10/23 DoDo AMPS - 471 3.00U

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovetheduns

Member
(corrected the date on the subject title)
Well,

We were at 471 this morning. I was rather sad. DoDo on the other hand wasn't and demanded freeze dried chicken and breakfast.

It was really disappointing, but not really unexpected. So there is that.

I gave a skinny 3.00-- I didn't feel comfortable going to 2.5, but I didn't want to give a full 3.0 units either.

My mom said he was in rare form last night. He wanted to play with his Happy Socks and Balls night. Then felt she shouldnt be asleep so he kept jumping all over her before running around to attack his socks and balls. She woke up with a couple in the bed. She said he also expressed a lot of displeasure this morning with the litter box (around 5am) (there were some poops in there and some urine spots-- DoDo prefers spotless) so he decided he would go pee in his cat basket. Even though she got up to clean the mess (so it wouldnt seep through entirely to the carpet), he decided it was then time for headbutts and time to go to bed after not letting the human sleep through all of his commotion.

He was just as spry this morning, VERY vocal over breakfast and not very patient with getting his Clavamox today through his tube. He heard food being made and that just made him want to go to the door and fuss extra loudly. I did get a blood ketone test in since he was so high this morning. It was .7 which doesnt even register as trace on the urine strips (I knew not to go and grab a urine test-- he had just urinated about an hour before according to my mom). I am finding this is pretty normal for him when he is so high-- he goes from .4-.7-- and when we are doing so good with the greens he can be 0.00!

Oh well, I will do some more checking today. I think I am going to go back to bed, I got up extra early this morning because I was so excited. I was REALLY hopeful with the +6 hours test-- I figured for sure there is no way anymore ProZinc working in him by then.. So somehow during the night he went from 97 to six hours later 471.
 
Re: 10/22 DoDo AMPS - 471 3.00U

97- to 471, that really sounds like a protective liver bouncing into action. He certainly doesn't seem sick with all that playing :-D , but keep a close eye on the peeing out of the box.... that usually means UTI at our house.

I wonder if a decrease is in order, I would hate to see him start bouncing all over the place. and I just noticed you had to skip last night, I guess that could explain the 471. well see what today brings, but if its a repeat, I would decrease because skipping isnt ideal, unless you can go on a "as needed" shoot when he's rising, past +8, and over 250, regardless of the clock.
 
Re: 10/22 DoDo AMPS - 471 3.00U

thank you nancy, i certainly did'nt want to be on different pages with you on this. i saw a bounce in dodo's ss a few days back...thought it was very obviouse...and really anticipated this red this morning. i also agree youcan't really get anywhere shooting a bounce number. at least that's what i think you said. in my day (oh god) we did not shoot a bounce (liver training) number...we lowered dose based on nadir. or if it was a hypo we did not shoot next morning REGARDLESS of # for several hours to see the number come down on its own...then maybe help with a token dose.
+12 +13 +14 is not the juice workin. THAT dear jennifer is Mr. P.!
 
Re: 10/22 DoDo AMPS - 471 3.00U

So I guess maybe I should have gone a little bit less than even a skinny skinny 3.00?

*sighs*

See, mentally i had it all planned. *lol* If we were in the 200s--- I was certainly going to do 2.50.

And if in the 300s-- I was going to do fat 2.50 close to perhaps 2.75

I just totally didn't think we would at all see high 400s.


Other than that-- he is feeling really good and an absolute mess.

Oh about peeing out the box... in my house-- if the litter box is NOT pristine then babies get really fussy about it. I have 2 who will go into the bathtub, another who will pee beside the box...

DoDo for whatever reason doesn't mind going in the cat bed (I think because his buddy likes to sleep there).

Litter box was completely void of anything after we got up and cleaned it.. he happily trotted in to go potty.

I think this comes from when my mom was home all day when they were little ones (while unemployed and a student). Pretty much if anything dropped in the box she would be in there cleaning it constantly through the day.

Now we do it 2x a day and since back on canned food they are pooping more than they did on raw. So maybe for his I need to be a little more aggressive with cleaning too to meet his expectations. Aye aye aye
 
i think in the 200's 2.5 is a big dose...remember when you have a sputtering pancrease you may get a surge of insulin. right after eatting is the most likely time.
recall " the two most dangerous times is when you start, and if they start going into remission. " go with caution.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top