Dawnthebikegirl
Member Since 2021
So I've gotten used to the high numbers and they don't scare me as much as the low ones do. I'm terrified for him to go hypo when i'm not home, which is often.
I checked his BG at +7 this morning and it was 157, then PMPS it was 211. My vet said not to dose him if he was under 216 but i didn't dose him yesterday so i didn't want to not dose him 2 days in a row. When i came home last night the meter read 475, then high at PMPS.
So today before PMPS i fed him, gave him a small bit of kibble and dosed him. Now at +2 his BG has gone up instead of down, but if the lantus kicks in at +2 (which is soon) it should start to drop. Right?
Gawd, I hope that makes sense. I hope i'm doing the right thing. I'll make a point of more testing moving forward and i will try to do a curve tomorrow. I wonder what is the next move. Just hold the dose? How do i get his pre-shot number to not go too low so i don't have to skip a dose?
I'm also having to convert these readings to the American numbers.. my glucose meter is metric. I hope i'm doing it correctly.
I checked his BG at +7 this morning and it was 157, then PMPS it was 211. My vet said not to dose him if he was under 216 but i didn't dose him yesterday so i didn't want to not dose him 2 days in a row. When i came home last night the meter read 475, then high at PMPS.
So today before PMPS i fed him, gave him a small bit of kibble and dosed him. Now at +2 his BG has gone up instead of down, but if the lantus kicks in at +2 (which is soon) it should start to drop. Right?
Gawd, I hope that makes sense. I hope i'm doing the right thing. I'll make a point of more testing moving forward and i will try to do a curve tomorrow. I wonder what is the next move. Just hold the dose? How do i get his pre-shot number to not go too low so i don't have to skip a dose?
I'm also having to convert these readings to the American numbers.. my glucose meter is metric. I hope i'm doing it correctly.