10/25 Henry PMPS 305, +6 475 AMPS IS 378 Need info numbers are going up

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Golf2015, Oct 24, 2020.

  1. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Will increase dosage AMPS 1.5 units on 10/25/2020 if no numbers prior to AMPS shows yellow or lower. AMPS READING 10/25 IS 378 AMPS +2 = 412
    Previous Thread
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020
  2. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Hi Robert & Henry! Good luck with the new dose. Hope you all have a good day.
     
  3. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Hi Robert,

    Since you're increasing your dosage based on Marge's recommendation and it's not exactly per SLGS in order to avoid any confusion of others who may be watching you probably want to add this info to your SS:

    Even though you are not doing TR due to the dry food, we sometimes find it necessary to follow the TR guidelines in situations like this to try and keep the glucose toxicity from getting too much. If you are there to monitor, my suggestion is to increase the dose to 1.5u in the morning as long as you don’t see any lower yellow numbers or lower tonight.

    Also it's important to note THIS IS ONLY DOSING INFORMATION for Henry - not to be used by others following SLGS.

    It's confusing around here ...so just to clarify that this is just for you guys...

    Have a great day and good luck with the dose increase! It sure looks like Henry could use it :)
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  4. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Dosage today 1.5 units AMPS 378, AMPS +2 412, & AMPS +6 412 AMPS +8 472

    AMPS dose @ 6:00am EST

    HELP!

    What's going on I'm confused?

    His numbers are up?

    I need information for jump in numbers, would this event be what is called a BOUNCE due to increase???
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020
  5. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    PA231105.JPG PA231104.JPG

    Ketones appear to be Neg/Trace
     
  6. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    There's a phenomenon we often see shortly after an increase, which we affectionately call New Dose Wonkiness (NDW). It results in temporary higher numbers right after the increase. Put the test kit away for the rest of the cycle, nothing you can go but wait.
     
  7. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    How long should I put the test kit away?

    How many cycles do I put the test kit away?
     
  8. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Just until PMPS today.
     
  9. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    The text of NDW states the event could last 24 hours
    The PMPS would only be 12 hours should I expect to see high numbers during the next 12 hours until 24 is reach?
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020
  10. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    You'll need to get a PMPS to prepare for his PM injection of insulin - you need to always get a pre-shot prior to giving insulin - just in case. But yes, it's most likely going to be a high number. When the bounce runs it's course you'll see the numbers come down...it takes time to recover from those sugar loads his liver has offloaded into his bloodstream...just relax..we all see them... :)
     
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Small clarification, this is not a bounce, just NDW. Bounces are caused by lower numbers than he’s used to, or fast drops. I see neither of those on the spreadsheet. We don’t exactly know what causes NDW, but it’s likely something to do with the depot being disrupted by the increase.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  12. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Thank You that's all I needed
     
  13. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020

    Thank You Wendy
     
  14. Golf2015

    Golf2015 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2020
    Just took the PMPS reading (377) a drop of 95 points since AMPS +8. Just 4 hours has passed.

    Just weighed Henry he's 20.75 Lbs


    Weight Log Sheet

    Device = "Digital Portable Pet Dog Cat Scale 44 lb x 0.22 lb by IBE SUPPLY"

    Date ----------Kgs----------------Lbs
    3/10/2020 ---11.23---------------24.76
    4/17/2020----10.57---------------23.30
    5/18/2020----10.22---------------22.53
    7/14/2020-----9.81----------------21.63
    9/8/2020-------9.86---------------21.74
    9/12/2020-----9.84----------------21.69
    10/4/2020-----9.76----------------21.52
    10/25/2020----9.41----------------20.75
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020
    Sue and Luci likes this.

Share This Page