10/26 PurrFace PMPS 356 +2/304 +8.5/125 +10.25/100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frosty

Member Since 2012
PMPS/118
+1/156
+2/170
+4/144
+5/129
+7/96
+8/80
+9/70
+10/71
+11/71
+11.5/83
After the +2 reading I thought he would be going up but he is sticking to his schedule. He hits his low numbers in the late middle to late end of the cycle. I'm off to bed...the 2nd shift (DW) just clocked in. She's not familar with posting so she probably won't be doing any updates.
PurrFace's Condo
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace +4/144 +5/129 +6/113 +7/96 +8/80

That few hours of sleep went fast! Looks like PurrFace is going to keep the suspense right to the end of the cycle. He was really hungry so I'm sure the food will bring it some. Will test again at +9 and see what we get.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace +5/129 +6/113 +7/96 +8/80 +9/70

Sometimes they just don't adhere to the schedule we expect from them, do they!!! Be good PurrFace and surf. Have a good day!
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace +5/129 +6/113 +7/96 +8/80 +9/70

Thanks Lisa & Melissa. One thing PurrFace never lacks is attention. If he doesn't get it he has no problem getting in your face purring and nudging you until he gets some. I guess all cats work on their own schedule, if they worked on their owner's they would be droolers. Ya all have a great day.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace +5/129 +6/113 +7/96 +8/80 +9/70

I guess all cats work on their own schedule, if they worked on their owner's they would be droolers.
Lol!! That's a fact!

It sure looks like PurrFace likes this dose. Or maybe he doesn't and he's winding up for a reduction.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace +6/113 +7/96 +8/80 +9/70 +10/71

Good morning Sienne, These last 2 cycles have been the best PurrFace has had. My concern is knowing what to do if he is still in the GREEN at AMPS time. Do I give him the full 1.75U or reduce it or skip it? I've never been in that situation before.
 
Re: DOSE 10/26 PurrFace +7/96 +8/80 +9/70 +10/71

Hey PurrFace. You are looking so beautiful in the greens.
I can't give you any advice but would definitely recommend posting the +11 or 11.5 to make sure someone sees it. It looks like he is sliding up but I have no idea where he'll be. Shooting green is definitely an adreneline rush for sure!!! :lol: :lol:

Have a great day
Karen
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +7/96 +8/80 +9/70 +10/7

For the moment, you're doing exactly what you need to do -- get some tests. This allows you to see if the numbers are going up or down or if PurrFace is surfing. How about getting a test at +11.5 and posting the number?

Just so we have the info in advance, do you have strips and HC canned food in case it's needed? I'd also suggest re-reading the dealing with low pre-shots post.

And just a reminder, you've shot as low as 109. I think you'll be find shooting this dose at a lower number as long as you'll be able to be around to monitor.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +8/80 +9/70 +10/71 +11/

Sienne I just got a +11/71, no change from +10. I'll get a +11.5 and post it.
Just so we have the info in advance, do you have strips and HC canned food in case it's needed? I'd also suggest re-reading the dealing with low pre-shots post.
I have more than 50 test strips, 5 3oz cans of HC food, Karo, Honey, Oral Syringe and extra batteries for the meter. Both my DW and I will be staying here all day with PurrFace.
When I shot the 110 BG# he never went down to the GREEN during that cycle. His being in the GREEN for about 50% of this cycle is what is making me nervous.
I really do appreciate you being here to walk me through this, more than I can say.
Thank you.
Edited: I had just finished reading the "shooting low numbers" article when I read your post. It was somewhat comforting when I read that most cats can safely be shot at 50 without serious problems. But as you well know we get quite attached to these furballs and begin to doubt our judgement.
Thank you again.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +8/80 +9/70 +10/71 +11/

This was a great post to read. Thanks everyone for all the great tips and good luck today PurrFace & John!
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +10/71 +11/71 +11.5/83

Good morning John

Sienne just popped me a note to see if I could jump on and help since she has to go to work. Let me read through the condo but I'll help you shoot and stay with you. Doing ok?

I'll brb.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +10/71 +11/71 +11.5/83

Thanks Pam. I don't believe either my DW or I have any finger nails left due to the upcoming AM shot at below 100.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +10/71 +11/71 +11.5/83

Ok...I'm back and I'll be waiting for the +12. If it is anywhere near 83...or above...shoot the full dose, ok? If he's lower, then don't feed him, post, and we'll go over the options.

Great job last night, Donna (right...I believe that's DW's name?). Yes...when I went to bed last night, I thought the likelihood of him coming down was slim. PurrFace obviously did not give you his caregiver's manual :lol:
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +10/71 +11/71 +11.5/83

Thanks Marje. We ok, just nervous. PurrFace isn't worried a bit. He's just wondering when he can have some more food. Thank you, Marje, for your help. I appreciate it.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +10/71 +11/71 +11.5/83

Ok. His +12 is about 10 minutes away. I'll post that number and whether or not I gave the shot.
PurrFace obviously did not give you his caregiver's manual
LOL What any of us wouldn't do for a CAT CAREGIVER MANUAL!!!
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +10/71 +11/71 +11.5/83

You're welcome! It's ok....breathe. Grab some ~O) ~O) ~O) or scotch ...either works ;-)

I want you both to think about one important thing.....you are in control. You are going to be testing, posting his numbers, I'm going to help you steer him if we need to. You have all the tools you need. It's going to be a GREAT day for PurrFace and while it may, at first, be stressful for you all, before you know it, you'll be pros at handling green numbers. After all....what a great job you all did last night!

Also remember that cats don't drop as much when they get into greens as they would in higher numbers. So where a kitty might drop from 350 to 250 in an hour, they won't do that in greens. Ok? Feel any better? :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: to you both. AND you'll get your BOS award!!!
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +11/71 +11.5/83 +12/79

I'll be waiting for the +12. If it is anywhere near 83...or above...shoot the full dose
I hate to ask this question because I sound like a politican but how close is close?
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +11/71 +11.5/83 +12/79

See above....give that boy his juice....normal dose. He's surfing!
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +11/71 +11.5/83 +12/79

John

Please let me know when you have shot. Then you can start a new condo and I'll see you there. Feed him a good LC meal and we need a +1 test to start ok?
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +11/71 +11.5/83 +12/79

Congrats to the shot! You are doing great, John! Dont worry, we all have our first time of shooting low. You are in Marje's good hands :thumbup
Purrface, surf the green! Dont be naughty & scare your beans! :lol:
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +11/71 +11.5/83 +12/79

He got his shot and he just got fed so he's eating now. Do I put the same date for the new condo that I'm going to start. Thank you Marge.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +11/71 +11.5/83 +12/79

Thanks TORTIE58. All encouragement is welcome. Thank you again.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +11/71 +11.5/83 +12/79

Yes. This is your 10/26 condo. I'd just edit the subject line so it begins with your AMPS.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace +11/71 +11.5/83 +12/79

You know what? All of this should have been on yesterday's condo ;-) ;-)

No worries. Why don't use just use this one instead of starting a third one. Change the subject line to the usual with today's date, AMPS, etc. Ok? I think that will work. Next time, all the stuff prior to you actually shooting will go on the same day's condo as you started earlier in the day. I know that sounds weird but no ~O) ~O) ~O) for me yet.

SO.....here you go:

file.php


Great job shooting! Any questions? If not, I'll see you at +1. :-D :-D

eta: be sure you link yesterday's condo to the FIRST post in this condo, ok? So when you reopen this condo to edit the subject line, just put your link to yesterday's condo at the bottom of the text you wrote this morning. Thanks, John.
 
Re: DOSE due in1 hour 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79

Hi Sienne. Thank you for contacting Marje. You had short work day. It' so nice to see you, Marje and all of the others on line when us rookies get in new territory.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79

Great job, John!! Thank you so much. See you shortly with the +1. ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) time. I gotta check out Mannie's condo and see what the special of the day is ;-)
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105

Nice food spike!!! But we all know he can't be trusted so how about a +2? I'll be checking back in. Let me know if you have any questions before then.

Great job!!
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142

Well he increased a little. He usually doesn't begin to start dropping until around +5 so is ok for the next test to be at +5? He just looks tired after being awoken every hour last night. I'm thinking a few hours of uninterrupted sleep would do him good. If it's not we can keep testing him every hour. Thank you.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142

John

On the +2... We know that he doesn't always follow the rules so it's hard to tell with him if he's actually starting a bounce or whether he intends to come back down like he did last night. He has gone up close to the same amount as he did last night.

IF he's good about the pokes and isn't worn out from the hourly pokes last night, it would be good to get a +3 and try to catch his onset. I'm thinking that's when he decides to come back down if he's going to. Of course, if he's just flat at +3, you'll probably
need to get a +4. The other option is to split the difference and get a +3.5. It's up to your comfort level and how he's doing.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142

We cross posted. I think the extent of my comfort level with him right now is a +4. How about that instead of a +5?
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142

Would a +3.5 be as good as a +3 and maybe a +4 be as good as one at +3.5?He's good at getting poked but you can see by the way he looks when he sees the meter that he's thinking "what again.". If the +3 is the best that's what we'll do.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142

Why don't you do the +4? That was my original thought and I changed it before I posted because I was thinking we could just get some data on his onset. But we also have to be respectful of him...if he does come back down today, he will be in for more pokes so I'd give him the break and get a +4.

I'll have to find someone else to pop in on you. I have an appointment that was supposed to be a little later but just got bumped up so I have to leave in one hour. But I'll be sure someone else is here for you. Sorry but I can't cancel it.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142

Thank you sooooo much Marje. I hope your appointment goes well. Have a great day and thank you again!
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142

Hi, John, Marje asked me to drop in, I'd been peeking in anyway. You are doing great w/ PurrFace!

Congrats on shooting your first GREEN!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: How long until your +4?
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142

John

Ann is going to stay with you and help out if PF comes down. She is very experienced with low numbers and a great person to have helping you.

Again...I apologize that I have to leave but you are in super hands. Good luck! I'll check back in later.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142 +4/245

Hi Ann. I'm sorry for not responding sooner. I stepped out of the computer room to one thing and that led to another etc.. I guess PurrFace got tired of the BLUE water and GREEN grass and decided to get a little YELLOW sunshine. Is this what is considered a bounce? Is +6 or +7 ok for the next test? Thank you for helping me, I really appreciate it.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142 +4/245

No problem, i didn't expect to see you until now.

Yes, i think PurrFace is bouncing. I doubt if he will drop now bat another test at +6 would be good, you said drops usually start about +5? Got to go test Tess.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142 +4/245

Hi Ann. I'll get another test at +6. It's nice and cool here so he is outside on the screened porch laying on his pillow.
you said drops usually start about +5?
He'll usually start his drop at around the +5/+6 time frame. Of course I probably should be the last one to interpret SS.
Thanks again Ann and I'll see you at the +6. Have a great afternoon.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142 +4/245

Hi John, Nice shooting today! Its great to see PurrFace enjoying some nice green lately. Of course he had to grab some hot colors after all that cool green, these cats do like to keep us guessing. You will get more used to shooting low, and I can tell you from experience folks here are very willing to provide handholding and BOS boost whenever you need it to keep the process moving.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142 +4/245 +6/355

Leslie, thank you for the much needed words of encouragement. You're right, the people here have been great. I can't thank them enough; especially for staying up all night yesterday with us. I feel so fortunate to have found this site and all of it's participants. Have a great evening.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142 +4/245 +6/355

It looks like you are officially in bounce mode and can relax on the testing for a while. I think you are getting the hang of all this. :thumbup
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142 +4/245 +6/355

Thank you Ann for your help and support. You helped calm a stressful situation and I really appreciate it. Have a great night and thank you again.
Thank you also to Marje and Sienne. Couldn't have gotten through last night without you.
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace AMPS 79 +1/105 +2/142 +4/245 +6/355

Ahh PurrFace. Decided to go for the bounce today and check out the other colors. Hopefully he stablizes quickly.

You are doing great John and just think how beneficial all this information is. Of course, cats will be cats and whatever happened to that caretaker manual??? :lol: :lol: :lol: We do our best and go from there.

Have a great afternoon.
Karen
 
Re: 10/26 PurrFace PMPS 356

Thanks Karen. You are so right and I did learn a lot from this experience. Thank you to everyone and have a great night.
 
Looks like PurrFace is going to have another BLUE and hopefully GREEN day. I think he really wants to test my nerves and patients with shooting low. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top