10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~PMPS=55~+1=67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
PMPS=55 ~3.0u Lev
+1=77
+2=78
+3=79
+4=56
+6=54
+7=56
+9=57
AMPS=72 ~3.0u Lev (14th cycle)

Yesterday

Shadow had magical poops last night at about +3 and then spent the night in the 50s. I set my alarms and managed to awaken at the right times, in a stupor, but I got some numbers. He is purring and happy~~his usual self. 3 Ps so far today.
He got pretty tired of the gravy yesterday and last night, but I had my trusty syringe. I don't know what I would do without that syringe. I think I will focus on him again today, waiting for the second <50 number. This dose is really keeping us busy. Not sure if this is the Moon or if it is the new method of shooting. I hope it's the latter. :mrgreen: I don't have to mention how I feel this morning, do I? @-)
Hope you all have a happy and healthy Sunday...best wishes to you all.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72

Way to go Shadow! Gosh how happy and elated you must be, He is looking just fabulous!!!! Keep on truckin' Shadow!

you mentioned a new method of shooting. What did you change? maybe i missed when you mentioned it first off.... ??
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72

Holy Wow!!! :mrgreen: You ain't goin' nowhere today, Pat! You is standing there, with a pokey thing in one hand and a bowl of gravy in the other.....don't deny it....I see you. :lol:
Fantastic night, and it's going to be a beautiful day... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72

wow shadow! Those numbers are very very impressive! Way to go my man, keep up the great work!!
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72

I am shooting in a different spot nowadays. I am giving him his Lev in his side....

I keep linking the Tight Regulations to the newbies and I seem to have missed the one part on the Tilly page that hit me like a ton of bricks when I read it.... how did I not see this before? here is the link to the page: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6importantfactors.htm

3. Hometesting and a Strategy for Success....

"It is best to inject the sides of the body and not in the scruff of the neck, where the circulation is relatively poor. Initially, I did not take rotating the injection site seriously. Promptly, Tilly had hard lumps under her skin. Then I started to keep a careful record of the position of each injection site, maximizing the time between two injections at the same spot. Within two weeks all the lumps had disappeared."

ohmygod_smile So, I did it. I try to follow the Protocol, so why not this part? I was not sure if it was the Full Moon or the new spot. I gave him a shot in the scruff last night though because of his low numbers. It didn't seem to slow the action of the Lev in any way. But, whether it be the fll_moon or the shot in his side that brought us to today, I like it.

I have always shot the scruff. It is good to experiment with things to see what works. I just never changed the location of the injection at all. Never did this experiment before....

When I first tried this the other day, I ended up with a fur shot. :YMSIGH: So you see, I am not sure if this is making the difference...but I am inclined to think it is making a difference for Shadow. (and Patie/Harley have changed the shot location to the flank and not the scruff anymore and I do believe she is getting much better numbers due to better absorption) ECID. I will see if the good numbers continue after the effects of the wonderful fll_moon have diminished.
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72

I can imagine how tired you must be, but I have to say those numbers are sooooo worth it, aren't you glad whitnessed them! :-D
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+2=90~+3=94

Although I'm sure you're sleep deprived, I bet you're happy with Shadow's numbers. Way to go, Shadow! :mrgreen:

Pat, I always shoot Blackie on the side and I almost never have a fur shot (anti-jinx). I grab a little bit of his fur while he's eating and pull it out until I can almost see the skin beneath the fur and I put the needle in right there almost straight in, not at an angle. I push the plunger and count to 10 before I pull it out.

Have a great Sunday.
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+2=90~+3=94

Pat Shadow is doing so well what a thrill. flip_cat You must be tired today. It's funny that you went from the scruff to the flank and I went from the flank to the scruff. I did it to keep Powder from dropping so low on a low dose but not being able to get most of his numbers below the renal threshold. It's working great for Shadow and maybe Powder will be able to copy Shadow's excellent numbers in time :smile: KEEP SURFIN THE GREEN SWELLS YOU BEAUTIFUL BOY :mrgreen: dancing_cat
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+2=90~+3=94

Hi Pat, Shadow's numbers lately have really been fantastic. Amazing what difference a change in shot location is. I never shot in the scruff because I had read that it absorbs poorly there. I used to shoot Stu just behind his shoulders (alternating sides). He never minded being shot there. I never tried the flank. Where on the "side" do you shoot??
Have a great day with your kitties!

Ella
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+2=90~+3=94

Shadow really is looking wonderful lately Pat. You must be thrilled. I am thrilled for you! Carry on Shadow!
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96

Awww Pat...it looks like you had a rough night...but those numbers are so worth it aren't they? I hope you get some rest today.

That is so interesting about the injection site. I think you remember I've asked about this. I was shooting in the scruff, went to the chest, and then came back to the scruff and saw a big change in numbers....but it's hard to know if it's because of the site or the dose because (stupid me) I changed two things at once. I would also be interested to hear if you are shooting like Ella...sort of a "chest" shot or further back along the side. I might go back to another site and try it as well. I have heard it's harder to do fur shots in other places than the scruff. I am so glad you are seeing these great numbers with Shadow...I wonder..where do you shoot Raja and are you going to change that? Have a great day, Pat.
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96

Interesting on the location - and thanks for posting all that you did. Mannie's injection site is between the shoulders - it was just a pain for me to get the scruff. Wow - might have to consider this. Look what it has done for Shadow.
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96

Here is an interesting photo: http://felinediabetes.com/injections.htm

This is a good photo of the spots to inject...i have been shooting somewhere around the side of the belly and the side of the chest. http://www.bd.com/us/diabetes/page.aspx ... 01&id=7374

resource.aspx
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96

This is very interesting Pat for I have been doing mostly scruff lately I think I will try the sides for a while and see what happens wonderful numbers for Shadow :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96

Thanks, Pat. I've been looking at those darn photos since day one!! Gracie says "she's pinching me all over" cause I wanted to see where I could get a good pinch. I think I might try a side shot today...hmmm...do I want to be up tonight? :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96

I shoot the side of the belly too, the scruff doesn't seem to get such great #'s with him.
Shadow has been doing wonderfully, you must be so happy
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96

Me too (we shoot the sides and the flanks as in the picture). Have to be careful to keep the needle (esp. the 1/2in ones) perpendicular (straight!) with reference to the 'pinch' because as someone already said, at these spots on their sides, it's easier to have the needle go in ok but pop out of the side, for a fur shot. ALso watch out for any nearby nipples! - you don't want to hit there!!!
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96~+8=69

+7=76
+8=69
Had his snack. you know, I was so happy cause I had two back up boxes of test strips. I don't have two anymore. Well into the first back up .... weeeeeeeee.....having fun now! :lol:
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96~+8=69

Wow - another great day for Shadow. He's looking so great Pat!

I shoot Emma on her side too. She gets fluids every other day, so I wanted to avoid shooting her where I insert that needle. She definitely has some harder spots under her skin there, so I started off with shooting on her side. I do notice that it's easier for her to wiggle away from me while I'm trying to give her the shot though. Hence, more fur shots. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96~+8=69

Those numbers are awesome. Exhausting for you, but we love seeing them!

Glad you are having success at different shot locations. When I was shooting BigMac, I tried the flank shot once. Just once because that was the only time he winced and cried out. So being the big chicken I am, I went back to the scruff and shoulder area.
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96~+8=69

(((Shadow))) :thumbup

Pat! Wowsers.. both kitties looking furbaby fabulous!! Love it!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96~+8=69

I know I posted on your condo earlier, but it's not here! Maybe that Google Bot ate my post? :evil:

Pat, Shadow's numbers look great! As far as shooting, I shoot in Tinkles' flanks, have been since shortly after finding FDMB and reading about injection sites. The vet taught me to shoot in the scruff, but I didn't do that for very long at all. Some people have commented that injections on one side may have a different absorption rate than on the other side as well.

Great discussion!
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~+1=54~+4=96~+8=69

AMPS=72
+1=53
+2=90
+3=94
+4=96
+6=87
+7=76
+8=69
+9=63
+10=56
PMPS=55 ~3.0u Lev (start 15th cycle)

:shock: Ok, who's got my Shadow and why did you leave me with one that looks just like him but needs hourly attention?

He balked at the dinner. Friskies gravy on top of wellness and FF. Sigh. No way he said. I through out a weird looking can of California Roll...didn't like the way the top looked. Put out some Turducken or whatever that is...and he walked away from that..... So I actually ran across the street to Winn Dixie to get some gravy lovers FF and some grilled chicken flavor...He walked away so out came the syringe. I have to test him in 15. I am sweating like crazy. It's still quite warm here...a lovely night for a stroll. (ok, it was more like a mad dash....milk and cat food.)
I don't know how many cans of the Friskies gravy I went through... but I only had 3 left so I really needed to go. It might another long night... I cannot believe this. I just can't believe it.... :roll:
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~PMPS=55

Glad you had a chance to stock up it looks like Shadow is going to be getting a lot of your attention tonight. It's hectic but you're doing great and he's so :mrgreen: . Do you think he's tired from all the pokies today? ;-)
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~PMPS=55!+1=67

we need to come up with some Pat clones fast, guys!

(but they'll have to wear uniforms so we know which one is the real Pat...and Pat...no fair swapping outfits to fool us!)
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~PMPS=55!+1=67

Well at least you have the supplies and are ready for a PJ party Pat :lol: Shadow is sure giving you some nice numbers hey Shadow sounds like Mom is offering you a lot of food choices better at one of them or out comes the syringe feeding of gravy
 
Re: 10/24 pat's Shadow AMPS=72~PMPS=55!+1=67

PAATT!!! Another Magical Day for Shadow!!! It is unbelieveable! I am so happy for you!--Something about the Full Moon has changed Shadow from a bouncer, to a Cat with a Plan!! WHOOOOOO HOOOOOOO!! This is a landmark, the breakthrough you have been waiting for!! That pancreas is ALIVE & KICKING!!!!(Wish I knew how to put a clever funny pix in here but i'm an ediot!!)
GO GO SHADOW!!!! GREEN IS YOUR BESTEST COLOR!!! Loud & Proud!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Shadow, I was sleeping most of the day!! You all wore me out-- Shadow sang real good, fed me some lizards, & danced by the light of the Moon!!--What a time at Camp STU & Ella!! Shadow you are one of my BFF's!! Hugs & try not to stay up with your bean all night tonite!!! I-)
 
I feel like I am in the Twilight Zone. Raja pooped and someone threw up on my bed, thank you very much! I think I spied a gray hairball in the middle of it. Thanks a LOT Raja...why did you have to do it on MY side?
DH is away and she upchucks on my side...sigh...so I am running around lie a crazy cat lady tonight. :lol:

And Celi...I will now sing in my bestest voice...

Don't you love farce,
My fault I fear
I thought that you'd want what I want,
Sorry my dear
But where are the CLONES
There ought to be CLONES
Quick send in the CLONES.......
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: !!!! omg, you are funny!

since your DH is away...i'm gonna add this obscure one from another famous Pat..

"You know, and i know
my clone sleeps alone.
She's out on her own...she's clever.
She's programmed to work hard
she's never profane.
She won't go insane...not ever.
No naughty low ladies
allowed in the eighties..."
 
i am...with the possible exception of Mary Schneider Yodels the Classics...that one's gonna take some doin'...


wait...i just realized...are you saying you never visited Pat's condo?? :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top