10/26 Bea AMPS 415

Kirsten ACG

Member Since 2021
I posted last week and don’t know what to do with my kitty’s dose. I know I need more PM/overnight numbers and can set an alarm to get up for those in the middle of the night because I think it seems clear I need to know what is going on in the pm cycle. My vet had asked after her fructosamine was 285 a couple weeks ago (she said that indicated prolonged hypoglycemia, people here said it’s normal) that I keep her at 3 units in the am and drop her to 2.5 units in the pm. I went with 2.75 Am and pm because am told here the doses should be consistent. Does it ever make sense to have different doses in the AM and Pm for Lantus? Because now I feel weird that my cat’s numbers are all over the place and when I talk to the vet/show her my spreadsheet she will see I didn’t follow her advice. How do I handle this and what should I do to get my cat on track? Vet also told me to leave food out for her overnight since she thought she could be dropping low then. I did and was getting up to pull it 2 hours before AMPS but missed doing that a few times. I think I need a timed feeder. But if this was your cat, what would you do in terms of testing and dosing? Thank you!
 
Hi, Kirsten,
I am not supposed to advise but just wanted to say that you should maintain the same dose in the am and pm unless Bea drops below 90 and then you would take a .25 reduction. You have been on the 2.75 dose too long and Bea probably needs an increase but lets see if we can get you some expert advice. By the way, try to post daily and if you have a question, like you did today, put the "?" in your thread title. That will get you more attention. Good luck with your Bea!
@tiffmaxee
@carfurby
@PerfumedCatMom
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
 
Here’s your previous post. We link them for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-21-bea-bg-300s-weird-curve.254513/#post-2867839
Lantus likes consistency so with our methods we shoot the same dose day and night. You could show your vet the methods we use. my vet internist was fine with me getting advice here. If yours gives you a hard time, smile and tell her you understand and then continue with what you think best.
A timed feeder is a very good idea. Once you get it feed Bea from it when home to get her used to it.
When you see a Pmps under 200 that’s when another test at +3 is a good idea. She might have gone lower on 10/20. With Slgs it’s suggested you do a curve testing every 2 hours for a cycle or every 3 hours for 18 hours. Looking at your ss I would increase to 3.0. The steroid will effect her bg. How often does she get it and at what point in the cycle? It would be good to note that on your ss.
 
Here’s your previous post. We link them for continuity.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-21-bea-bg-300s-weird-curve.254513/#post-2867839
Lantus likes consistency so with our methods we shoot the same dose day and night. You could show your vet the methods we use. my vet internist was fine with me getting advice here. If yours gives you a hard time, smile and tell her you understand and then continue with what you think best.
A timed feeder is a very good idea. Once you get it feed Bea from it when home to get her used to it.
When you see a Pmps under 200 that’s when another test at +3 is a good idea. She might have gone lower on 10/20. With Slgs it’s suggested you do a curve testing every 2 hours for a cycle or every 3 hours for 18 hours. Looking at your ss I would increase to 3.0. The steroid will effect her bg. How often does she get it and at what point in the cycle? It would be good to note that on your ss.
Thank you. My vet was very concerned about the 3 units and thought she was having prolonged hypoglycemia based on the frucosamine. There have been a couple times I caught a random bg drop but it otherwise does not seem like she’s going hypo, unless this is happening in the middle of the night when I am not testing. Could the higher numbers I’ve seen lately be a bounce from going too low overnight? She takes .375mg of dexamethasone in the AM when fed and .1875mg in the pm when fed. I felt like she seemed to feel better when she was on 3 units. I had not been leaving food out for her overnight during that time (always gave her a snack just before bed) but during the day she had access to food up until 2 hours before PMPS - maybe this made a big difference in what was happening over night? Perhaps I go to 3 units and make sure she has access to food all night? I could set an alarm to pick it up 2 hours in advance of her AMPS if a timed feeder doesn’t work for her. I guess I’m nervous about increasing the dose in case she’s going low in the middle of the night…
 
It’s possible she’s going lower at night but usually you would see a drop by +3. The only time I think it might have happened was on 10/20 but my crystal ball doesn’t always work. It’s possible she never got lower than100 though. The blues were enough to cause a bounce. I do think an increase is needed. I’d get a before bed test and set an alarm for later if lower at that test.
 
It’s possible she’s going lower at night but usually you would see a drop by +3. The only time I think it might have happened was on 10/20 but my crystal ball doesn’t always work. It’s possible she never got lower than100 though. The blues were enough to cause a bounce. I do think an increase is needed. I’d get a before bed test and set an alarm for later if lower at that test.
Okay, thank you. I can’t remember what I was doing 10/20. I would have thought with her PMPS that I would have taken a before bed test. So if I see below 200 at +3 I should set and alarm for another test, or what am
I looking for at +3? And if I need to set alarm, next test +5 or sooner or later? Thank you for your help!
 
Lantus onsets for most cats between +2-3/ if that test is much lower than the preshot it would be good to test again in an hour. If lower still that’s when I’d set an alarm +5-6. I think she bounced from all the blue on 10/19 and 10/20 and possibly stayed blue the night of 10/20, went lower or started to bounce that night. Without the extra test we just don’t know which. I think she should have cleared that now.
 
Back
Top