? 10/26 Minner AMPS 280, no dry food, how to adjust

MinnerPip

Active Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ose-1-125-2-105-please-help-im-scared.295212/

Hello all. Sending Happy weekend wishes. I expect to be doing lots of ear pricks and figuring out how to avoid hypo … i have no idea how to correlate carb intake w/ insulin requirement.

Given the 280 AMPS, I dosed her slightly less than usual (plunger right at bottom of 4.0 mark vs slightly above the top of 4.0 mark that i was recording as 4.1). Fed 3% FF, she grazed small amount.

Wish i had Libre on her for this no dry food transition but not possible.

Does anyone have experience to share with how the insulin needed changed with removal of about half caloric intake coming from 31% carb dry? I will be giving her 3% and 12% FF varieties today. I also have some 15% on hand. Will try to test every 2 hours, her poor ear.
 
Hi Laura and Minner and welcome.
When making a diet change, we let the numbers be the guide for the insulin dose.
Since you're still feeding some dry food, that means you will follow SLGS dosing methods.
Did you give insulin last night (PM 10/25) or did you skip?
You want to hold the dose, unless Minner drops under 90, for a week then do a curve. It would be good if you can get a couple of tests in throughout the cycles to see how Minner is responding to the diet change. Start with the +2 and if the BG is the same or higher than AMPS, that would mean less pokes.
If you skipped insulin last night, the depot will need time to readjust so a curve today may not show you what this dose can really do.
 
Hi Laura and Minner. Welcome and wishing you good luck. It’s great you are eliminating dry food. Hopefully that will help Minner require less insulin.
Have a safe day and a nice weekend. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Thank you Heather for the suggestion, spreadsheet now updated. :)

Appreciate the advice Angela. I did not give insulin last night after seeing a PMPS at 160 and then continuing to decline until I gave her FF 12%. So I’m scared the same insulin dose this morning as yesterday, but with NO dry food (yesterday she had about 6-8g dry 31%) will lead to even lower PMPS and going lower after that like last night. I don’t know …. I’m in totally new and foreign territory. So I’m testing frequently today to understand and I hope all of you will be by my side on this anxiety filled journey ….

If she has similar or lower numbers tonight as last night at PMPS thru +5, and I skip again, it would seem 4.0 in mornings is too high even if she doesn’t go below 90. ??

Note that numbers in blue are low to me! Green is scary!!! I don’t inject her if she is below 170ish. Yet I see others injecting (at lower doses) in blues or high greens. Eeeek! I think the game changes when the dry food is eliminated so I need to learn …

And thanks Staci for well wishes. Moving off dry has taken months. She still doesnt complete a bowl. She licks off top and cant seem to tolerate chunks/pieces very well. So I give her many bowls of pate and now some 12% florentine where she licks all the gravy part. I need to start weighing her to be sure she is getting enough calories from all the licking.
 
Don’t be afraid of blue numbers. Remember that normal cat bg is 50-120. I understand that’s scary for you right now but I promise that will become desired by you very soon. Lantus will not cause the drastic drops seen with your previous insulin. When following SLGS which I strongly suggest you do through the change to all wet food you want to see nadirs 90-150. Since you had to skip last night I would reduce to 3.75 tomorrow morning IF the bg tonight is again too low for you to feel you can shoot because we want you to shoot every 12 hours especially since there was a recent DKA.

What is 4.1? Going forward you will increase and decrease in .25 increments. Keep posting daily when possible and someone will guide you should the bg drop low. Are you checking for ketones?
 
Last edited:
Thank you Elise. I’ll for sure give a daily update with a new thread. I would welcome the help and knowing folks experienced with this are keeping an eye out.

4.1 is my unconventional way of being a hair more than end of plunger at top of 4.0 line. It’s just a tad higher, enough to see a sliver of light b/t the top of 4.0 line and the plunger. I’m having trouble finding the right dose, it’s been between 4-4.5 and 4.5 seems too high and 4.0 too low. All of this may go up in air again with the dry food being set aside.

If DKA is ketoacidosis, that has not happened to Minner (knock on wood). I’ve had her tested for ketones twice over past month or so. My vet didn’t think it was necessary given her glucose stays under 300 for the most part. She had 2 freak incidents in past month after being too low in PM so i skipped dose then fed her and then she had big bounce and got almost to 500 the one time. She was tested for ketones that night and was negative.
 
Back
Top