10/25 Rosie PMPS 85

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
Rosie spent another day at the "spa" today. It started with a light lunch (tuna salad). It ended with a nice bubble bath. She is now sleeping in her bed in the window. She had a "productive" day so I need to thank everyone for the poop vines. No photos, but it was impressive... :bighug: :) :bighug:

NS for her tonight because constipation makes her numbers high. With a lower than normal pre-shot and the fact that her appy is still off, I thought I should skip. We can both use some rest tonight.

Yesterday.
 
Laculose softens the stool. Rose takes 3ml orally 2x / day. It can also be used in an enema solution if needed. My vet has observed that Rose is "highly responsive" to this.

Cisipride is for motility. We are using it to stimulate her system to pass the stool. It was a human drug, but was taken off the market. To get it now, it must be compounded. I tried another drug that is used off label for motility (pilocarpine). This is a current human drug and easily available. It worked at first, but based on this last episode, Rose will need Cisipride for the rest of her life.

So... laculose works by affecting the stool, while Cisipride works by affecting her gut system to move the stool.
 
Back
Top