10/26 FLUFFY AMPS-147 +9-300 PMPS-398

Are you able to get a before bed test in each night?
I'll have to work on it. To be honest, I am getting weary. I don't see any stability or regularity in his BG's leveling out. Its like I cannot find the right combination and as always, its other things in life that come up that hinder this process. I have too many cats to adequately deal with a special needs cat, meaning since I am not able to afford wet food for all 7 and they still need to eat the HC dry food making it very difficult cuz hard as I try to feed the others and not leave the HC food down where Fluff has access to it cuz so many things are going on in life that I feel defeated cuz its my own fault. I battle chronic fatigue and so I'm not sharp-minded as I once was in my 30's. I am doing my best but it's not good enough. Fluffy is my heart and each one of the others I love very much and could NEVER think about rehoming any of them. I made a commitment life-long to give them a loving home till death do us part and 6 out of 7 are older than 12. Each one has a special place in my heart as children do. I keep trying but Fluffy and I been doing this since March, 7 months. We're just managing and barely making progress to be insulin free which was my goal at his FD diagnosis. Maybe with 1 cat or financial affordability of feeding all wet food this would be more feasible. The way it is I just don't know how it can happen to get Fluff OTJ! I am not married and my kids been gone for years so I am all alone in these strides except for the love, support and encouragement I receive from ones here at the forum. I dearly appreciate each and every one that reads my posts and the positivity they offer.

I have done curves before staying up half the night to get a BG but it seems that the "curve" is a constant and I cannot do that and stay sane. I sacrificed buy expensive LC dry food (Dr Elseys) and still it drives up Fluffys BG and I only bought it to use as a topper which is used far and few between. I only use it at bedtime if his BG is below 100.

Raccoons put a large whole in my roof and causing damage in 2 rooms of my house and mold too. The mold has affected my breathing and I worry its affecting the cats too, but the help assistance coming to fix these issues is a govt program and its a 2.5 yr process they told me. The good news is FINALLLY they will be starting on the roof and it will be done before thanksgiving, God-willing and no more delays.

PS-its only been 7 days that I have not regularly taken Fluff's BG at bedtime because I was so exhausted cleaning, packing and preparing the house for the contractors to begin repairs to my home besides the roof.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
I'll have to work on it. To be honest, I am getting weary. I don't see any stability or regularity in his BG's leveling out. Its like I cannot find the right combination and as always, its other things in life that come up that hinder this process. I have too many cats to adequately deal with a special needs cat, meaning since I am not able to afford wet food for all 7 and they still need to eat the HC dry food making it very difficult cuz hard as I try to feed the others and not leave the HC food down where Fluff has access to it cuz so many things are going on in life that I feel defeated cuz its my own fault. I battle chronic fatigue and so I'm not sharp-minded as I once was in my 30's. I am doing my best but it's not good enough. Fluffy is my heart and each one of the others I love very much and could NEVER think about rehoming any of them. I made a commitment life-long to give them a loving home till death do us part and 6 out of 7 are older than 12. Each one has a special place in my heart as children do. I keep trying but Fluffy and I been doing this since March, 7 months. We're just managing and barely making progress to be insulin free which was my goal at his FD diagnosis. Maybe with 1 cat or financial affordability of feeding all wet food this would be more feasible. The way it is I just don't know how it can happen to get Fluff OTJ! I am not married and my kids been gone for years so I am all alone in these strides except for the love, support and encouragement I receive from ones here at the forum. I dearly appreciate each and every one that reads my posts and the positivity they offer.

I have done curves before staying up half the night to get a BG but it seems that the "curve" is a constant and I cannot do that and stay sane. I sacrificed buy expensive LC dry food (Dr Elseys) and still it drives up Fluffys BG and I only bought it to use as a topper which is used far and few between. I only use it at bedtime if his BG is below 100.

Raccoons put a large whole in my roof and causing damage in 2 rooms of my house and mold too. The mold has affected my breathing and I worry its affecting the cats too, but the help assistance coming to fix these issues is a govt program and its a 2.5 yr process they told me. The good news is FINALLLY they will be starting on the roof and it will be done before thanksgiving, God-willing and no more delays.

PS-its only been 7 days that I have not regularly taken Fluff's BG at bedtime because I was so exhausted cleaning, packing and preparing the house for the contractors to begin repairs to my home besides the roof.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
It's hard with everything that you have going on & I hope things get better for you once you get all of the repairs to your house done. I'm single & doing this alone as well, but I own my own cleaning company so my job isn't long hours at all. I only have 2 cats that I feed Fancy feast pates to. I think the Walmart special kitty has the larger cans of pate. Maybe you could try transitioning your kitty's over to that? Is there anyway you can try to do a curve on a Saturday or Sunday during the day? I think that would give you & the others a better picture of what is going on with Fluffy. @Scarlette & Fluffy
 
It's hard with everything that you have going on & I hope things get better for you once you get all of the repairs to your house done. I'm single & doing this alone as well, but I own my own cleaning company so my job isn't long hours at all. I only have 2 cats that I feed Fancy feast pates to. I think the Walmart special kitty has the larger cans of pate. Maybe you could try transitioning your kitty's over to that? Is there anyway you can try to do a curve on a Saturday or Sunday during the day? I think that would give you & the others a better picture of what is going on with Fluffy. @Scarlette & Fluffy
My walmart carries very few special kitty pates, they're always out. My cats don't like beef which they seem to have in stock and at times super supper which I do buy for them.

Even if I do a curve, its picture is temporary! I have to regularly do a curve and thats where the issue is. The details a curve would provide isn't constant because details are constantly changing.

@Chrispooky12
 
My walmart carries very few special kitty pates, they're always out. My cats don't like beef which they seem to have in stock and at times super supper which I do buy for them.

Even if I do a curve, its picture is temporary! I have to regularly do a curve and thats where the issue is. The details a curve would provide isn't constant because details are constantly changing.

@Chrispooky12
I understand that details change constantly, but right now it's really hard to see any kind of picture. So a curve would be somewhat helpful. Or as suggested by other members you could get a couple of night time tests in maybe a + 4 & a +6 one night(you could set an alarm so you don'thave to stay up)& also maybe a couple more through the day like a +3 or a + 5 & a +8 on your day off of course.
I read in another post that you are 7mons in & you were hoping for remission. We all hope for remission but we first must get our kitty's regulated. Panzer has been a diabetic for almost 3yrs but I knew nothing about diabetes & testing until I found this place a little over a year ago. Ever since then I've been testing & doing curves & he is finally regulated. He did have some 200s but I also gave 5 fur shots & he's been constipated so I believe that's what the yellows are from. You have to remember that this is not a race but a marathon @Scarlette & Fluffy
 
My walmart carries very few special kitty pates, they're always out. My cats don't like beef which they seem to have in stock and at times super supper which I do buy for them.

Even if I do a curve, its picture is temporary! I have to regularly do a curve and thats where the issue is. The details a curve would provide isn't constant because details are constantly changing.

@Chrispooky12
I can't remember how often you are supposed to try & do a curve. If some more experienced members could weigh in on this please @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee
 
I am sure it is difficult being on your own with multiple cats, having to find the money to feed them all, and having problems with the house. I’m sure you are greatly loved by all your kitties!
I think you have made progress since you swapped to Lantus. You were giving 4 units of Novolin and you are down to half of that with Lantus…that is progress,
If you were able to get a before bed test in each night that would give us very useful information.
With SLGS a curve is done each 7 days to see if the dose needs changing or not. If you are not able to manage that, if you could get one test in each cycle, that will tell us how the dose is working and then you could do a curve if it looks like the dose needs to change. It is not ideal but if you are struggling with it all, maybe try that.
 
I am sure it is difficult being on your own with multiple cats, having to find the money to feed them all, and having problems with the house. I’m sure you are greatly loved by all your kitties!
I think you have made progress since you swapped to Lantus. You were giving 4 units of Novolin and you are down to half of that with Lantus…that is progress,
If you were able to get a before bed test in each night that would give us very useful information.
With SLGS a curve is done each 7 days to see if the dose needs changing or not. If you are not able to manage that, if you could get one test in each cycle, that will tell us how the dose is working and then you could do a curve if it looks like the dose needs to change. It is not ideal but if you are struggling with it all, maybe try that.
I can get a before bed BG. Nothing in my life has ever been "IDEAL". Often I feel like a warrior that never gets a break.. Twila Paris sings a song "The Warrior is a Child", in it it says "even soldiers need a quiet place to rest"

But my theme song for my life is this one, MercyMe.."Say I Won't"

They have to put my 7 cats and me in a hotel while they do the Lead repair....I gotta take litter boxes, litter, insulin and other diabetic supplies and stuff for myself, clothes, etc. I won't be permitted in my house during that 2 weeks and if I forget anything I'm SOL!

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Back
Top