10/24 Missy AMPS 155

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maresydotes

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54892

I raised Missy to 4.5 units on 10/19. She held pretty high, with a few 200s sprinkled in. Yesterday (didn't get to post..we were in and out) she was :

337 AMPS
313 + 3
310 PMPS

I didn't increase her this w/e because we were going to be in and out and wouldn't be here to monitor steadily.
Now I am glad I didn't.
This morning she was:

155 AMPS
136 + 15 min. (after eating between AMPS and +15 min)

I am not real comfortable shooting her when she is decreasing in numbers. Suggestions would be REALLY welcome!! nailbite_smile


Suggestions would be really welcome!
Thanks
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Sorry about the 911 .....I tried to edit it real quick, guess I wasn't fast enough.
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

If you need to stall a shot to see if she is rising or falling, you don't want to feed, because now you won't know if the numbers are rising naturally or from the food. I hope someone comes along with shooting advice for you. But at least you aren't in a dangerous situation. The worst would be a skipped shot, and that's not a terrible thing.
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

No worries on the 911 :-D When I opened your condo I only saw yesterdays link, so I wasn't sure what was going on ..
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Thanks, Linda. I get all shook up and don't think..... :roll: I need to sit down and reread the stickies. I just fed her as a knee jerk reaction.....
I hate to skip a shot, because she tends to go pretty high without anything and she has been so high lately. But you are right....at least she is not in danger. I will monitor her and go read the stickies....

So, I read the stickies. Since I already fed her, I decided to monitor in 2 hours and shoot based on the results. If I shoot her 3 hours past her normal time, how do I dose her this evening? Go ahead and give her her 4.5 or adjust depending on her PMPS?
Thanks for any help!!
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Hi Mares,

If it's been more than 2 hours stalling we generally just skip it.. If you shoot 3 hours late AM, then the next shot is 12 hours later.
Challk it up as a fur shot.

BRB
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Ok, thanks.
Wish I was thinking before I fed her.....but with her brother squawking for HIS brefies and her wanting hers and me in my usual morning fog, I guess I just acted on instinct. Good lesson for me! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Whenever you delay shooting, your next shot is 12 hours later. This is the reason that we try to not have you delay overly long because unless you have a great deal of flexibility with your schedule, it takes a while to gradually move the shot time back to your usual time.

I'm going to put some housekeeping issues out here...
If you need help with dosing, it's important to have your SS up to date. It also sounds like you didn't do any PM tests last night or the previous night. Having at least one test last night, would have given you some insight into where the morning numbers were coming from. Many cats experience lower numbers at night so it's important to get that before bed test every night.
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

This is an example of a time it would have been nice to know if Missy was on her way up or down.
That's when the +10s and +11s are helpful - they clarify that.

When you are faced with a preshot number lower than you have seen before, don't feed. Instead you need to monitor closely, every 15 min, for a substantial rise, one you are comfortable with. As I mentioned earier, you can stall up tp 2 hours.

If your schedule does not allow stalling (because if you stall , when you do finally shoot your next shot will be 12 hours later) you have the option of skipping altogether or shooting a reduced dose, which we refer to as the BCS (big chicken sh!t) dose.

For this evening I'm inclined to say stick with the 4.5, remember lantus dosing is based on nadir rather than preshot...let's see what others think as well.

I do think that you need to monitor more closely to determine if this dose is too high,I have a suspicion that Missy has been seeing some low numbers that are being missed. A lot of the pink may be bounces. You need to determine if they are and how long they last..

See how the numbers go the rest of today. If she bounces and her shed gets angry enough from the missed shot and she is very high, you may be able to rest tonight. However I strongly encourage you to get at least a +2 and a +10 or +11 before tomorrow AMPS. This will be valuable data and may let you know if you have to be on your toes tmorrow.
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

hi mares!

155 isn't too low to shoot as long as you've been getting data and are going to be around to test. the path to going OTJ, and to getting into those healing numbers is to shoot low. it's a little nerve wracking at first, but really, you'll get used to it. your goal is to have missy spending some time in the 50-100's and this is the only way to get there.

the happy thing is this is all one great big old learning experience for all of us, and i'm pretty sure you're going to have the chance to do it again. :-D so don't kick yourself, now you're armed with info for the next time. don't panic! the next time it happens, you can post here for advice and while you're waiting don't give her any food.

the goal of stalling is only to see that they are rising naturally, that the lantus is doing its thing and beginning to wear out. as soon as you get a test that is rising, you can go ahead and shoot your regular dose. then it means testing through that cycle to make sure she doesn't go too low.

just remind yourself that a non-diabetic cat is 40's-100's - missy is perfectly safe going there too, as long as you're keeping her from going lower.
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

I swear I am kicking myself all the way around, today. I HAVE shot Missy at lower than 155 before, on a couple of occaisions. ohmygod_smile My vet had me lower the dose and inject. It is not like I have never done it before. Doh!!!
I think it was the shock of seeing her at 155 and 136 that threw me off. She hasn't been that low in ages!
I didn't get any extra testing in this w/e because we had a lot going on. FIL out of the hospital, our anniversary.....I knew I wouldn't be able to get any in, which is why I didn't increase her dose but decided to wait. Also why I wasn't up to date on her SS. The first thing I do in the am is test her, feed her and shoot her.....then I turn on the computer. So I was all stoked up, in my head, on increasing her dose and I saw those numbers. SCREECH!!! I was a little shocked, to put it mildly. It has been almost 2 weeks since I have seen any numbers in the blues and nothing in the curve I did, nor the pm tests I got in showed any indication that she has gotten anywhere close to those numbers recently, the way I read it. I got on the iPad to post here, but I can't update the SS from there. I was trying to read the sticky on shooting low, check her again, deal with my civvie cat and DH, along with my fatigue and was perhaps not the most organized or together. I don't do multiple inputs well. My 'dain-brammaged' head cannot process too much information. Sorry.
I know I have not gotten any testing in on the +7 and later on her PM numbers. I hate to keep making excuses, but I have been trying to get as much info as I can, but when you talk fatigue in MS, you are not talking garden variety fatigue. Just getting the PM info I got was hard on me. I am working on getting DH on board, but sometimes these things take
time. I still don't ENJOY poking her.
And I was running around trying to get a meter and strip to check ketones...had to renew my drivers license....it has not been an easy week for me, along with worrying about her.
Ok,sorry about the rant, but I really AM doing the best I can and sometimes life intervenes.. I love my cat.
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Mares:

It's ok.....we all have lives and we understand. Don't worry.

Just a few things:
1. If you don't shoot, we usually put AMBG instead of AMPS in the subject line. If you put AMPS or PMPS, then we know you've shot. IF you didn't shoot, it would be AMBG or PMBG and then we know you didn't shoot.
2. I wonder, too, if it would be helpful if you put AT or something like Ann (Maggie) or Anne/Liz (Zener) do in their subject line. The reason is because if I saw Missy was at a 70 and didn't remember you use an AT, then I probably would not be too concerned. But if I saw a 70 AT...then I'd know she was actually at a 40 on a human meter and would pop in to see if all was ok.
3. It does not hurt to shoot three hours late. The only reason most of us do not is because of time....alot of folks don't have the latitude in their schedules to be off their normal shot time by three hours. It's up to you. If you shot three hours late, your next shot would be 12 hours from that point and then you'd have to adjust to get her back on your normal time (or a new time if you chose it) by either 15 min/each cycle or 30 min/one cycle a day.


:YMHUG: :YMHUG: We know you love MIssy...you're doing fine.
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Thanks Marje,
I know I should be putting the AlphaTrak is there....I am just all messed up today! :roll:
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Don't get too flummoxed. We all understand because we've all been there. I just don't sometimes remember the details of every cat and every bean so it' helps to have a reminder.

It is very helpful to have info in the subject line. There are several of us that routinely scan the board to make sure no one is in trouble. Having info in the subject line really helps to sort that out.
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Really, I thank you for your concern....it has NOT been my day. If I start out bad, it doesn't ever seem to get better. :o Tomorrow is a reboot and I will try to have all my ducks in a row. I don't know why those numbers freaked me out so much, I shoulda been happy!
Everything you say makes sense to me, I just got off on a bad foot this morning.
Sorry for the freak out. :oops:
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

no worries...we've all done that...

not to be too personal, but am i gathering from your earlier post that you are dealing with MS??

please just tell me to butt out if that question is trespassing...

celi
 
Re: 10/24 Missy AMPS 155 DOSE QUESTION!!??

Celi,
No, the question is not forbidden ground :-D And yes, I have MS. Dx'd 1994, so an old companion ;-) I am very fortunate with my particular case. I am totally mobile, some balance/coordination issues, mainly constant fatigue (the reason I retired early) and the damn brain fog I get. @-) I think that is why I was so dense this a.m. Missy hadn't shown much reaction to the 4.5 dose, so I was all set to give her 4.75 this morning. I was SO shocked to see her in blue, I wasn't thinking straight. I have shot her lower than that before......I really don't know why I was all 'aflutter'.
I need to learn to take a breath!! OMG, I am pretty embarrassed by my reaction. :oops:
 
wow...i can't imagine!

my hat is off to you, lady...for your ability to deal with all that you are handling...

and believe me...you'll get over being embarrassed...
I embarrass myself all the time around here :-D
 
Celi,
I am not dealing with any more than anyone else has to handle.....we all have our 'cross to bear' in one form or other, at one time or other.
As for embarrassing yourself, keep doing it!! I love your pictures and poems and stories. They always bring a smile (at the very least) to my face. It is a wonderful gift that you have. :-D
 
mares, don't be too hard on yourself. we all have done something like that - really!

everyone does have their "thing" at some point in their lives - it's so true. this morning though - you've had a crazy weekend, then add in the whole "it's monday" and then missy throws you numbers that don't jive with The Expected Plan, and you've got a brain fog going on . . . well, just don't be hard on yourself. if it was someone else, i know you'd be understanding.

tomorrow is a new day! wahoo!

and missy's done absolutely fine today. sleep well tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top