10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 +3 247 +6 153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

Bailey is high because I started him on dry food last night. He isn't eating enough wet to put on weight and when I weighed him last night he had lost 3oz in three days. He looks to me like he is losing weight every day, his hip bones seem more prominent - but DH says I am imagining things. I am pretty sure I am not. He is so skinny... I am worried. He can't afford to lose any more.. :cry:

The issue is a combination of blood sugar and EPI. I know his BG hasn't been that good recently, thats my bad from being so tired that I don't want to handle his lows so I have skipped some shot. But i am going to stop that, increase the dose and deal with sleepless nights. Also he won't handle increased enzymes because he stops eating.. not enough enzymes means he can't process his food, but not eating isn't good either..

So I started dry because I can get more calories into him with the same volume of food. I looked into a ton of wets on Lisas sheet but I just can't find any that are 590 calories a cup like dry. If you can recommend one then please do!! Anyway he is getting a mix of YAZC and Purina DM dry. I believe the DM dry is 13% carbs.. so its not too bad but you can see the impact on his BG already.

I know that means increase insulin but honestly I don't know what to do. Also it would be easier and probably better for him to not have to fiddle with such micro doses. Anyway I increased his dose this morning too because I know the dry means high BG- I am already seeing it.

Wendy



Wendy
 
Re: 10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 - weight loss/dry food :(

Hi guys .. I'm so sorry you are dealing with all of this .. I don't have much advice to give but I thought I read somewhere that wet kitten cat food has a lot of calories in it? Maybe something to look into, if you haven't already .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 - weight loss/dry food :(

Bailey has to eat. That's the bottom line. Have you tried a different brand of enzymes? Also, just as an FYI, they don't need to be mixed into food. This is a quote from the Mar Vista Vet site that you might find helpful. There's more good info in the Treatment section of the article.

Mar Vista Animal Medical Center said:
Dietary supplementation with digestive enzymes is an effective therapy for EPI even though most of the supplement given is digested in the stomach along with other dietary proteins. The little bit that survives the acid bath of the stomach and the patient’s own protein-digesting chemicals turns out to be enough to stop the diarrhea and enable the patient to actually gain some weight. Powdered enzymes (Viokase-V, Pancrezyme) seem to work the best; tablets are available but do not seem to break down consistently. If the pet finds the taste of the enzymes objectionable, a compounding pharmacy can fill gel capsules with the powder. Again, enteric-coated tablets simply do not seem to work well.

In the past, it was suggested that incubating the enzymes in the patient’s food would help initiate the digestion process in the food bowl but this has not been found to be true; the enzymes can be fed immediately mixed with the patient’s regular pet food. Some patients respond best when an H2 blocker-type antacid (such as famotidine) is given concurrently with the enzymes.

I added the bold.
 
Re: 10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 - weight loss/dry food :(

Hi Wendy,

I have no food advice, just sending positive vines for Bailey, and hoping you find a food that works on putting some weight on him. My DH always says I am imagining things re: our furbabies, but I am usually (always) right. :-D

Jane
 
Re: 10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 - weight loss/dry food :(

Thanks guys. I did try a different kind of enzyme ( we don't have much choice here in Canada) and it didn't work.. his poops got worse. He is already on pepcid ac every day. I have asked the vet about Creon 5 - coated enzymes - to see if they will work. I worry we don't have time to mess around with trying new enzymes and working out the dose, how much weight can he lose before he starves to death????

Wendy
 
Re: 10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 - weight loss/dry food :(

((((Wendy)))) your posts sound so much like the thoughts that were going through my head with KK. I understand the feeling of thinking that he is starving. Like you, I fed dry in an attempt to get enough calories into him, and he still lost weight. I wish I had found an answer that I could share with you.

I did find that the dry food made KK's numbers less predictable, so I tried to keep him above 60 so there would be some cushion.
 
Re: 10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 - weight loss/dry food :(

Dear Wendy,
I am so sorry that you have to deal with this. I can't give any guidance, but I hope that you will find a food and enzymes that work. Sending lots of vines, and many

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 - weight loss/dry food :(

wendy, you gotta do what you gotta do and if dry food is the answer... so be it. adjust the insulin dose accordingly.
in the mean time you could always look into a compounding pharmacy filling gel caps for you like sienne suggested.

sending many hugs across the miles...
 
Re: 10/25 Bailey AMPS 421 - weight loss/dry food :(

Wendy,
THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH for your help when KT was not eating, not processing food and dying in front of us. Thanks to your help and suggestions, he's now back to eating, is beginning to regain weight and poops are much better. I truly believe the digestive enzymes were the key to getting food working but the probiotics were also a huge factor. I've now backed off the enzymes but still using probiotics daily. The ones I found were 8x powder in gelcaps - I opened them, gave about a fourth of the powder in the gelcap twice a day. I know you already know all this but sometimes when I get so worried about my babies, things I already know goes out the window...

Come on sweet Bailey - EAT! You GOTTA eat!

Lots of thoughts and prayers for all of you,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top