10/24 Bast amps-HI +6 353 PMPS HI +2 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misty&Bast

Member Since 2012
See viewtopic.php?f=28&t=81828&p=881173#p881173 for today

it is only his second day so we are working on getting it working

I free handed the stick at lunchtime (+6) because I kept missing with the lancet machine. But we did it on the bed with him going "why did you wake me- It's naptime!" :lol:

could the amioxicellyn for his uti affect any of his numbers.

I have to run back to work but will be home later to check the board.

How fresh does the pee have to be for a ketone test. I am thinking if i put him in the bathroom when i come home for lunch and he pees before i get home- can i use it for a test?
 
Re: 10/24 Bast amps-HI +6 353

Greetings & Welcome Bast!! Of course any kind of infection will raise the BG;s, so not to worry so much yet..The AB's will help with the infection & the numbers should come down in a few days.. see, she"s 353 already :mrgreen:
If the urine is in an empty litter box, it can sit until you get home & bring it over to vet...The vet gave me plastic balls to put in litter box, and all sorts of inventive ways to get a urine sample--If you got one, You Did Great!!!!
Keep asking questions, and doig your best--So far so good!!! Welcome to Lantus Land..
 
Re: 10/24 Bast amps-HI +6 353

I don't need the urine for the vet- I have ketone strips I am suppossed to be doing daily. But haven't been able to get one yet. The vet didn't want me to blood test AT ALL. As you can see I disagreed. I am going to try to get more of a curve tomarrow when i am home from work.
 
Re: 10/24 Bast amps-HI +6 353

I understand, I always needed samples for the vet, and it was always hard for me to get samples.. I just thought the vet might want you to bring another sample.
I was finally able to test Moonie's urine with ketostix by putting a soup ladle under her when she peed & got a sample that way.. I tested her ketones for a year & a half..
You are doing great..
The vets have such limited knowledge of feline diabetes, glad you found us..
 
Re: 10/24 Bast amps-HI +6 353

The urine need to be fresh for accurate reading. "Test in 15 sec" was printed on the direction for use.
I do the pricking free handed too. I found it easier to handle.
You're doing great with Bast, keep it up! Not all vet support our home testing. I brought Rosy to the best feline vet here & got literally scolded for doing "so much" testing! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/24 Bast amps-HI +6 353 PMPS HI

Dang it! When i cam home at lunch he was lower and so happy to see me- purring all over me (even after the prick).
I got home from work and he came out for a moment to see I was home then laying in a pile with the other cat. I went and got my kit then tested him on the bed again where he seems comfy. I think free hand is looking easier- I just cant see through that plastic tip and keep missing the ear- LOL

He comes up as HI again! Grrr so I gave him a "fat" 1u but now I am not sure if I am doing something wrong. Could I be missing when I shoot or something? I don't feel wet on my hands or anything.

so he is eating food right now in the bathroom with the fish gravel catbox hoping for pee.
Maybe I should get the meter that checks for ketones! I still can't get a test!
 
Re: 10/24 Bast amps-HI +6 353 PMPS HI

He might be high until you fill his depot and he can start using the insulin you give him. That's why we have you hold the initial dose. I wouldn't adjust his dose based upon his Preshot. You'll make the numbers wonky.

Just stick with the 1u dose for a total of six consecutive cycles. You skipped one shot so you have to start counting again after that. While we would normally give him more cycles, with his DKA history and these high, flat numbers, the protocol allows for increasing the dose after six consecutive cycles.

You can get a blood ketone meter. The strips are expensive but for a kitty that has had DKA and you can't catch in the litter box, it's worthwhile.

Here's how to get a free blood ketone meter
 
took a quick test before bed. 325
and he is eating again ( i poured more water in his food to get him to drink more)
he still hasn't peed- sigh
I am going to let him out to sleep with me and try more tomarrow.
 
Just a couple of observations/questions....

You mentioned wondering if you were giving the shots right. Can you tell us the procedure you are going through? Where are you giving the shots? Flank? Scruff? Are you tenting the fur/skin?

Even though the 325 at +2 is still a high number, it was actually a pretty large drop by that time in the cycle. "Typically", you would expect a number at +2 that is just about the same as the preshot number. What it looks like is that Bast dropped almost 50% by +2, which can indicate an "active cycle" is coming.

When you get an early indication that a cycle might be "active", it's a good idea to get another test or two before nadir, just in case the numbers continue to drop. In this case, I don't think Bast was going to drop to scary-low numbers, but he may have gone to the mid100 range by nadir. While that is still really safe, those numbers would feel "low" to him, and they might trigger a bounce back to high numbers by the next preshot. And again, no problem with that, but it sheds light on why the number might be high.

For some reason, our sugarkitties like to pull these stunts in the middle of the night. They must think that just because they only need to sleep in one hour segments, we humans should do the same thing :lol: But if you see a big drop at +2 again, maybe set the alarm for +4 to get a test? That will matter more when Bast gets to the point where his numbers are lower overall.

No peeing - I am guessing the UTI is still around, and might be making him feel that peeing is (or might be) a little painful. Hopefully that clears up today.

Carl
 
fwiw, i have several precision xtra meters i've been trying to find homes for since back when i used to do the newbie kits here on the board. the strips for it that test for ketones are pricey so not many use it as their main meter so they've been hard to find homes for but please, if you want one, let me know and i can either meet you somewhere and hand it off or i can drop it at the post office if you prefer
 
Marje and Carl have good points, it takes several cycles for lantus to reach full effect and a sudden drop early in the cycle oftern means they keep going lower while we sleep.

I have never seen anything on how fresh the urine needs to be for a ketone test and i just did a search for it on several sites. The "within 15 seconds" though is for the time between dipping the stick in the sample and when you compare to the chart on the bottle. That is critical, the strip will continue to darken after the 15 seconds and by waiting too long you would get a false reading.

I freehand too and find it much easier. one trick is to slightly twist the lancet before removing it. Lancets actually make a slit not a round hole and twisting opens the slit a little for a better drop of blood.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top