10/25 Sev, 3 Ketones readings (current .2), AMPS 144, PMPS 136, +3 96 (human meter) | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/25 Sev, 3 Ketones readings (current .2), AMPS 144, PMPS 136, +3 96 (human meter)

Sevytheking

Member since 2025
yesterday's post - 10/24 Sev, 2.4 mmol/l ketones, PMPS 187, +2 142, - advice needed

Sev woke up nice and early to make sure he got his testing treat and breakfast lol.

Today’s Readings: Ketones and BS
  • We had a couple of developments last night! I finally managed to get a ketone reading from Sev using the blood monitor, and wow, those first numbers were pretty high. His first reading last night was 2.4 mmol/L on the KetoBM meter, then 0.3 at +6 post 1 unit, and this morning before his AMPS it was 1.3.
  • PMPS was 187, +2 142, +6 142 (True Metrix Air)

Since I’m still building confidence with giving insulin shots, I’ll be switching over to the iPet reader for now. That confidence mostly comes from seeing the higher numbers and my vet’s recommendation. I’m hoping that with more experience, and considering the cost 🤡, I’ll eventually feel comfortable enough to let go of the iPet meter and stick with the human meter.

No concerning signs from Sev right now, just really grateful for everyone who pushed me to start checking ketone readings. Luckily, it really does seem like the insulin is helping bring those numbers down! 🎃
 

Attachments

  • photo_2025-10-25_08-59-04.jpg
    photo_2025-10-25_08-59-04.jpg
    207 KB · Views: 6
Congrats on getting the blood ketone tests. Even better to see them coming down! It is important to say that ketones are a concern in the signature so everyone helping can see it.

FYI, you do not need to have two spreadsheets, one per type of meter. It is possible to use one, and just have a blank line in between where you switch from the human BG meter to the pet one, and eventually back again. If you need help doing this, let us know and we can find someone to help out.
 
Any guidance for a strategy for tonight would be appreciated if an experienced member sees this. Sev had 2.0 mmol/L ketones at +8, but his blood sugar was 167 on the pet meter, which is one of the lower numbers he's seen thus far. So I know we want to keep getting insulin in him, but since Joha is new to this, I don't have great guidance for what number preshot is ok to shoot and if she should shoot the full or a partial amount.

Joha had to step out for a few hours but should be back around +11 for tonight. I'll let her comment on how available (awake? :p ) she can be tonight for monitoring Sev (Joha, that may factor into how aggressive advisors are willing to be).
 
iPet is a pet specific blood glucose meter, like AlphaTrak. iPet Pro The company claims "The iPet Pro™ is the first pet blood glucose monitoring system to consistently achieve ±15 mg/dL accuracy against a laboratory standard 98% of the time..."

The test strips need a 0.7 microliter drop of blood, hard for many newbie to get. Test strips are $49.99 for a box of 50 (Amazon price), almost $1 per strip which is pricey.
 
I’m relaying from what I have spoken about with Joha in the past week.

Sev did not have DKA on diagnosis. He is currently eating fine and acting normal. He did have ketones on his diagnosis. She measured him at 2.4 mmol/L at the PMPS of 10/24. That came down to 0.3 mmol/L PMPS +6 of 10/24. And they have been rising a bit today as documented in this thread.
 
I believe it is a pet specific meter:
https://www.amazon.com/iPet-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/dp/B06Y3CLWN1

Joha’s vet was adamant she use it and is basing his recommendations off it. I’ll let Joha confirm I linked the right one (she’ll be available around +11). Joha also has been getting reading from a human reader.
And Joha is your friend and you are helping her? I am sorry I have not been available much the last few days. I have had a critically ill cat. So I am trying to catch up a little bit with what is happening.
 
Yes, I am Joha’s friend but I’m not in the same state as she is, so I’ve been helping over text and phone.

I’m so sorry about that Suzanne. Please let us know if you don’t have the capacity for this right now, it isn’t an emergency. Hugs to you
 
@Suzanne & Darcy From what I could figure on a previous thread, the vet wanted the ipet to be used, partly because it reads higher. For example, the no shoot under 200 on a human meter is more likely to happen than if using a pet meter that reads higher.

Joha, one of our reasons for using human meters is the cheaper test strip cost. People are more likely to test more if they aren't throwing away a dollar each test. I presume you still have some of the True Metrix around as a spare if needed? Another reason for human meter over pet meter is that you can get test strips at almost any time, instead of waiting for delivery.

With ketones at 2.0, you will definitely want to shoot insulin at PMPS time. How much and when are the variables we can play with. We can delay the shot to see if he'll go higher, or reduce the dose a bit. Knowing how much you can monitor tonight will also help us guide you.

With those ketones, a couple other strategies are to make sure he's getting lots of calories (not carbs) and fluids. Fluids can flush away the ketones, and food/calories will also help fight the ketones. How is Sev's appetite these days? Would eat a bit more if offered? Are you watering his food down with some water? Some people will give subq fluids to combat ketones, if the vet OK's it.
 
What is this? This is just a pet glucometer?
yes, its this one
And Joha is your friend and you are helping her? I am sorry I have not been available much the last few days. I have had a critically ill cat. So I am trying to catch up a little bit with what is happening.
i am so sorry! please concentrate on your kitty if needed. Sev is stressing me but i think he is doing good ☺️
 

Attachments

  • photo_5184139497984166675_y.jpg
    photo_5184139497984166675_y.jpg
    172 KB · Views: 7
@Suzanne & Darcy From what I could figure on a previous thread, the vet wanted the ipet to be used, partly because it reads higher. For example, the no shoot under 200 on a human meter is more likely to happen than if using a pet meter that reads higher.

Joha, one of our reasons for using human meters is the cheaper test strip cost. People are more likely to test more if they aren't throwing away a dollar each test. I presume you still have some of the True Metrix around as a spare if needed? Another reason for human meter over pet meter is that you can get test strips at almost any time, instead of waiting for delivery.

With ketones at 2.0, you will definitely want to shoot insulin at PMPS time. How much and when are the variables we can play with. We can delay the shot to see if he'll go higher, or reduce the dose a bit. Knowing how much you can monitor tonight will also help us guide you.

With those ketones, a couple other strategies are to make sure he's getting lots of calories (not carbs) and fluids. Fluids can flush away the ketones, and food/calories will also help fight the ketones. How is Sev's appetite these days? Would eat a bit more if offered? Are you watering his food down with some water? Some people will give subq fluids to combat ketones, if the vet OK's it.
I can’t delay his shot today, but I can test him any time after +3 since I’ll have to leave for two hours right after the shot. He loves to eat and has been eating whatever I put in front of him. He’ll keep eating if I keep offering food. He’s been drinking water, just not as much or as long as he used to. I haven’t tried given him additional water yet, but I can see if it works.
 
I can’t delay his shot today, but I can test him any time after +3 since I’ll have to leave for two hours right after the shot. He loves to eat and has been eating whatever I put in front of him. He’ll keep eating if I keep offering food. He’s been drinking water, just not as much or as long as he used to. I haven’t tried given him additional water yet, but I can see if it works.
Is it shot time now?
 
And that is quite a difference between the human and pet meter. Are we using the human meter or pet meter to make dosing decisions. At some point you will have to decide which you are using to decide upon dose reductions.
 
And that is quite a difference between the human and pet meter. Are we using the human meter or pet meter to make dosing decisions. At some point you will have to decide which you are using to decide upon dose reductions.
Honestly currently the ipet meter due to my lack of knowledge, needing to share the reading to the vet, and knowing that he said no insulin under 200 from the ipet meter.
 
Well then if you are following the vet’s suggestion then it is permissible to shoot that 209.

Our goal here is to learn to shoot lower and lower preshot numbers but never below 50 (human meter) — we only do this by gathering data on the spreadsheet to see how low the doses take the kitty, so it is a gradual process.
 
Well then if you are following the vet’s suggestion then it is permissible to shoot that 209.

Our goal here is to learn to shoot lower and lower preshot numbers but never below 50 (human meter) — we only do this by gathering data on the spreadsheet to see how low the doses take the kitty, so it is a gradual process.
Thank you so much for responding so quickly and explaining everything! I’ll go with 1 unit and check back on his numbers at +3 to see how he’s doing.
 
Since ProZinc generally onsets and begins to lower BG at approximately +2, the first snack is best given at that time. Perhaps you are just letting him graze while you are gone though and that is probably okay.
 
Back
Top