10/26 Merlin AMPS 135 +3 303 +8 276

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diana and Merlin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28244&p=288493#p288493

No PMPS as Merlin was with grandma last night who doesn't know how to BG test, yet. YET. Hopefully I'll be teaching her this afternoon.

P's: No purring yet, but he still likes to make me wait for that one. But today's P for playing is brought to you by trash diving!Merlin who was apparently after some can of food that had some juice in the bottom of it and which ended up with one trashcan toppled. ohmygod_smile And T-Rex!Merlin who likes to pick up his food dish in his teeth and hurtle it off the cabinet he gets to eat on and onto the floor. (Yes, I have seen him do this, but I'm thinking I need it on video.)
 
Re: 10/26 Merlin AMPS 135

Hi Diana! Nice AMPS for Merlin this morning! Will yo be home to test him or if not, did you leave food out for him?
It is important to get tests during the PM cycle....some kitties get their lowest numbers during the night. At least, at the very least....please get a before bed check, okay? The data is important and any tests that you can manage will help fill in the picture, k? Hope you both have a Happy Tuesday! :razz:
 
Re: 10/26 Merlin AMPS 135

I did leave food out for him (two cans before I left for work. I work 12 hour shifts at the hospital) so I did test him yesterday before I went to work and this morning as soon as I got home. Grandma, who stayed with him, gave him another 3/4 can last night. Our first lesson to teach her how to BG test him, he was highly uncooperative, but we're going to do it again this afternoon and see if she can't do it so there can at least be some data. I have to work again tonight, so we'll see.
 
Re: 10/26 Merlin AMPS 135

I'm curious why you are shooting different doses at AM and PM? Lantus dosing works best when the dose is kept consistent. When you shoot different doses, it doesn't allow the shed to stabilize and you lose the cumulative effect of Lantus.
 
Re: 10/26 Merlin AMPS 135

merlin, that is a great amps, but why in the world would you want to eat out of the garbage can? I know your mommabean must give you a nice clean plate each time silly boy ... good luck with the testing session today!
 
Re: 10/26 Merlin AMPS 135

Sienne - Per the direction of his (our?) vet. After his curve at the vet's office, she wanted to up his AM dose but keep his PM dose the same. I'm not sure why. But after I talked to her this morning, she wants him going back to 1u BID.

PeterDevonMocha - He did! I washed it out, gave him one fresh after I woke up and was getting ready, which he and his sister ate half of, then another two cans to tide them through the night! Should I mention now, this is occasional behavior I saw out of him pre-diagnosis? Apparently those cans are too much temptation! :lol:
 
Re: 10/26 Merlin AMPS 135

I don't want to put you at odds with your vet. Perhaps you could share the dosing protocol that we use here with your vet. When we raise and lower doses, the protocol, which was developed by one of the leaders in the field in feline diabetes, suggests doing so in small increments -- usually 0.25u. This insures that you don't miss an optimal dose when increasing and that dose reductions hold. Many vets are familiar with the use of other types of insulin, the types that are short to intermediate in their action (e.g., Humulin N). Fewer vets are familiar with the use of Lantus or Levemir, which are long-acting types of insulin. My guess is that your vet is suggesting dose changes based on your pre-shot tests. With Lantus, the dose is based on the nadir.

If this were my cat, I'd stick with 1.0u BID and try to get as many tests as possible when you're home -- unless DGM can learn to test. My guess is that the 1.0u will be safe given your work schedule and you can get the shed stabilized and then raise the dose in small increments.
 
Re: 10/26 Merlin AMPS 135

Sienne -

Since my vet and I talked for a bit this morning, we both agreed on monitoring Merlin and she wants me to do a curve later this week on the 1uBiD to see how he's doing. I think, in part if not all, her dosing was based on his curve that he did at the vet, where he was so high, but when he's at home, he's getting a lot of lower numbers than what he did while he was there. We'll see.

In either case, either today or tomorrow, DGM will learn how to ear prick so she can do *some* testing while I'm at work. I definitely think the 1u will work (or I'm hoping at least!) but the numbers will tell the tale!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top