SDAbby
Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-21-abby-amps-149-4-81-pmps-185.237292/
Hi, all - so it appears Abby wasn't ready to reduce her insulin further yet...In looking at her SS, I think .5U was her last "successful" dose, so I've taken her back there. I just wanted to sanity check that decision.
Also, in the last post @Wendy&Neko was helpful and suggested trying to feed her at +8/9, but Abby really has no interest in doing that (I take her to the food and try to encourage her, but have not been successful over the last week). She does eat small meals throughout the day (usually because I take her to her food bowl, although she does go on her own once and a while).
If .5U is the right dosage to "restart" with, I guess I will look into switching to TR (or just get more comfortable with letting her have lower numbers on SLGS method).
Anyways, if anyone has any suggestions and/or if they've seen this scenario before, I'd appreciate any thoughts! thanks!
Hi, all - so it appears Abby wasn't ready to reduce her insulin further yet...In looking at her SS, I think .5U was her last "successful" dose, so I've taken her back there. I just wanted to sanity check that decision.
Also, in the last post @Wendy&Neko was helpful and suggested trying to feed her at +8/9, but Abby really has no interest in doing that (I take her to the food and try to encourage her, but have not been successful over the last week). She does eat small meals throughout the day (usually because I take her to her food bowl, although she does go on her own once and a while).
If .5U is the right dosage to "restart" with, I guess I will look into switching to TR (or just get more comfortable with letting her have lower numbers on SLGS method).
Anyways, if anyone has any suggestions and/or if they've seen this scenario before, I'd appreciate any thoughts! thanks!
And yes totally. It also fits with my life style (I'm home, can test, Jax is a good patient, and Jax never ever turns down food
. So that absolutely would have been a reduction on the .25/.5 depot. I don’t think I’d adjust my thoughts on the current dosing though - except to say keep an even closer eye. But I am a bit rusty and others may think otherwise - and if they do I would listen to them!