10/23 ELI Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrienne & Eli

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Today:
AMPS 393
+3.5 331

Should I increase Eli to 1.5?

Also, another question - I work typically about 9-10 hours a day. Since I've been around for about a week I've seen several kitties dip into low #'s requiring someone to get them back up. What can I do to minimize that happening while I'm at work?

I'd also take any recommendations regarding when are the best times to feed Eli other than AMPS and PMPS.

Eli is doing better with his mobility - seems like he's much better when he stays steady with in the yellows.

Thanks!
 
9 cycles on this dose, nadirs mostly in yellow, you're fine to increase tonight to 1.5u BID.

About the cats dipping into low numbers, it does happen and the first couple of times it can be quite nervewracking. The nice thing about using our protocol to work up to a good dose is that you know the dose you are giving is safe. In most cases, even when the numbers are low all it takes is a little low carb or high carb food to bump the numbers right back up. When that time comes for you, you will quickly learn what it takes to get Eli's numbers back to where you want them. Most of our cats DO hit a point at which they find a breakthrough dose, and then all of a sudden might need several dose reductions in a row. That can be a stressful time because you're used to your cat being in high numbers, then all of a sudden they are doing a little TOO well.

By testing as much as you can when you ARE home, you'll have a much better idea of what your cat is doing when you are NOT home. That always gave me a lot of comfort.

Other than newer people who are still learning their cat's response to carbs, usually when you see somebody really fighting against the numbers, there is some reason for that. There are some people on this board who have chosen to be more aggressive than the protocol, trying to prevent their cats from earning dose reductions when maybe the reductions are actually needed. Sometimes that can backfire. Some people are also more aggressive with dose increases and they may accidentally increase too far. Or maybe the cat was sick and needed a higher insulin dose while they were in pain and then the pain went away so the dose was too much, or maybe there is something else going on with the cat. So there are exceptions to every rule, but in general our protocol is safe when it is followed correctly.
 
I cannot come home from work to check on Furball. If I think she is going to go low during the day, I leave extra food out so she will have something to eat. Some people here use autofeeders and leave food out that way. That doesn't work for me because I have more than one cat. Libby is right about getting those extra tests in when you are home. I do that on the weekends or if I have a day off. On the weekends is also a good time to get some night time tests in. Any extra data you can get is helpful. Once Eli is on Lantus for a while you will start to see patterns in how he reacts to it and you can guess if he will go low or high easier. Of course, they don't always do what we think they will, but I can usually tell when Furball is going to go low. It all takes time to learn. Extra data helps the wise ones give you better advice.
 
Some people leave frozen food out too to make sure there is some available for kitty come nadir.

In respect of when to feed:

Do not feed after +10 as you do not want a food influenced PS number. Vyktor was always free fed other than having food removed between +10 and PS. Other people like to feed all the meals earlier in the cycle, e.g. PS +1 +2 and +3. Until you start seeing some patterns I wouldn't worry about the timing of the meals too much (except the after +10 bit). If Eli is used to free feeding you can continue that, if he is used to only one or two meals a day you will want to start giving more frequent smaller meals as this assists the pancreas.

Good luck with the dose increase :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top