10/25Calistica-how do I know when the shed is full?PMPS 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thelma and Calistica

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54914
AMPS 229. Better yesterday's AMPS!

Marje, Ray has been doing +2 in the morning but we didn't do it at night. I need to record the +2 values on the SS. Thank God for this group! I can't imagine managing Calistica's diabetes without your help.
Marje, when did you switch Gracie to Levimir? Is the data for both Lantus and Levimir on the same SS?

Hi Mares, glad you got the shampoo. I really hope it helps with Missy's acne. I ordered two bottles from Swanson over the weekend. They were $6.57ea. Their website is down for maintenance so can't look at it now.
Have a wonderful day everyone!
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica's AMPS 229

Calistica is looking very nice for just starting! You are doing a great job!

To answer your question in our condo...I go to Florida for 4 months each winter...it's part of my job...so it's good and bad :roll: I'm a "warm weather" person so I focus on that.
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica's AMPS 229

Thanks Patsy! I hope Calistica continues to do well.
I was reading the sticky about the storage shed and I have a question. How do you know for sure when the shed is full?

How nice that you have to go to FL for 4 months during the cold weather. I think I heard this morning that there is a chance of snow at the end of the week. Did you hear that?
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica's AMPS 229

Good morning! Nice sunny start for Calistica today! Looks like some blues are in the immediate future.

Have a wonderful day!!
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica's AMPS 229

Great start for Callistica! That's a good question, how to know for sure when the shed is full. I will be interested to hear what the wise ones have to say. You might want to put "question" in the subject to get some attention. Have a good one, Thelma.
Liz
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica - how do I know when the shed is full?

Thanks Anne! I just changed my condo's subject to ask about the full shed.
Have a great one yourself!
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica - how do I know when the shed is full?

Hi guys .. beautiful sunny yellow for calistica today .. bet blue isn't to far off! No answer on your shed question from me but I am sure more experienced people will be by to help answer that .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica - how do I know when the shed is full?

Good morning Thelma and beautiful Calistica!

I'm not sure that question CAN be answered...I'm not sure we know...I've wondered the same thing but since ECID, I'll bet it not only varies with each cat but also varies with each injection. I don't know that for sure but it makes sense to ME... :?

Hugs,
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica - how do I know when the shed is full?

It takes 5 - 7 days for the Lantus depot (aka "shed") to form. Often, while the shed is forming, it looks like the insulin isn't doing very much to BG numbers. This is because some of your dose is forming the microcrystalline repository. Looking at Calistica's SS, there's very little change in her numbers until 10/22 -- six days after you started Lantus. The shed was very likely to be filled at that time.

(FYI - the link to yesterday's condo doesn't work. You need to encase the http location between the url brackets -- . If you click on the URL button above the text box, the url brackets will automatically be inserted. )
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica - how do I know when the shed is full?

Thanks for explaining what a full shed means Sienne! I keep forgetting to do the html tags so I just fixed the original post!
So what happens in the case where on 10/23 Calistica only got 1/2 cycle because she got a fur shot? Her body took the insulin from her storage shed and now it's probably still being filled up?
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica - how do I know when the shed is full?

hi thelma! calistica's ss is looking great - even a first green in there! just stopping by to say hi.
 
Re: 10/25 Calistica - how do I know when the shed is full?

If there's a fur shot, a reduced dose, skipped dose, early or late shot, etc. it all effects the shed. It's why we try to keep shot time as consistent as possible. For some cats, you don't see the effect of a fur shot or reduced dose that same cycle since the shed may buffer the dose. The cycle following may be when you actually see a difference. However, this varies since every cat is different.
 
Re: 10/25Calistica-how do I know when the shed is full?PMPS

Calistica's PMPS was 155!
Thanks so much for explaining Sienne! I am thinking it took at least 1 1/2 cycles for Calistica's shed to fill up again.
Julie and Punkin, thanks for stopping by!
 
Re: 10/25Calistica-how do I know when the shed is full?PMPS

Thelma:

Sorry to just get to you now to answer questions. Glad Ray is getting the +2 in the morning but I think if you can do it every cycle, it will help. It's a good place to start. Of course, if she is low at PS and you shoot, you need to get a +1 as well ;-)

First, you asked on our condo last night if it was good on 6/23 that Gracie stayed flat. That was on lantus (and I'm glad you looked at the lantus SS). Yes....flat is good even if it is higher. The hope is always that once you get flat, you raise the dose and hope the numbers will stay flat but overall shift downwards.

If you click on Gracie's SS link in my signature block, it should take you first to her levemir SS. Up at the top left of SS it states "Gracie's SS" and then underneath, it states "Gracie's Levemir SS" and "Gracie's Lantus SS" so just click on the one you want. We started her on levemir on Sep 6. You can see we started lower than her lantus dose and so we had many cycles where her lantus shed was depleting and and her lev shed was building.

For Calistica and filling her shed....each dose might take a different amount of time to fill the shed. It's hard to say and it's not really something that I worry too much about for Gracie. I just try to follow the protocol.

Great PMPS...great shooting!!
 
Re: 10/25Calistica-how do I know when the shed is full?PMPS

Thanks Amy and Marje!
Calistica's PM +2 went up to 225 :sad:
Does this jump have anything to do with the fact that she gets her pred at 5PM with the PMPS meal?
Marje, we will be doing AM and PM +2 going forward. Ray is charge of that task.
I just saw Gracie's Lantus SS and I see how she was having those spikes and she is definitely staying more consistent with the Levemir!
I hope Calistica stays consistent on her current dose. She really is doing great. We can tell she feels better!
Thank you all!!!
 
Re: 10/25Calistica-how do I know when the shed is full?PMPS

It's possible that the pred is causing her numbers to rise. It could also be some degree of food spike or a bit of a bounce since you don't know how low she went during the AM cycle. Given the 211 at +2 and the 155 at PMPS, there's a decent chance that the numbers were lower and then were coming up at PMPS and could continue to go up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top