10/25 Charlie - AMPS 98, shot. +2 49, +2.25 45, +2.5 44, +3 51, +3.5 53, +5 49, +5.25 51, +7.5 94

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Karen & Charlie, Oct 25, 2020.

  1. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Previous

    Charlie didn't eat much after AM test, but he did eat some. +2 was 49. Gave him a new flavor and he ate a bit. Retested in 15 min, 45. Gave maple Syrup and teaspoon HC.
    Testing again in, now, 10 min.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  2. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Here. Good idea on the syrup and HC. Did Charlie eat the HC ok?
     
  3. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Yes
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  4. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Ok, that’s good. Hopefully next test is up a bit.
     
  5. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Still going down 44
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  6. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Let’s feed another tsp of HC and syrup and test again in 15 mins.
     
    Karen & Charlie likes this.
  7. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    It is flattening, but you do have a bit of momentum from the drop today.

    you are doing great :bighug: How is Charlie?
     
  8. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Repeated maple syrup & HC.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  9. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    He seems fine.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  10. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Ok, sounds good. Curious how much syrup you gave? Did you rub on gums, or added to food?
     
  11. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    About 5 mins till next test? Is that right Karen? :bighug:
     
    Karen & Charlie likes this.
  12. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Just gums, should I let him lick some?
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  13. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Looks like Charlie has earned himself a decrease.
    New dose will be 2.0u.

    Easy does it with the food. Please read about handling low numbers here
     
    Karen & Charlie and thebigfuzz like this.
  14. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I think gums are fine.
     
  15. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Yes, depending on next test, gravy is what I would advise Next to keep kitty hungry. Charlie didn’t eat much breakfast at preshot.
     
  16. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
  17. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Ok, 51, that is good and rising a bit. Like Sandy was mentioning, we want to keep Charlie hungry and not over feed. The syrup wears off pretty quickly.
     
  18. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Would you like to give just a tsp of the HC gravy and test in 30 mins? What are your thoughts?
     
  19. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Also, what time are Charlie’s regular snacks?
     
  20. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    He's an easy tester, so 20 min is more comfortable. I'm snowed in so I have to be able to react very quickly because I can't go anywhere.

    He's a grazer.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did you put a teaspoon of syrup in food like Tanya suggested? Good catch!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  22. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Sure, 20 mins sounds fine :)

    Sorry to hear about the snow :confused: ❄️ I used to live high in the mountains and 2 feet was a normal occurrence :eek: made cleaning off the car and shovelling a daily hobby.
     
    Karen & Charlie likes this.
  23. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    She rubbed on gums, but I think she gave a tsp of gravy at 51.
     
    Karen & Charlie and tiffmaxee like this.
  24. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Looks like it’s almost time for the next test?
     
  25. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    +3.5 53 So, good. Testing again in 30. Gave him a scant tsp of LC.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  26. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Thanks to you all for answering the call!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  27. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Sure, after that next test, If Charlie is a grazer, you could put out his grazing food and let him eat what he wants of regular LC now that you are above 50 for 2 tests (hopefully 3 after the next one too!)

    You did great, you caught what was happening and reacted quickly! glad Charlie is an easy tester!

    And congrats on the reduction! You can reduce tonight by 0.25.
     
  28. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    You are welcome :bighug: Just passing forward the kindness showed to me several times :)
     
    Karen & Charlie likes this.
  29. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Okay, good...this equates to what @Wendy&Neko advised on Friday--that a number below 50 would call for a reduction.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  30. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Sounds good, thanks!
     
  31. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    P.S. I assume I reduce with today's PM shot....?
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  32. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    How much snow did you get? It is dry and cold up here in Vancouver...
     
  33. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Yes, you take the reduction immediately at next available shot. However, as always, if the pm preshot is low, you can withhold food, stall and post for advice. With the snow you have, safety is important.

    Tonight’s cycle could still have the old depot influencing the new cycle, so best to post if you are concerned.

    It is also still early in this cycle still, so you’ll want to keep monitoring. Timing of those tests depends on the numbers, of course.
     
  34. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    I'm in Spokane...got 8" Thursday into Friday. Supposed to get 1"-3" -- nobody I know had put their snow tires on yet...it sort of came on us, just like that!

    I live in the country and the road is plowed, but I have a 300' driveway that needs to be cleared first! I had overworked my back earlier in the week and haven't been up to wrangling a 300lb snowblower. Plus, it's freezing (34 right now). But, I need to start on it today.:( I'm running out of lancets!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  35. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    That’s a good bit of snow and a long driveway! When we lived high in the mountains we thought about getting an attachment for DHs Jeep to plow snow. :rolleyes:
     
  36. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Got it!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  37. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    I hate winter! :arghh:
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  38. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Looks like your +4 was 58? Did you put out Charlie’s grazing food?

    Winter is my least favourite season :arghh: At least Vancouver is mild in comparison to most places in Canada :p
     
  39. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Lucky!

    Yes, Charlie's grazing food is out. :) Testing in a few minutes (it's been an hour). Fingers crossed.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  40. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    That depends. You are following TR, so you theoretically have a couple options. The first is to take the reduction tonight. The second is to do what we call "shooting through the bounce". This is only to be used if Charlie skyrockets tonight. In which case you'd shoot the old higher dose once only, then resume with the new lower does tomorrow morning. However, in Charlies case, I think I'd go straight to reducing tonight. He was pink at PMPS last night and down to green this morning. He's not bouncing much anymore. :)
     
  41. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    I'll go with your recommend: Sounds like the least risky option. Given his current numbers, and that he's not bouncing much anymore, we're considering pink to be the "skyrocket" state, yes?
     
  42. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    He's back down again...+5 is 49. Gave him tsp of HC... what now?
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  43. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    And, I can't be sure, but he might have eaten more of the HC. I set it down away from his feeding station to come post and realized he may have been able to get into it, so jumped up only 30 seconds later to check. Not sure, but it would have been gravy only (highest carb, I know).
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  44. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Feed a little HC and test again in 30 mins. I can’t stay long...let’s see who is online.
     
  45. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    JaxBenji likes this.
  46. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Here! I haven't read anything so I'll catch up real quick.
     
    Karen & Charlie and thebigfuzz like this.
  47. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Thank you so much!! Enjoy the rest of your day!
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  48. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    The sugar from earlier seems to have worn off...it happens, and again, you caught it, so that’s good.

    I guess the driveway will have to wait for a bit.
     
    Karen & Charlie likes this.
  49. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Hi Karen! Looks like you've been in good hands with Tanya. I'll be around for an hour or two to help. Looks like Charlie didn't want you doing anything else today :p

    Glad you fed HC - what kind is it? Curious about the % and I can look it up.

    Do you have honey/syrup/karo? Since Charlie is on a mission, we may need a few drops to help on the next test.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  50. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Ok, looks like @JaxBenji is here to help :bighug:

    Surf safe! And hope the snow melts soon!
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  51. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Welcome!

    It's Meow Mix Tender Favorites with Real tuna & whole shrimp in sauce.
    The chart says it has 2 carbs, but I had marked it with a sharpie (so I wouldn't forget) as 25. None of the other flavors of that variety are that low. Not sure where I got 25, a calculator somewhere?

    I have been using maple syrup. I also have honey.

    I'm set to test again in 21 mins.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  52. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Thanks, Tanya!
     
  53. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    great - we'll wait for your next test. I'll see if I can research the carb count a little bit. Do you have other options? even an MC? I'm just questioning if the HC is really HC (it may very well be).
     
  54. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    No other option. I just happened to have Meow Mix for the barn cat and grabbed a couple back when he was 1st diagnosed to have on hand for just such an occasion.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  55. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I'm questioning your HC - so if the next test isn't higher by a good bit, let's mix a teaspoon of syrup into a teaspoon of food.

    Here's what I found on the Meow Mix site (link):

    Guaranteed Analysis
    Crude Protein (Min.)12.0%
    Crude Fat (Min.)1.8%
    Crude Fiber (Max.)1.5%
    Moisture (Max.)82.0%
    Ash (Max.)3.0%
    Taurine (Min.)0.05%

    If we use Pierson's rough carb count using Guaranteed Analysis (info here), we add up the first five items and subtract from 100...the issue is that those actually add up to be 100. The next part of Pierson's equation has us dividing by the amount of dry matter (100-moisture of 82 = 18)...even if it had 1% carb from the first half of the calculation, when we divide by the dry matter, we get 5%. In either case, it doesn't look to be high carb.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  56. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    UGH! I could have killed him all the times I thought he was getting HC. No idea where I got that number. Thanks so much for doing the calc!

    5 min to test.
    I'm snowed in, but I'm going to try to get out of my driveway and get to the store after this test.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  57. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    We know now :bighug: And we'll make our own HC by mixing in your syrup. I did read you were snowed in so be careful...what stores are near you? I can look up some options while we wait. I personally use FF Gravy Lovers beef for HC (it's 20%).
     
  58. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Actually, next test is nowish? Let's check on Charlie if it's been 20 min.
     
  59. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Okay, he tested at 59. But, we've been here before today.
     
    thebigfuzz and JaxBenji like this.
  60. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Walmart-- they have the FF Gravy Lovers, but no beef, chicken hearts & liver which is 15. Do we consider that HC or MC?
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  61. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Was that just with the Meow Mix?

    I don't think it would hurt to do a tsp of meow mix and a tsp of sypurp.

    How's his appetite? Good eater?
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  62. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    His appetite is usually really good. I've not been giving him more then a bite so he should eat. I'm not sure how long it'll take me to get to the store and back--it's only a couple miles but not sure how long it'll take to get off my property. Is it safe to leave after I feed him, or would you wait.
     
  63. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Let's do the tsp syrup and tsp food. Then while we wait 30 min, you check out your property? Anyone else home to help on either front (the store or testing Charlie)?
     
  64. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko is it necessary for Karen to run to the store or is making our own HC okay? I know the sugar wears off quickly but didn't know if the food helps it last longer? Based on calcs from Pierson, what Karen thought was HC was actually an LC food.
     
  65. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Okay, just fed 3 minutes ago. I'm going to try to get out the driveway, but will come back to retest in 30. I'm by my lonesome.o_O
     
    thebigfuzz and JaxBenji like this.
  66. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The food will last longer than just syrup. You should be fine. You need to give both when you return.
     
    JaxBenji likes this.
  67. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    0-10% is generally considered LC
    11 - 15% considered MC
    >15% considered HC

    Looks like walmart carries the savory morsels - here's a variety pack link - https://www.walmart.com/ip/Meow-Mix...iety-Pack-2-75-Ounce-Cans-Pack-of-12/10294348

    Here are some options (data from the food chart)

    MEOW MIX Savory Morsels in Gravy Tuna & Salmon 24%
    MEOW MIX Savory Morsels in Gravy Ocean Whitefish & Tuna 22%
    MEOW MIX Savory Morsels in Gravy Tuna & Crab 24%
    MEOW MIX Savory Morsels in Gravy Salmon & Ocean Fish 20%
    MEOW MIX Savory Morsels in Gravy Seafood Entree 21%
    MEOW MIX Savory Morsels in Gravy Chicken Breast 20%
     
  68. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    I'm out! Taking the list and going to WM for Charlie supplies!
     
    thebigfuzz and JaxBenji like this.
  69. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    I'm back! Holy cow! I rarely shop the store, preferring to order online for pickup. It was a ZOO.

    Charlie tested at 94, yeah!! In store, WM didn't have any of the Meow Mix meals. But, they did have the FF Gravy Lovers beef, so I got a supply.

    Thanks for taking over kitty sitting, Susanne. I sure appreciate all your help and, especially, advice on the foods!
     
    thebigfuzz and JaxBenji like this.
  70. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    I think I just saw you're back and Charlie is up :bighug::bighug::bighug:

    Hope you had a safe trip.

    And I personally won't be on for a few hours (dinner time here on East Coast) but you know how to ask for help from the board :bighug:
     
  71. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    I'm back! Holy cow! I rarely shop the store, preferring to order online for pickup. It was a ZOO.

    Charlie tested at 94, yeah!! In store, WM didn't have any of the Meow Mix meals. But, they did have the FF Gravy Lovers beef, so I got a supply.

    Thanks for taking over kitty sitting, Susanne. I sure appreciate all your help and, especially, advice on the foods!
     
  72. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Of course the board is being a little wonky lol but glad you are back and Charlie is up - when you get a chance, mind adding his test to your title so people scanning know he's okay :)? Good job today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  73. Karen & Charlie

    Karen & Charlie Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    I do, thanks, again, for sticking with us.
    There was a lot of help, I'm very thankful! Enjoy your evening!
     
    thebigfuzz and JaxBenji like this.
  74. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    FWIW, making your own HC is fine. A number of kitties have allergies to wheat (turned out Neko did) and a lot of the HC products use wheat for gravy/carbs. Adding a drop of karo/honey/syrup to LC works fine. I ended up finding HC make with potatoes for carbs. And is specifically mentioned in the Sticky Note on Handling Low Numbers.
     
    Karen & Charlie and JaxBenji like this.
  75. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Thanks Wendy! I thought I had read it somewhere and could not remember where for the life of me in the moment :cat: Hope you had wonderful day!
     

Share This Page