10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 +8 79 traveling question

Status
Not open for further replies.

imogen

Member Since 2010
Hi all,
What is everyon'es opinion on what to do while travelling. We are planning to go away for Thanksgiving for 3 days and was wondering what people do in these situations. Is it better to not shoot for 3 days for fear of her getting to low with no one watching, or shooting to keep the schedule? I'm already worrying about what to do! nailbite_smile Do people hire Vet techs to do this? Imogen HATES being boarded. The one time I did it they called to say someone should come get her as she stayed in a panic and would not eat/sleep so that option is out. Let me know your thoughts.
her numbers are at least coming down each day!
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 traveling question

Such a good ?? since DH and I want to go away for a weekend soon and I am leaning towards no shots for my boy but then I worry so much about how much that would set him back but I have no one to shoot and test my DS is just not wanting to do this and even though I am a vet tech I have no one at work willing to do this either and boarding is not a option for my boy also hates it like your girl does and would not eat so frustrating DH and I have not been anywhere in almost a year now because of FD be curious to see what others recommend for you and Imogen
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 traveling question

Hi,
I would check your Vet's office and see if any of them would be available to kitty sit and check her glucose. I had to travel for five days this past July, and one of the Vet Techs was available to come over twice a day and check Maggie's bg, feed, etc. It worked out great, especially if there's a problem, the Vet Tech can get her to your own Vet. If that's not an option, you could ask them if they know of any reliable petsitters. My cat would not handle boarding, but I know my Vet has some clients who do board their sugar kitties. See what others have to say and their experiences.
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 traveling question

Here is the link to your last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27784

Just wondering your reason for switching your dose ...I see you lowered it??

I recently left my two for the first time since dx. I did a search on the Internet since I had no one around to give me referrals. I found a pet sitter in the next town. She had been a vet tech so she was used to dealing with kitties and understood about the insulin. She came and seemed very nice....so I paid for another visit so we could chat a l8ittle longer. I left detailed instructions for her which included a much lower dose for Shadow and no shots at all for Raja. I left her a no shoot number and left plenty of HC gravy too.
It turned out well for me. She came at 8am/8p and also at 4pm each day. It cost $50 per day for those 3 visits and for taking care of my two. She sent picture mail to me too! :mrgreen:

Perhaps your vet's office would have the name of someone who does pet sitting. Or you might look in your local paper. I chose to keep my two at home so they would not be stressed at a boarding place. If someone is not going to be there and test all day long, I would lower the dose a bit so she might not go too low. It is a big issue when one needs to leave. I really hated every minute of it. But Shadow's numbers came back to being better once i got home and began giving him his regular dose.

Wish you well...it isn't easy...
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 traveling question

With Tuscany we tried to take her when we could - if we were driving. If we weren't able to take her than I usually had someone staying in house that would shoot her and test. Sometimes it was only tests before shooting but usually she did get a before bed test, too. When we left for our longer trips I always reduced the dose. If it was just a night I would usually hold the dose.

If my usual pet sitter was not available I did train a neighbor and a friend to also test and shoot. I made them come over and practice several times before and with them I would usually leave a sample syringe with colored water in it as an example of dose.

I was lucky and never needed to hire the vet techs. Btw around here vet tech is $20 for each visit.
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 traveling question

Thanks Pat. I'll check with my Vet in town (although I hate to say I don't trust them as they were the ones saying I would kill my cat if I put her on Lantus. I'll search the internet and see what i can find.
With regard to her lower dose, this was advised by the vet who I consult with. She felt we could try 2.25 if her numbers stay within and lower than 120. So far her #'s have gone down since then. Do you think it should have stayed at 2.5?
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 traveling question

Thanks Joyce,
The shooting should be easy but testing Imogen may present a problem as she doesn't warm up to most people. Only recently is she more open to strangers so I am nervouse it might get ugly and then I'll lose that person off the list as well!
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 traveling question

I go by the protocol which says that a number <50 will earn a dose reduction....ok...if you are following your vet's advice. I actually went my own way when I started with Lev and go to my vet for checkups and all, but take the suggestions from the people on the board here. The guidelines are detailed here in the sticky: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

There have been hundreds of kitties on this forum and they know the fine details of FD whereas my vet has to know a lot about general things, and not particular conditions. I don't think that many vets know about the Protocol so they have their own way of dealing with FD. The history of the numbers shows me that I want to follow the dosing suggestions here.
And keeping a consistent dose until the <50 is the way Lantus works best. 12/12 and consistent dosing. Read over the Protocol again and come back if you have any questions, k? :razz:
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 +8 79 traveling questi

Thanks Pat,
I am trying to do both the FD board's advice along with the advice I'm getting from a Vet in Chicago who specializes in this. She has been awesome and so far has done most everything in accordance with what people say here. Her goal is to keep us in the 80-120 range and slowly reduce from there. I think she also knows I am nervous shooting low. I am already wondering what I should do about tonights shot if her numbers keep going down.
The other issue is that Imogen was diagnosed as obese so we are working on weight loss as opposed to gaining so there is that in the mix. She is down almost a pound from when we started so that changes things as well. She has no problem eating so we have to make sure she isn't over eating as well. We need to get her to 12lbs. I think this is helping with her BG numbers as she goes down in weight. Still so much to learn even after 6 weeks!! I think I'll stick with 2.25 if she is under 100 tonight, mostly for my sanity. Not used to these numbers yet. I am sure in time I will laugh at being nervous at this.
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 +8 79 traveling questi

If your vet doesn't know of anyone to kittysit try one of the many groups (HSUS _ ASPCA _ cat rescue) and see if they have or know of someone who would help you. Just a thought.
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 +8 79 traveling questi

I am in the same boat as you--- except I have a couple of people I would trust to take care of Kazi. I just worry because A. how do you reduce a fat drop? and B. how do you explain what a fat drop is and have someone else repeat it consistently? :?
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 +8 79 traveling questi

Especially when I don't even know if I am acheiving the fat drop! :razz:
 
Re: 10/24 Imogen AMPS 125 +4 94 +6 88 +8 79 traveling questi

When I travel, a vet tech cat sits for me. Gabby won't let her test. I drop the dose so I'm not worried about Gabby's numbers dropping since there's no one here to monitor, either.

You might want to try posting on Health. Maybe there's a member you can work out an arrangement with if you're in a metropolitan area.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top