10/25 Meme back from ER, PMPS 205, +3 240, +9 330

rawia

Member Since 2017
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...fatty-liver-or-triaditis.236819/#post-2658403

Finally,

My little girl is back from ER after 12 days of hospitalization and aggressive treatment for suspect pancreatitis or Triatidis and end up with possibility of cholangiohepatitis, not sure about the real diagnosis but for sure she had Pancreatitis.

Her level enzyme was little elevated and keep going up and down untill they finally could get it to normal.

she has been eating well and came back with good appetite, they are focusing now to get inflammation under control.

They send her with the following medication:
- Minocycline antibiotics
- Mirtazapine for appetite
And finaly Metacam as anti inflammatory to get the remain inflammation down which i have doupt whither use it or not, I suggest Prednisolon but they refuse because of her diabetes, they asked me to try a short period ( 5 days of Metacam) then see what happened in the next appointment.

they was doing 1.5 unit of lantus , she was on levemir but they prefer to use Lantus so i will continue using it.

since she dropped to 200 I think that 0.5 unit will be safe for now!!

any dose suggestion?

Meme is relaxing :cat::cat::cat:

upload_2020-10-25_19-20-21.jpeg
upload_2020-10-25_19-20-52.jpeg


I hope that she is going to recover well at home and pray that the underlying cause is only an infection that might startef from her last extraction surgery and not being treated well.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-10-25_19-20-21.jpeg
    upload_2020-10-25_19-20-21.jpeg
    55 KB · Views: 174
  • upload_2020-10-25_19-20-52.jpeg
    upload_2020-10-25_19-20-52.jpeg
    40.1 KB · Views: 183
12 days in the hospital is a long time. Poor you and poor her. :bighug::bighug: I'm so happy to hear Meme is home now and am sending prayers that she recovers well. Recovery is a long process. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Any chance you could get her spreadsheet up to date? As best you can from the vet hospital plus what you are seeing at home now.
Yes i just insert numbers from Evening shot today.

I do not have much information about her BG at hospital as they told me she was high all time around 300 until yesterday which her numbers start to get lower.

They wanted me to do 1.5 unit but i am afraid to start with this high dose as she less stress at home, I gave her 0.5 unit .
 
I'm sure she's as glad to be home as you are to have her home.

One way to deal with the spreadsheet is to color the days she was in the hospital in gray and put a note in the comments or in the block that she was in the hospital.

I'm assuming ketones where not a problem?
 
I do not have much information about her BG at hospital as they told me she was high all time around 300 until yesterday which her numbers start to get lower
I was more interested in the dose she was getting, whether you had any depot to speak of or were starting from scratch. You said 1.5 units, just wanted to confirm that was twice a day. She'll likely still have some inflammation, possibly a bit of pain, both of which could mean higher numbers and a slightly higher dose needed than before she went to the ER.
 
I'm sure she's as glad to be home as you are to have her home.

One way to deal with the spreadsheet is to color the days she was in the hospital in gray and put a note in the comments or in the block that she was in the hospital.

I'm assuming ketones where not a problem?
No, I asked them to check for ketones

she had sever infection that cause inflammation.
 
I was more interested in the dose she was getting, whether you had any depot to speak of or were starting from scratch. You said 1.5 units, just wanted to confirm that was twice a day. She'll likely still have some inflammation, possibly a bit of pain, both of which could mean higher numbers and a slightly higher dose needed than before she went to the ER.
Yes she was given 1.5 unit twice a day at the clinic and she was always high a round 300 because of inflammation and maybe stress, I did 0.5 because i am afraid of sudden drop as she back home with less stress but her numbers going high.

should i increase the dose or hold for few cycles?
 
They have hard time controlling the inflammation, at least they was able to get her lab levels back to little normal.

my big issue now is using Metacam, they said that we have to clear the remaining inflammation , i asked for pred instead but they big refuse because of her diabetes.

I am just happy that her kidney levels back to very normal after treatment, what they thought that it was early stage of CKD turn to be infection and all go away now and i do not want to risk with Mitacam.
 
I saw that prior to the hospital she went low but wasn’t eating—even on .75 units, so I would stay with your dose for now and get more info.

I personally always get a baseline at home and play it safe. Make sure she continues to eat and is doing well, get BGs for a few days and then make a decision about the dose. The last thing you want is lower numbers and a cat who won’t eat!
 
Back
Top