10/26 Willow PMPS~376, +6~168

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/26 Willow AMPS~176, +5~438

Willow no need to bounce so high. Come back down to some nice healthy numbers.

Have a wonderful Wednesday you two!
 
Re: 10/26 Willow AMPS~176, +5~438

Hi guys .. well it was certainly a nice start to the day .. not sure what happened at that +5! Willow, got an explanation for that? I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376

Just cleaned his ears and put his drops in, so he's very unhappy. His ears are actually looking worse, so I may need to bring him in the vet. Willow always has the worst timing for illnesses. : / Does anyone know the cost difference between Levemir and Lantus? Still not sure my vet would even prescribe Levemir.
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376 Levemir info?

I get that Levemir should hopefully cause Willow to have less of a roller coaster like cycle, but are there any other differences? Is it still the same protocol? Anyone willing to share personal experiences with it?
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376 Levemir info?

good sources are Ann & Tess, and Ella & Rusty...
think Marjorie & Gracie just switched as well...
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376 Levemir info?

Jazzy did very well on Lev. She was nice and flat most of the time (but she was fairly flat on Lantus too so I can't say for sure that Lev was better). One difference that was significant to me was that her nadir tended to be later on Lev, and that meant that her onset was later too. It really wasn't the best situation for me because there was no way I could stay up for her nadir in the PM cycle. Most of the time I could barely stay up for her onset, and I feel like I missed a ton of data that I should have had.

I've seen Lev work well for some of the bouncy kitties here, though, so it is probably worth a try for Willow.
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376 Levemir info?

Sienne, Thanks for the info, I've printed it out.

Celi, I'll PM some of them, thanks!

Libby... thanks to you, I figured out that Willow has started having a late nadir (a pretty consistent one too). No clue if that will change on Levemir, but I'm willing to try it if I can get my vet to prescribe it. Is there any need to allow time between the two insulins when switches are made, or safe to just start the different insulin next cycle?
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376 Levemir info?

Jordan:

We switched Gracie to lev in early Sept and we have loved what it has done for her. She was so bouncy on lantus and it was just so hard on her. She has really flattened out alot and even though she still bounces, it's been nothing like her lev bounces. We waited to change her because I was going from full time to part time work but we have actually gotten MORE sleep on lev than we did on lantus. Gracie tends to nadir at +12 and sometimes even later than that. She doesn't have typical lev cycles but we've just been so incredibly happy with the switch. You can look at her SS; when you click on it, her lev sheet comes up but there's also a link there for her lantus SS. She was on .75u lantus and we started her on .5u lev. It took a while to fill her shed and she has gone up to f1.25u lev but is now back down at 1.25u. We love the later onset.....it lets us shoot low. Sometimes (like perhaps tonight) she has carryover into the next cycle and then we get the two cycles overlapping which takes some food mgmt.

The last time I bought lantus, it cost me over $200 for five pens at Costco. The lev cost me $174 for five pens at Costco. Lantus info states it's good for 28 days out of the frig; lev 42 days but I know Jill uses her lev pens to about the last drop.

Let me know if you have any questions.
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376 Levemir info?

Love the pictures up on the "green monster"s cage. Our civvie kitten Olivia LOVES to climb the bird cage and nap up there. The Bird is LESS than amused, but she hasn't figured out how to bite her yet. She just poofs and yells. (the bird I mean!)

Good luck with the switch if you make one!
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376 Levemir info?

Thanks Marjorie... If I'm able to make the switch, I'm sure I'll have more questions. Willow's lows are so low and his highs are so high, and he's so consistently inconsistent lol... I'm hoping a switch to Lev would help those things.
 
Re: 10/26 Willow PMPS~376 Levemir info?

Thanks Celi... I'm so use to sharing pics on Facebook, but always forget I can share them here.

Jaclyn, this is Willow's first time getting onto Squawk Bird's cage. He chases the cats when he's out of the cage on the ground, and he bites and laughs while doing it, haha. Willow's lucky that the bird doesn't know he's up there yet lol.
 
I love :-D the picture!
I also use Lev to about the last drop. A pen is lasting me from 55 to 60 days on average.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top