responses, follow up and encouragement. Abby's numbers are dropping nicely so I will closely watch her and hopefully we will be back on .25U soon. After the failed reduction, I'll just need to get more comfortable with the lower numbers and keeping her at .25U until her PSs also drop. I will also carefully consider TR - seems like I should be able to make that work now and definitely want the best for Abby. Thank you for the responses and hope after our failed reduction attempt. Hopefully Abby and I aren't too far away from having that work out!
 
With SLGS, which your signature and spreadsheet say you are still following, you hold doses a total of 7 days before changing them. There is no concept of "failed reductions" in SLGS. You hold the dose 7 days, then re-evaluate it. Even with TR you hold a dose a minimum of 3 days, more like 5 if seeing green. You have increased too quickly. You need your patience pants! :p You didn't hold the 0.25 units long enough for either dosing method. You will need to keep a close eye on her, it wasn't that long ago she hit 50 on the AT on 0.5 units. If you see any drop at +2 tonight, you'll need to set an alarm for later in the night.

Abby's doing so well, you don't need to rush things.
 
If you see any drop at +2 tonight, you'll need to set an alarm for later in the night.
Thanks! Abby was up at +2 tonight and given the feedback and her PMPS I shot .25U and will stay here for at least a week (unless numbers tell me to decrease). I will continue to closely monitor given depot. Hopefully my dosing error doesn't cause Abby any issues, but I'm very glad I decided to sanity check my (incorrect) move.

Abby's doing so well, you don't need to rush things.
Thanks - this is nice to hear. I know everyone on this board goes through it, it's just hard to know how things are going in the overall process (especially since I like a detailed plan to follow and, well, that just doesn't work with cats!)...thanks for your advice and encouragement! This board is a such a fantastic resource and community. I'm very lucky to have found it and I'll try to find my patience pants :)
 
Back
Top