10/25 Eddie AMPS 362 +3 254 (Bounce again?)

My guess is that this is a response from night before last and possibly again last night - nice green low numbers are unfamiliar to Eddie - and now this is the resulting bounce. Looks like a regular pattern - low greens soon followed by high yellows/pinks...

Try to slow the drops by feeding LC...hopefully he'll settle down over time and stop bouncing so much.
 
My guess is that this is a response from night before last and possibly again last night - nice green low numbers are unfamiliar to Eddie - and now this is the resulting bounce. Looks like a regular pattern - low greens soon followed by high yellows/pinks...

Try to slow the drops by feeding LC...hopefully he'll settle down over time and stop bouncing so much.

Eddie gets nothing but LC. No dry food, either. He's had pituitary surgery (acromegaly) and SRT and it's only now he's dipping into the blues and greens like never before. But it's always a bit of a shock when he jumps up!
 
Eddie gets nothing but LC. No dry food, either. He's had pituitary surgery (acromegaly) and SRT and it's only now he's dipping into the blues and greens like never before. But it's always a bit of a shock when he jumps up!

Yeah!! I hope he continues to drop into those nice lower numbers! I see he's already earned one dose reduction...let's hope the next one isn't far away...

Congratulations on seeing better numbers post-operatively!
 
Yeah!! I hope he continues to drop into those nice lower numbers! I see he's already earned one dose reduction...let's hope the next one isn't far away...

Congratulations on seeing better numbers post-operatively!

Thank you! I should mention he also tested 76% IAA, so we've got a number of dance steps to choreograph!
 
Eddie gets nothing but LC. No dry food, either. He's had pituitary surgery (acromegaly) and SRT and it's only now he's dipping into the blues and greens like never before. But it's always a bit of a shock when he jumps up!
I don't want to speak for Sue, but generally what that means is just shift the times you feed the LC to help slow the drop.

I apologize if we've asked, but how are his mealtimes split up?
 
I don't want to speak for Sue, but generally what that means is just shift the times you feed the LC to help slow the drop.

I apologize if we've asked, but how are his mealtimes split up?

His mealtimes are as follows:
8:20 am Breakfast (followed by shot)
11:30 am: "Lunch" 3-4 tsp LC (I usually test before he gets lunch)
4:30-5:00pm Dinner
8:15-8:30 "Snack" LC and give shot.

All meals are low carb.
 
His mealtimes are as follows:
8:20 am Breakfast (followed by shot)
11:30 am: "Lunch" 3-4 tsp LC (I usually test before he gets lunch)
4:30-5:00pm Dinner
8:15-8:30 "Snack" LC and give shot.

All meals are low carb.
How long have they been split like this for?

We usually try not to feed more than a small snack (if anything) after nadir, since insulin is wearing off. So having dinner that early may be counterproductive...possibly raising PMPS, and because it's a small meal at shot time allowing for further drops. But I'd change one thing at a time, meaning I wouldn't be trying to split pred and change mealtimes. AM snack seems to be about the right time but curious about PM snack like Sue asked.
 
AMPS @ 362 this morning but maybe it goes back to October 15th?
Bounces last up to 3 days/six cycles, so not from that far back. I rather suspect he went lower last night. But we can't tell because there were no tests after PMPS to tell us one way or the other.

As others have suggested, a snack at night before you go to bed would be a good idea. Many cats go lower at night. It's food that keeps them safe if you aren't up testing. Feeding similar meals AM and PM can help even him out too. And like others have suggested, turn the 4:30 PM dinner time into a lighter snack, as low carb as possible. And move the main meal up to shot time with a snack before bed.
 
Bounces last up to 3 days/six cycles, so not from that far back. I rather suspect he went lower last night. But we can't tell because there were no tests after PMPS to tell us one way or the other.

As others have suggested, a snack at night before you go to bed would be a good idea. Many cats go lower at night. It's food that keeps them safe if you aren't up testing. Feeding similar meals AM and PM can help even him out too. And like others have suggested, turn the 4:30 PM dinner time into a lighter snack, as low carb as possible. And move the main meal up to shot time with a snack before bed.

What a great idea re: the main evening meal!! I will definitely try that.
How long have they been split like this for?

We usually try not to feed more than a small snack (if anything) after nadir, since insulin is wearing off. So having dinner that early may be counterproductive...possibly raising PMPS, and because it's a small meal at shot time allowing for further drops. But I'd change one thing at a time, meaning I wouldn't be trying to split pred and change mealtimes. AM snack seems to be about the right time but curious about PM snack like Sue asked.
Thank you! Great suggestion! He's been on this schedule for months, ever since he came out of hypophysectomy. The internist @ Washington State University recommended going heavy on the meals and amounts since he had lost a lot of weight. He now weighs about 8.5kg and the vet here wants him to lose some weight. I've been reducing his amount and will try this new approach. It just goes to show, if one has been doing something one way for a long time, it becomes invisible. It just takes a new pair of eyes. Thank you.
 
Back
Top