10/25 Leo PMPS 76, +2.5 63, +3.5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Ok so we just left the vet. Leo received 240 mls of ringers lactate, a shot of bupe, a 3 day supply of bupe and 1 more days worth of cerenia. I am supposed to watch him today and tomorrow and if I think he needs more subq fluids I can bring him back. Otherwise Andrea thinks he will do fine with just today's subq and won't need more.

He had a bad night, barfing and pooping (normal poo) and was in obvious pain. However, when I got up at 7 (3 hours after barf fest) he was hungry again so he got more HC FF and a handful of kibbles. Andrea kinda gave me crap for letting him eat too much last nightand thinks that's why we had barf fest last night.

So a half dose of insulin tonight and no more junk food after today.....ya hear Dr Andrea Leo?? I told you it was only gonna be temporary!

I pray this is the end of our pancreatitis scare and vetty visits.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo no shot, subq fluids done

you deserve a break! i hope it's the end of it too. punkin did well on the cerenia. when he's been barfing i go with about 1 tsp of food every half hour til he's obviously ok eating a little more. rather have them hungry than vomiting.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo no shot, subq fluids done

All sorts of healing and feel better vines for Leo today
❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧ ❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧
 
Re: 10/25 Leo no shot, subq fluids done

Great update. Hope he continues to feel better and better.

You should join the Yahoo pancreatitis board and arm yourself with info.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo no shot, subq fluids done

Me too - hoping it's the end of the barf fest. Enough of that business. Hope Leo has a good day and can keep down his food. Thinking of you a whole bunch today.
Liz
 
Re: 10/25 Leo no shot, subq fluids done

Did you happen to ask your vet about giving Pepsid, as well?

Please try to get a ketone test when you can. You've reduced insulin, Leo's not eating well, and he's not feeling his best. Keeping an eye on ketones is a good preventative measure.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

I did ask her about pepcid yesteday and i've gotta say she wasn't too keen on it. I would obviously have to pill him and if you saw how stressed out he gets with anything going near his mouth you wouldn't want to pill Leo. I think i'll give it on my own tho, maybe give pill pockets a try. I'll start pepcid when our cerenia runs out.

So ketones did not cross my mind at all and i just saw Sienne's post and am stressed out all over again! So i tested Leo for the first time since yesterday morning (43 hours since his last shot) and got a 83!!!!! After lots of kibble, plus he's only been eating 18% FF!!!!!! That's my good boy cat_pet_icon After all he's been through he's still got good numbers, i do realize that the subq fluids may have brought down his numbers as well. But still i am very happy.

Leo is feeling good for the time being, he's bumming for food and has got kibble on the brain, I have created a monster! :shock: He's not too happy about having to stay inside, but everytime i let him out he runs to eat grass and Andrea said to keep him away from grass for the time being since the last thing we want is more barfing.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

What a good boy!!!! 83 after 43 hours!!!! So glad he's getting back to normal and I hope you get some rest too!
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

I know you have a tough time pilling Leo, but the way we get Pepcid in is by crushing it up, adding a teeny bit of water, and syringing. However, I don't know if that would work for your.

Petey was given a cerenia shot on Friday, too. One thing that Karrie pointed out to me was that cerenia primarily treats vomiting, but not really nausea. Personally, I figured the two went hand in hand, so I thought the cerenia was an anti-nausea med, when it really isn't. (there's another drug of choice for nausea...odanastren or something like that??? Karrie and Marje both know its proper name.) Maybe double-check with someone more experienced, but you may want to try and get the Pepcid in sooner rather than later, or try and get the other med to address nausea.

Nice on the 83! Glad he's feeling good at the moment.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

Ondansatron is the generic -- it's trade name is Zofran.

If Leo is a problem to pill and you want to give Pepsid, you can get famotidine in an injectible as well as a liquid form.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

When Tarragon had acute pancreatitis a couple of months ago, odanastren was what we gave him and it worked great for the nausea. Hope it is all smooth sailing for Mr Leo from here on out. Scary stuff though! Thinking of you Tracy. Hope you are able to get some rest and relax!! ((((TRACY)))) Extra scritches to Leo!
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

So i can give pepcid and cerenia together??? No drug interactions that i need to worry about?
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

It's my understanding that you can. When my vet gave Petey the cerenia last week, she told me to wait 2-3 hours, then give him the pepcid and metronidazole. Of course I also thought what you did - that the cerenia was for nausea, so I held off till the next morning.

Maybe just PM Karrie, though, to confirm - she really knows this sort of thing inside and out.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

Ok so i phoned our vet just now, she says hold off for now, he's responding well right now to his treatment so don't mess with it. I've gotta say i agree with her on this one. She did say that he's hard to pill and pilling adds stress, i asked about sneaking it into his food and she said that may cause a food aversion once he bites into it. He's not acting nauseous anyway and at the moment is playing with his nanner.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

Awww...nanners are good thing!

If does come down to it, like Sienne mentioned, you can get the Pepcid (famotidine) in an injectible form. It's more expensive, but would probably work better for you guys.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

Leo, Rusty and I are thinking good thoughts that you will be all
Better very soon.

Tracy, hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

if you end up wanting to try the pill pockets, you might try giving him a few "blanks" first so there's no "ew, what's in there?" from him. i rolled them into little balls and threw them on the floor. then after he was in Snarf Mode, i'd toss the one with the pill in it down. make them small, even if you have to break up the pill.

so glad to see that 83! wow, after all the high carb food, too. hopefully leo is turning the corner on this one!
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

Hi Tracy, so glad to hear a good report on Leo today. Good sign with the nanners. Prayers and vines for continued recovery. Hugs.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

What a good report for Leo today and wow on the 83! He definitely is probably feeling better from the subq fluids.

I also do what Julie does with the pill pockets. Simon loves them and has no problem with taking the pepcid in the pill pocket. On the other hand, Cleo doesn't touch pill pockets so it doesn't work for her. Luckily, she is easy to pill.

Good luck tonight...you are doing an amazing job taking care of Leo.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo +43 83!!!!!!!! subq fluids done

Well all in all Leo had a great day.(anti-jinx) He's been extremely hungry and has not left the kitchen, i've been feeding him a teaspoon or so every hour or so and making it really soupy with water. So far he's eaten a can of HC FF and half a can of friskies chefs dinner, so about 5 oz's he's eaten this afternoon. Leo has been just dying to go outside as well, so i went out and supervised him to make sure he wasn't going to eat grass.....he tried eating a stalk of grass super sneakily, luckily he's got a mom who knows ALL of his little kitty tricks, so back inside we went. I just gave him his cerenia injection at 5 (a half hour ago) and he took that 22 gauge needle like a little champ. He's been playing with his nanners all afternoon as well. He is due for his insulin dose in another half hour and it will be a half dose (0.5u), also he is due for his bupe shot at the same time.

Will check back in at shot time with a BG number.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo PMPS 76 subq fluids done

That 76 is just AMAZING! After all Leo has been thru these last few days his numbers are still low, i thought stress and pain drove up BG numbers. I'm glad i shot the BCS tonight, as i'm not 100% sure what he will do tonight. Bupe and cerenia are on board so fingers and paws crossed for a good night.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo PMPS 76 subq fluids done

I am really happy to hear that Leo's doing better tonight. Whew. Me, Merlin and little sis Trinket will be sending him good thoughts!
 
Re: 10/25 Leo PMPS 76, +2.5 63

wow! But it is good to read that Leo is doing better. many healing vines for you Leo!! keep on doing well! Mannie said to tell you that he is so proud - another nanner player!
 
Re: 10/25 Leo PMPS 76, +2.5 63

Just a fly by. There is a misconception that pepcid helps nausea. That isn't the case - it isn't an anti-emetic it is a stomach acid reducer. So it won't help nausea like cerenia does to stop vomiting or zofran/ondansetron does. In some cases it can help a cat feel better especially if excess stomach acid is a problem - such as with CRF. It is used in addition to cerenia/ondansetron in a lot of cases though.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo PMPS 76, +2.5 63

Well all in all Leo had a great day.(anti-jinx) He's been extremely hungry and has not left the kitchen, i've been feeding him a teaspoon or so every hour or so and making it really soupy with water. So far he's eaten a can of HC FF and half a can of friskies chefs dinner, so about 5 oz's he's eaten this afternoon.

DANCING!!!!

Great updates today. Keep it up Tracy and Leo!!!!
 
Re: 10/25 Leo PMPS 76, +2.5 63

I'm so glad Leo had a great day. WOW....look at his numbers!!!

Also glad Sienne and Karrie popped in to tell you about the ondansetron. I believe you can only give cerenia for a certain amount of time....a few days...so if he needs more anti-nausea meds, you might switch to the ondansetron.

Sending more healing vines for our LEO!!!! What a great mom he has.
 
Re: 10/25 Leo PMPS 76, +2.5 63

Thanks gals, I finally got some purrs out of Leo tonight too, and it was music to my ears. He's only been eating HC FF for supper and snacks and his numbers keep comin down.

I didn't realize we could only give cerenia for a short time period. I gave him his last dose earlier this afternoon so hopefully no more nausea after it wears off.

So far so good tonight, fingers,toes and paws crossed that it stays that way.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top