10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,+12~62,+12.5~30/65,PMBG~49,+5~92

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276

Nice AMPS for Shadow,
Hope you get your computer straightened out, Steven. You and Shadow are doing fine.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,+6~58

Another unexpected result...58 at AM+6. Input appreciated

Shadow is back to his normal act. All good right now.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,0.5U@AMPS~276,+6~58,+8.5~48,+11~60

Looking good Steven! Looks like .5 might even be too much. Since he went under 50, it's a reduction to .25!

Have you got a PMPS yet?
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,0.5U@AMPS~276,+6~58,+8.5~48,+11~60

it's not really dictating a reduction on Shadow is it, since he has been on insulin longer than a year? I would get additional feedback before I would assume another dose reduction. This dose has not had much time to settle at all.

Great job catching those nadirs Steve!

If I were you, I'd let some others chime in and then decide what to do about the dose.

Why don't you add the ? icon to your subject line since you are supposed to shoot soon.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,0.5U@AMPS~276,+6~58,+8.5~48,+11~60 ?

OK. Shadow's BG level hasn't moved from around 60 five hours ago at +6. I fed him about 1/4 can of LC wet fod at +8.5 which didn't move his BG level at all. He's due for 0.5U in about 30 minutes. It's looking like a possible stall coming up. My take on this is I test him every 20-30 minutes until his BGL hits three digits and then give him his dose. And then test him often to make sure he doesn't go hypo.

I have all LC,MC, and HC wet fod on hand. I've read the how to deal with low numbers post and I'm going to reread it right after I post this.

I'm tempted to feed him some MC food to see what happens. Any input will be appreciated.

PMPS in 20 minutes now.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,0.5U@AMPS~276,+6~58,+8.5~48,+11~60

it's not really dictating a reduction on Shadow is it, since he has been on insulin longer than a year?

Betty is correct (I keep forgetting you've been diagnosed longer than most that come here). Since he just barely went under the 50, I think the .5 would probably be the better dose.

As for tonight's shot, let's see where he is at PMPS...if he's under 150, stall, don't feed and test in 30 minutes, and use that time to post so someone can help advise you when best to shoot tonight
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,0.5U@AMPS~276,+6~58,+8.5~48,+11~60 ?

He's obviously been on way too high a dose for awhile. But good news is that he is responding terrifically to all Steve's recent efforts. This cat seems to be on a mission. Steven you have to feel great about taking the bull by the horns and figuring this all out.

Let's see who else comes along. Steven there is an icon you can choose up at the top (by the 911 and candle) that has a '?'. why don't you edit and add that so hopefully we can get some more eyes on your condo with since you are low and your shot time is coming up.

this will also bump you up.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,+6~58,+8.5~48,+11~60,PMPS~62 ?

I'm stalling. Hopefully? his BG will rise to 150 real soon and I can give him his dose? And then stay up all night to make sure he doesn't hypo?

My objective is to get him on a safe regiman that someone else can administer in my abscence. I work and sometimes not at home. When I'm away I rely on friends and sometimes housesitters to give him his shots. They will need to rely on glucotest squares in the litter for high glucose alarm bells in that scenario. I will always return for at least two and usually more days to do BG testing.

Right now I'm working nearby and I can probably get away to stay the course for the next two weeks or so.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,+6~58,+8.5~48,+11~60,PMPS~62 ?

A few thoughts...

  • It looks like the high numbers broke and Shadow's BG is leveling off.
  • Since Shadow was diagnosed over a year ago, the criteria for a dose reduction are that numbers drop below 40 or they are in the 40 - 50 range on 3 separate occasions. (If you are following SLGS, the cut-off is 90 and there's no differentiation between a newly diagnosed cat vs. one that's a longer term diabetic.)
  • When numbers drop into the 40s like today, you want to test every 20 - 30 min. and steer the numbers up with a higher carb food. When numbers are in the 40s, you don't have a large margin of safety so it's important to monitor closely to insure they head back up. There's information on how to handle low numbers in this post.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,+6~58,+8.5~48,+11~60,PMPS~62 ?

If you're stalling, please do not feed Shadow.

FWIW, when I travel, I have a petsitter who gives Gabby her insulin. Gabby won't permit anyone but me to test. I reduce her dose so she's safe when I'm gone.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65 ?

At PM+0.5 Shadow tested 30. The immediate retest was 65. He is behaving normally, working me for food!

I read that I should give him some high carb food. I have some Friskies at about 18% carbs and some at 32% carbs. I've also read I should stay the course for awhile and see if his BG rises soon. I'm leaning toward feeding him. I'm going to test him again in about 15 minutes before I do anything. I will reread the low number post now.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65 ?

OK..Your options are:

1. Continue to stall without feeding and wait until the number is rising...feed/shoot (If you're able to test overnight if necessary and have all supplies, as well as being able to change the AM schedule back as long as you stall for)

2. Feed and skip the shot..let his depot drain a little, and resume at whatever schedule you like in the AM

3. Feed and give a BCS shot (big chicken s***) Give a smaller dose tonight and resume in the morning (again, if you give any insulin, you will need to be able to test overnight if necessary)

Hopefully we'll hear from others before you need to make a decision. I'm so tired tonight, my brain isn't working real well...there may be other options

You don't want to give HC food unless he drops below 50...these numbers that are all in the 60's are GREAT for healing his pancreas...You want to see these numbers! It just makes it hard to shoot when there's so little data to go on

If it were my cat, I'd probably skip the shot
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

His last BG level was 49. He's been surfing around 50 or 60 for at least seven hours now and he even ate 1.5 oz of LC food at AM+8.5. I am leaning toward feeding him some LC food and skipping the shot. His BG level is rising and possibly dropping? for whatever reason. This will be the third time I've been through this scenerio, each time with a smaller dose than before.

Maybe the dose should be 0.0?
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

the next dose below 0.5 is 0.25 ... and then down to 0.1 ...

I think I would skip if it's going to make your schedule too difficult.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

OK..if you've decided to skip, go ahead and feed him.

On your Spreadsheet, you'd put 49 as the PMPS number for tonight, and NS in the "U" (for No Shot)

On your condo's, any time you don't shoot, instead of a "Pre-shot" number, you use AM or PM Blood Glucose (AMBG or PMBG)

You can put the first several tests (+12, +12.5, etc) in the "remarks" section or some of us use the last available cell (the +11) and just cram the numbers in any way they'll fit.

In the morning, if he's above 150, you'd drop to .25

025unit-1.jpg
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

I'm can't see poking his ears all night waiting for 150. I'll do a test in 30 minutes at +2 and if there is no substantial movement I'll feed him some LC food and call it a night.

Assuming tonight is a no shot, should I reduce the dose again to 0.25 tomorrow? I don't know how accurate the syringes are at that dose. My syringes show 0.5 units but that's it.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

I think skipping the shot is the best course. That 30 means business and does warrant a dose reduction. As Rhiannon noted, the next dose is 0.1u.

Right now, you don't have sufficient data to shoot this low of a number. I would go ahead and feed Shadow and get a good night's sleep.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

I haven't decided NS yet but it's looking that way. You're reading my mind on the syringe picture.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

I haven't had a chance to welcome you and Shadow back but looks like he might not want to be here long.

You don't have to wait for him to go up to 150 to shoot. As long as he starts to rise more instead of dropping, then you could shoot. But the best option tonight might be to skip since he dropped to 30, came up, went back down.

His dose tomorrow will be 0.25u because of the 30.

Also, in the morning, he doesn't have to be at 150 for you to shoot. You are experienced so it just comes down to what you feel comfortable shooting and leaving .....of course, we don't shoot below 50.
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

I figured the picture would help. Those tiny doses aren't easy.

IF .25 proves to be too much, then we'd go down to .1 (there's a picture for that too but let's cross that bridge when we come to it)

I really think you should just pull the trigger and skip, feed and get some rest....You may need it tomorrow :mrgreen:

Edited to add...You don't wait until they go to 150 to shoot...if the numbers start to climb without food, then most of the time, it's safe to go ahead and shoot. It means they're finally on that "Upswing" of the Lantus curve

So IF he'd gone from 49 to (for example) 75, you'd know he was on his way back up. In that case, it's fine to shoot (but any time they're under 150 at shot time, make sure you have plenty of HC food, test strips and coffee if you need them, and consider if you can adjust your schedule over the next several cycles)

Eventually (if Shadow is still needing insulin that is) you'll be shooting any number over 50...but it doesn't look like Shadow wants to hang around here too long...and we decorated so nicely too :lol:
 
Re: 10.27.13, Shadow,AMPS~276,,+11~60,PMPS~62,+0.5~30/65/49

Twist my arm. I'm feeding little guy and calling it a night. Thanks again for hanging in with me again. You are all great people. Out here we have a saying that goes...Never trust anyone who lives below 6,000 ft...unless they have a cat! Good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top