10/24 Ollie AMPS 110, PMPS 147, +2 44, +3 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ollie(GA) & Patsy

Member Since 2011
Good Morning ~O) ~O) ~O)

I haven't opened a condo in a couple of days. Ollie has been doing very well and very steady since we reduced his dose to 1.75u. :-D

Our countdown is started for the "journey" south...51 days and we are off. :shock: Trying to figure out the best way to handle all Ollie's supplies for the flight. I'll be flying alone with him and he is counted as my carryon so I will have to find a way to pack my handbag with Ollie supplies. :roll: I ship boxes and have some things in storage down there already. I know it will be great once I'm there but between getting Ollie down and an office set up and ready to roll...well I am overwelmed somewhat. When my "real" boss was alive he always flew us all together on a private jet... easy as pie (and what a treat!) Commercial flights with a pet...not my favorite.

Ideas welcome. Here are my thoughts for now. We fly at 9:30am...arriving at 1:30pm. Ollie's shot time is normally 6am so I figure he would not get an AM shot on the travel day. Probably best to get a new bottle of insulin down there and maybe travel with the one being used at the time for back up. Pee pads in his carrier. Can of food in case we are delayed, small bowl for water. Treats. Not sure if I should drug him for trip or not...I have a light dose that will "take the edge off"....maybe I should take it instead!

That's what we have been doing. I have been keeping up reading the boards and wish everyone a good day and happy healthy kitties :-D
 
Re: 10/24 Ollie AMPS 110

Ollie looks great, as always! I don't have any ideas about travel. Sounds complicated, but I'm sure you'll work it all out.
 
Re: 10/24 Ollie AMPS 110

Hi guys .. love reading that ollie is doing so well .. I don't have any advice about flying either .. Next time I fly (if EVER) I'll have to be knocked out ... I am sure you'll get it all worked out and it will be easy as pie :-D have a great day!
 
It's been an interesting day...so far. Ollie had an active AM cycle and earned a reduction. His PM cycle now looks like it's going to be active too. No reduction for the 44 @+2 since we just took one. I fed him HC mixed with LC and he's up for +3. I plan to watch him for a while....
 
I asked Dyana to stop by. She's traveled with J.D. and is a veteran when it comes to air travel with cat.

Ollie's SS looks great!! Congrats on the reduction.
 
Flying With Kitty

I agree with Sandy. A lot can happen in 51 days :-D

Sienne asked me to come share my experiences with you.
You need to get a health certificate (which the airlines never look at) within 10 days of your departure (so you may need one each way, if you're going to be there for 4 months). Last year I had J.D.'s anual check up 13 days before departure, and I had to come back and pay for another office visit, to get his health certificate with the 10 days. I also have my vet write a note stating that I must carry my insulin and syringes on board the plane. And, I have him write prescriptions for insulin and syringes that I carry with me, for just in case.

J.D. and I have gone from NJ to CA and back, for our anual vacation, for the past 5 years. It is stressful for J.D. (and me, just the flying alone is stressful for me), so I give J.D. some Rescue Remedy for Pets. I give him a few drops orally and I put a drop on the top of each paw and I put some drops around his carrier, which is layered with pee pads.
J.D. hates it when he has to sit in wetness, and he is in the carrier for about 12 hours (travel to airport, wait at airport, flight time, and travel to my dad's house), so I recently found some more expensive ones (which I haven't tried yet) made by Purina called Ultra Dry Training Pads. The box reads "One-way microfunnels quickly channel urine into core and trap it there - SURFACE STAYS DRY!"

Because our travel takes about 12 hours, I skip J.D.'s shot the morning of travel, each way. I used the fold down cat testing tables (baby changers) in the airport rest rooms to check J.D. before and after the flight. If he's high after the flight, and the time is right, I give him a little R, then, to get him through until PMPS time. I also fly from EST to PST (a 3 hour time difference), so I always need to figure out what time I would like my new (vacation) shot schedule to be (what would be most convienent sp? for my parents), so the skipping of the morning shot helps in that regards, too.

I put all of J.D.'s stuff: insulin in an insulated lunch box thingy, with a sealed ice packet (it has to be completely frozen and sealed in hard plastic to get through security), his syringes (must be in the original syringe box), some HC and LC, glucometer, lots of strips and lancets, his favorite toy, any medications I bring (like appetite stimilants, and now Miralax), a small Fabreeze pump sprayer, his bowls, extra pee pads, cat treats, and my purse, and a book, into a carry on bag that gets stowed in the overhead compartment.
In my coat pockets, I also carry a baggy of freeze dried cat treats (and maybe some EVO dry mixed in), a can of LC, and a plastic spoon. I also carry a gallon sized zip lock baggy (if I can feel that he has peed, I can pull the first layer of pee pad off and seal it in the baggy and dump it in the little rest room trash).

J.D. is in his harness and leash the whole time. When you go through security, ask to go through the old fashioned normal security. You will have to take your kitty out of the carrier, and hold your kitty as you walk through the screening xray doorway type thing. The carrier will go through the intensive xray machine along with your shoes, coat, and carry on bag.
Once through security, I go to the rest room to check J.D.'s BGs. While waiting at the gate, I usually try to take J.D. out of the carrier and hold him and comfort him (where he hides his eyes in the crook of my elbow, and sheds his fur everywhere).

Once the plane takes off and is in the air, I unzip the front of J.D.'s carrier, so that he can stretch out full length. If I feel like I'm going to fall asleep, I try to tie his leash to my hand, so I will be pulled awake (hopefully), if he should wander. J.D. usually sleeps most of the trip.

That's all I can think of right now. Ask if you have any questions.
 
I'm so glad Ollie is doing so well with his reduction Patsy!! Where are you traveling to?
Dyana has given you GREAT advice. I think her post should become a sticky! She sure is a pro at this!
Last week when I took Calistica to the vet I put a t-shirt I'd slept in inside her carrier and for the first time ever she didn't complain about being in the carrier. I'm not sure if my scent helped but it's worth a try. I've tried rescue remedy for pets on Calistica and it doesn't work for her.
I thought Dyana was going to say that she gave J.D. some rescue remedy and she drank the rest! :lol: :lol: :lol:
I would give Ollie something to take the edge off but YOU should stay awake! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top