10/26/2010 Spitzer AMPS=111, +10=204

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Previously

Yesterday, not so good on the BG - I think there was a fur shot in the morning, so gave him .5 at noon-ish.

AMPS = 111
gave .5 insulin.

I had given the vet the link to the spreadsheet - she didn't understand it, so I wrote a text version of whats been going on. And also asked, how low Spitzer's BG could get and it be OK to give him insulin. I don't need another night of staying up to 0'dark hundred monitoring and feeding, with Karo at hand, y'know?
 
Re: 10/26/2010 Spitzer AMPS=111

BJ, is the second shot on your SS? What made you think you gave a fur shot? Did you also give the PM shot at the normal time? I don't see any testing in between AMPS and PMPS, so I'm wondering what prompted you to give the second shot.

If you think you've given a fur shot, the safest course of action is to not give any more insulin. There's no way to know how much insulin you actually got into the cat, so giving more is risking a possible overdose. I've given fur shots, lots of wet fur and I thought Tinkles got nothing, only to have him drop as though he got a full dose. I've also had fur shots that I thought he got most of the insulin, and the cycle looked like I skipped the shot. It's always best to just wait until the next shot time.

Also, when you give shots less than 12 hours apart, you are risking the later shot's onset coinciding with the earier shot's nadir....not a good situation....and if 3 shots were given in the day, you have three onsets and nadirs to worry about...REALLY not a good situation....and that's not even taking into account the overlap and carryover...

Are you able to monitor today?
 
Re: 10/26/2010 Spitzer AMPS=111

Ditto with everything that Laurie said. The safest action if you think you've given a fur shot -- even if you know your needle went in one side and out the other and you saw the insulin shoot across the room -- is to do nothing more. A second shot has the potential to overdose your cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top