10/23 Max AMPS 425 +2 393 +4 353 +5 283 +6 386 +7 369 +10 353

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Today didn’t start off as I hoped it would, but I guess it’s going to take time since he got back into those high numbers from that big decrease the vet advised. This may be a dumb question but I wonder why he had the hypo event (down to 42) on 9 units, but now at 8 units, he’s so high? Is it because we have to build the depot back up again? Glucose toxicity? Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-22-max-amps-374-2-339.254530/#post-2867956
 
A favour to ask of you, could you mark somehow on the spreadsheet when Max had SRT. It's a significant event that can change his insulin needs. Either mark it like you did the CT scan at NCSU or put something in Remarks. I marked off the weeks since SRT in the Remarks section, as well as noting it in the spreadsheet cells.

We are still waiting for the depot to build at 8 units, it can take 6 cycles to see how it's doing. It was also a larger reduction that I suggested, since you were nervous about the numbers on 9 units. It could be he has to go up to 8.5 units, but let's see what 8 units can do once he's had 6 cycles at it first. And he did see blue (barely) yesterday, which is a good sign.
 
Thanks for looking out for me @Wendy&Neko. I can’t believe I didn’t put that on the spreadsheet, but I will do that. I was thinking that we are waiting on the depot to build, so thanks for confirming that for me. Yes I was nervous about increasing too much. I guess I didn’t realize how difficult it is to get him back to the numbers he’s used to. He seemed to feel really good when he’s in the blues. I sure have learned my lesson from this. I just feel better when he feels better. He does seem some better though. Thank you Wendy.:cat: I will try to fix my spreadsheet when I get home.
 
Awww…thanks so much Summer. You’ve had so much going on too so I didn’t expect you to know everything about Max, but it’s so very sweet of you to ask. Yes we are home. It was only a one day procedure on October 14th, but the week before he had an MRI/CT scan and somehow ended up back in the hospital overnight for pancreatitis. He’s better now. He just went hypo on me earlier this week and the vet decreased his dose too much so now he’s high again, but we will get back on the right track soon. I wish I had just ignored the vets advice but it’s sure taught me a lesson now. Anyway thank you and I’m still keeping you in my prayers.
 
Awww…thanks so much Summer. You’ve had so much going on too so I didn’t expect you to know everything about Max, but it’s so very sweet of you to ask. Yes we are home. It was only a one day procedure on October 14th, but the week before he had an MRI/CT scan and somehow ended up back in the hospital overnight for pancreatitis. He’s better now. He just went hypo on me earlier this week and the vet decreased his dose too much so now he’s high again, but we will get back on the right track soon. I wish I had just ignored the vets advice but it’s sure taught me a lesson now. Anyway thank you and I’m still keeping you in my prayers.
I saw where he had the MRI/CT and there were some problems after that and you were worried about the additional test. I'm so glad you are both home. I really hope you get some good news, Lori. Thanks for your prayers.
 
You will get Max back into good numbers soon. The depot will build and, besides, insulin needs do change over time….and especially now with Max … I hope, from the SRT. Does your sweet boy seem to feel well?

I can’t think how many times I lamented the fact that the relationship between insulin and BG is not linear! Also spent a lot of time trying to explain this to my husband.
 
He was feeling really good while he was in the blues a few days before he went hypo. He was playing and very affectionate. Now he’s back in his old cardboard bed and doesn’t want anything to do with me nor my husband. :(
 
Back
Top