10/24 Chester's +3=93, +5=80 AlphaTrak, +5.75=134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaye and Chester

Member Since 2010
Oops, I posted today's comment on yesterday's condo. I'll just copy/paste it here:

Well, I can't say as I'm surprised, with the kibble, the not feeling well and the extra food I did manage to get down him last night.

He's eating right now with gusto, however, and his eyes appear brighter. Seems to have spunk. He's actually playing right now!


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28064
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's AMPS 437

Please keep us posted on how Chester is feeling today. The numbers we can manage -- kitties who don't feel well make us all nervous with you.
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's AMPS 437,+3.5=337

Thanks so much for all your concern for Chester. Yesterday was pretty scary. Today is MUCH better. This is one of those cases, I think, where I am reminded that the number is NOT the cat. I don't remember who here told me that, but it is very comforting at times like yesterday and today.

His numbers today are horrendous. However, he appears to feel fantastic. He ate a good breakfast and kept it down. He was playing this morning like crazy with his new feather toy. Lots of purring and preening. He's worn out now because we just had another vigorous play session which he instigated...by dropping his feather toy at my feet and howling at me (Chester is a great howler when he wants something).

Eyes are bright, not sitting hunched over.

I have no clue what's going on. I'm wondering how much of it was from me forgetting to give him his tramodol yesterday morning. We've been giving it mostly to ward off pain from the bad pancreatitis attack he had ages ago and we've just never stopped it. He obviously was in pain yesterday and today, after last night's dose and another this morning, he's just as obviously not in pain. I'm sure the fluids helped.

Now I just need him to stay this way and for the numbers to match the cat!
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's AMPS 437,+3.5=337

I'm so glad Chester is feeling better and eating. I really empathized with you yesterday. When Blackie stops eating, I freak out and go to worst case scenario. I'm really glad that Chester turned around so quickly.
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's AMPS 437,+3.5=337

Jaye...so glad Chester is feeling much better today. SEnding more healing vines your way for him. Hope his numbers will come down as he improves.
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's AMPS 437,+3.5=337,+8=90

Holy Cow... Chester's +8 is 90! Waaaay to much drop in one day. Guess I shouldn't have upped his dose this morning...apparently the high numbers were from whatever mysterious malady was inflicting him yesterday.

This cat will be the death of me!
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's PMPS 237, +3=93

What the heck is going on with this little man?

Playing like he's a kitten... and now he's dropping again. Gave him his +4 snack at +3.5.
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's +3=93, +5=80 AlphaTrak

Chester! Have you been talking to Mannie? Hope you get some sleep tonight Jaye. Glad Chester's doing better.
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's +3=93, +5=80 AlphaTrak

It looks like you may need to skinny Chester's dose.

I'm not entirely familiar with Tramadol so I did a little research. You might be interested in this information:
PubMed Health said:
Tramadol can be habit-forming.

Do not stop taking tramadol without talking to your doctor. Your doctor will probably decrease your dose gradually. If you suddenly stop taking tramadol you may experience withdrawal symptoms such as nervousness; panic; sweating; difficulty falling asleep or staying asleep; runny nose, sneezing, or cough; numbness, pain, burning, or tingling in your hands or feet; hair standing on end; chills; nausea; uncontrollable shaking of a part of your body; diarrhea; or rarely, hallucinations (seeing things or hearing voices that do not exist
Obviously, the above info relates to humans. However, this veterinary site also notes that with long term use, the medication needs to be tapered vs. stopped immediately. I wonder if Chester was reacting to having missed a dose of the Tramadol.
 
Re: 10/24 Chester's +3=93, +5=80 AlphaTrak

Wow...good, but scary, information. I know my father-in-law had to go off of it because he was DEFINITELY having hallucinations...very bad ones.

Scares me because I just found a capsule that he must have spit out. It wasn't tonight's dose...I'm sure of that because I noticed that the capsule tonight (which I make myself) had several large chunks and the one I found was almost all powdery. Could have been from whenever because I found it inside of his cat tree.

I'll be sure to keep a very close eye until I'm sure he's swallowed from now on. I'm virtually positive it wasn't the first time that he's spit one out, though. It makes sense, though, because today he felt fantastic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top