Re: 10/25/10 Buddy AMPS 325
I appreciate the time you are putting into the research and whatnot, Tony. ECID for sure, in a lot of ways.
1.) You could certasinly try shooting in different locations and keep a record of your findings.
2.) I don't think the different doses is wise. Here on this forum we follow the protocol and have seen many kitties have a rough start and while the dose is being adjusted, the numbers are cause for the Beans' concern. However, we all follow the Protocol here and I pulled this from the Tilly Page....
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
Under Phase 2: Increasing the dose.....
"Try to find a way to dose as consistently as possible, time-wise and dose-wise: sliding scales don't work. Don't skip shots. Fluctuations are very common in this phase before BGs start to stabilize under consistent dosing: a typical curve of cat over the first 1.5 months on Lantus can be seen here."
3.) If you wanted to change the times, again, that is up to you. But you need to leave the 12 hours between shots....you could see if that makes a difference. We move the shot times by 15 minutes at a shot, or one half hour per day....
4.) Increasing the dose would be a good plan, yes. We usually go up the dosing ladder in increments of .25u. Sometimes when a kitty has shown that they don't hold the reductions well, we shave the dose on the way down the dosing ladder.
However, you will need to get more PM spot checks in if you increase the dose, okay?
Moving the PM dose back so that there is longer than 12 hours between shots is not recommended, if that's what you meant there...
5.) Some people have success with giving a late snack at night....somewhere around +8 or +9 and then have no food available from that lat snack up until preshot time. If they eat anywhere within 2 hours of their preshot, the food will show a rise in the preshot number. It is good that you read about the Dawn Phenomenon. It just IS. Not much one can do about that.
Have faith that as you move along and go up the dosing ladder, you will start seeing better numbers. Your work hours are a fact and we just have to utilize the time that you are available, right? so make use to the night times and then maybe the dose can be increase....You are doing a good job! You raise lots of good points and I know you really want this to be better. It is one of the most frustrating things....sigh. But for myself, I am glad that we do have the guidelines to follow. They have proven to be successful and I have faith that in following them we are doing the best that we can.
And I am not going to talk about patience here...cause that is what everyone says. So I won't tell you to BE patient!
Okay? but I will ask that you try to fill in some of the blanks by testing when you can.... :mrgreen: