? 10/24 Sev, 2.4 mmol/l ketones, PMPS 187, +2 142, - advice needed

Sevytheking

Member Since 2025
Hi everyone!

Yesterday 10/23 post

New Day; New Dilemma! šŸŽƒ

Vet Meter Feedback:
I spoke with my vet today, and they were a bit surprised that his numbers have been running lower. They mentioned it’s possible that the switch from dry food to low-carb wet food gave him the push he needed to get him at these numbers; additionally, the other factors (hates the vet and nearly end of the antibiotic meds are not as prevalent as the first reading). The vet advised me to continue testing daily and to give insulin only if his readings go over 200.

Additionally, he strongly recommended that I use the iPet meter instead of the human meter, explaining that it provides more accurate readings for cats. He advised that I give Sevy insulin if his reading is over 200 on the iPet meter.

Background - Meter Switch:
Due to the advice, I was given, today I’ve been using the True Metrix Air meter [human meter], but since I’ll be testing less frequently, and because my vet uses the iPet PRO Blood Glucose Monitoring System for reference, I decided to switch to the iPet starting today (I already had the meter anyways too so like why not?).

Today's Readings: Glucose and Ketones

Glutose

I took one final PMPS reading on both meters before switching since I was going to start to use the spreadsheet that is specific for pet meters to keep track and send to my Vet.
  • The True Metrix Air showed 158, which was in line with his usual blue readings and would have meant a no-shot night.
  • The iPet meter read 235, which puts me in a tough spot since that number would call for insulin.
Ketone:
Ketones Reading: 2.4 mmol/l from KetoBM meter

Meter Advice - Help needed:
For now, I’m doing a no-shot tonight since that’s been our routine the past few days (4 NS as of 10/20 PMBG). Update: Due to the ketone reading and numbers going up I gave him 1 unit.

Should I just record both readings and wait to see what his AMBG looks like on the iPet meter tomorrow? Or should I stick with the human meter readings for consistency, even if that means continuing to skip insulin unless he goes over 200 and against what my vet wants for me to use.

------------------------
Additional Information – Part Two:
Today, the vet also mentioned that Sevy might be showing early signs of kidney issues. He explained that he wants to get Sevy’s diabetes under control before addressing the kidney concerns, since diabetic food formulas can sometimes affect kidney function.


Food Advice – Help Needed:
Can anyone recommend what type of food I should be giving Sevy that will help manage his diabetes without putting too much strain on his kidneys?


1761350692876.png
 
Last edited:
Joha, could you put that Ketone reading in the title of your thread and tag it with the "?" tag?

I would be concerned skipping insulin again since Sev has ketones. Even if you do a smaller shot (0.5 or 0.25 units) it would be good for him to have insulin in his system to combat the ketones. Hopefully a more experienced person can come in and advise you soon
 
Food Advice – Help Needed:
Can anyone recommend what type of food I should be giving Sevy that will help manage his diabetes without putting too much strain on his kidneys?
Check out this food list if you haven’t seen it already. Look for under 10% carbs and lower phosphorus. Weruva has some good options.

Should I just record both readings and wait to see what his AMBG looks like on the iPet meter tomorrow? Or should I stick with the human meter readings for consistency, even if that means continuing to skip insulin unless he goes over 200 and against what my vet wants for me to use.
The two ā€œissuesā€ with the pet meter are expensive strips, and that all the information here references human meter readings. Human meters generally read lower than pet meters. That’s why we do have different take action numbers on the low end where it’s more critical. It’s probably more important to pick one type of meter and be consistent with it.

Hopefully someone stops by soon to offer more advice. You can shoot lower than 200 mg/dL, Seth is a great example. Especially with some ketones in the picture…
 
Hi Joha šŸ‘‹

I’m not qualified to answer your questions about dosing and meters. But wanted to chime in about safe food for kidneys.

Did the vet happen to mention why they were concerned about Sevy’s kidneys? Did something show up in blood work or in a urinalysis?

Trixie’s doc was also concerned about her kidneys. One thing that is very important if dealing with kidney troubles is to get a food that is low in phosphorus. I feed Weruva wet food to Trixie as most of their foods are lower in phosphorus. You will just need to check the carb content as you want to try to stay below 10%. There is a food list that has recommendations for diabetic kitties with kidney disease, but I need to go find it and I’ll come back and post the link for it once I find it.

I’m sure someone will come along and provide some advice about your other questions soon.

ETA - Here is the link to the food list https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Combined_Food_Lists_Feeding_Guide.pdf
 
Joha, could you put that Ketone reading in the title of your thread and tag it with the "?" tag?

I would be concerned skipping insulin again since Sev has ketones. Even if you do a smaller shot (0.5 or 0.25 units) it would be good for him to have insulin in his system to combat the ketones. Hopefully a more experienced person can come in and advise you soon
Update: I plan to do a 1 unit shoot tonight
 
Last edited:
Hi Joha šŸ‘‹

I’m not qualified to answer your questions about dosing and meters. But wanted to chime in about safe food for kidneys.

Did the vet happen to mention why they were concerned about Sevy’s kidneys? Did something show up in blood work or in a urinalysis?

Trixie’s doc was also concerned about her kidneys. One thing that is very important if dealing with kidney troubles is to get a food that is low in phosphorus. I feed Weruva wet food to Trixie as most of their foods are lower in phosphorus. You will just need to check the carb content as you want to try to stay below 10%. There is a food list that has recommendations for diabetic kitties with kidney disease, but I need to go find it and I’ll come back and post the link for it once I find it.

I’m sure someone will come along and provide some advice about your other questions soon.

ETA - Here is the link to the food list https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Combined_Food_Lists_Feeding_Guide.pdf
Thank you - he finds out through blood work. I don't know much since he wanted me to concentrate on diabetes
 
Back
Top