10/26 Jean Luc AMPS 439 +8 503 - Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

snorton

Member Since 2012
10/25 JL

Jean Luc is being a great big bouncy boy today. I still cannot figure this dude out. Either Mr. Liver is going nuts are something else is happening (i.e. insulin dying, infection, who knows).

Cycle Last Night
PMPS 315
+2 342
+4 215
+8 88

Today
AMPS 439
+3 485
+5 492
+8 503

I am disheartened today with these numbers. I cannot determine if I am doing any good or just making the situation worse. He isn't drinking or peeing a lot. He did eat all his food last night. Today not so much.
Do you think he is bouncing or something else?
 
I know this is small consolation but some cats just keep bouncing until they stop. It looks to me like JL bounced off of the 88 last night.

I want to encourage you to stick with the protocol. Evaluate and raise your dose every 6 cycles unless there are mitigating factors. Holding on to a dose overly long can encourage glucose toxicity to develop.
 
My brain doesn't seem to be working very well. By cycle, do you mean every 12 hours? So 6 cycles would be 3 days. Is that correct?
 
Yes, a cycle is 12 hours. Each time you shoot you start a new cycle. Sometimes Tess will bounce from going into the blues, it is as much of how fast they drop as well as how low. If his body isn't used to it the liver dumps glucagon as part of the 'fight or flight' response.

Sometimes we can moderate the bouncing w/ food. What is your feeding schedule?
 
Current schedule for both morning and evening cycles. For the past couple of days, he has eaten majority of evening food, but not the day food. He's been leaving the +3.5 uneaten.

2.25 oz FF Classic Turkey at AM and PM - PS
.75 oz FF Classic Turkey at +3.5
.75 oz FF Classic Turkey at +6
 
Spreading the food out is good, maybe try some variations. A little less at preshot and then he may be hungry for the +3.5 and you can give a little more then.

Steering w/ food involves a little more testing and I don't know your schedule. If you can test earlier and see when the big drops start you can feed a little extra food to slow things down, just a quick tap on the brakes rather than waiting until he is screaming downhill and trying an emergency stop.
 
Should I try to give 1.25 U tonight? If this is a bounce, I don't think I should increase; however, if the 6 cycle rule applies I should? I'm confused.
 
Today was only the 4th cycle after that nice green, tonight will be the 5th. You can give JeanLuc through tomorrow to clear his bounce. It is amazing on how some cats cant stretch it out until the last minute! ohmygod_smile
 
There is no "rule" about increasing during a bounce. The concern is that if the bounce is breaking and you increase, numbers could drop. We generally discourage a newbie from doing this because they haven't had experience with steering low numbers. If you're comfortable with handling low numbers, it's fine. if you would prefer to wait, that's fine, as well. No one, me included, is going to force you to increase. You need to be comfortable. I just wanted you to be aware of the possibilities of holding a dose overly long.
 
My bad today was only the second cycle! Last night's green 88 was off my screen. :oops: You need to give bounce a chance to clear, but as Sienne said don't hold too long after that to increase.
 
Good to know. I am going to hold for tonight just to make sure. I can also relax a "little" while DH and I go grab some Mexican treats and chill-out on their patio. This is going to be the last of the warm nights for a while.

Thank you both for your help. You all are my guardian angels.
angel-smiley-037.gif


Crossing paws for better numbers over the weekend.
 
Hi Shannan. Hopefully you and DH have a wonderful evening. Definitely too chilly in CO to be sitting outside for any extended period of time. :smile:

Hopefully Jean Luc will stabilize for you. It will be interesting to see if giving a bit less food at PS will make a difference. Not really able to give any advice but just wanted to stop in and say HI.

Hang in there. Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top