10/23 Biscuits AMPS 274 gave .25 +2 261 is this ok?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyndibalz

Member Since 2019
After last night big drop and him being a little lower at pre shot than last night I decided go try .25 this morning to see how he does. He still isnt really interested in his FF but did manage to get him to eat 1/4 or so cup of Pure Bites soaked in water. I just didnt want to give him more with him not really wanting to eat much. I am going to boil him some chicken breast and will run to Petsmart and grab some FortiFlora to see if that helps his appetite.

I updated his spread shot with remarks as to whats been going on.
 
+2 he's at 261. If he continues with numbers around where he is now should I stick with this same .25 does for tonight to be safe or should I go back to .5. I know everything will depend on how the rest of the day goes. Im just so glad I didnt go with the dose the dr suggested last night (2 units) Scares me to death thinking what could have happened if I had done that.

Hes just laying around today. Not interested in food but when hes up he drinks quiet a bit.

Adding that days ago one of the cats (not sure who but Biscuits does have a tendency to do it when given a chance) chewed on a Lucky Bamboo plant.... I moved it stupidly forgetting they are toxic to cats. There werent leaves missing but quiet a few bite marks. I did tell the vet right up front that he could have chewed on it. All of his bloodwork was normal, urine test was normal. I just cant figure out what happened or made him feel bad for those few days leading up to this other than the chance he was the one who chewed the plant.
 
Last edited:
Did the vet comment at all regarding why they thought BG were elevated? Did they run a fructosamine test to see what his average BG levels were over the last 2-3 weeks? Did they happen to check his teeth? Dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. Any signs of infection in the tests they ran? I always ask for copies so I can keep track of trends.

I hope his appy improves. Was this one of the reasons you brought him to the vet? This post may give you some additional ideas on How to Stimulate Kitty's Appetite

While you are out, grab some Ketostix so you can keep an eye on ketones. The basic recipe for DKA is not enough insulin + inappetance + infection or other systemic stress
 
Did the vet comment at all regarding why they thought BG were elevated? Did they run a fructosamine test to see what his average BG levels were over the last 2-3 weeks? Did they happen to check his teeth? Dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. Any signs of infection in the tests they ran? I always ask for copies so I can keep track of trends.

I hope his appy improves. Was this one of the reasons you brought him to the vet? This post may give you some additional ideas on How to Stimulate Kitty's Appetite

While you are out, grab some Ketostix so you can keep an eye on ketones. The basic recipe for DKA is not enough insulin + inappetance + infection or other systemic stress
We brought him to the vet because he was acting off for a few days. He was just kind of sluggish acting, being more lazy than usual and just acted like he didnt feel good overall. He also wasnt eating like he normally would. I checked his levels at home the night before his drs apt and he was at 379.
Dr ran a full blood panel and urine test, all came back fine in normal ranges. I dont have a copy of the results but I will ask for that.
I asked the dr if they checked his teeth, he said they did and they looked fine. Biscuits is a big strong boy so I really dont know how good of a look they got in there. I will make sure they get in there and look good next time he has to go in.

I had not been testing him at home because he had been in remission and had no diet change. He was still on the diabetic diet. I really have no clue how his numbers had been until the last few days.

The only thing that had been off is in mid August my father in law came over and fed them for me while we were out of town for 2 days. He did mess up and gave them way more dry than he should have. I had bowls of Dr elseys out ready to go for him to give them in the evening only but he refilled them with iams (outside cats food) the following morning.....He acted fine after those 2 days but in the back of my mind I cant help but wonder if that could be part of what happened. Maybe not though, who knows.


I just tested him at +4 and hes at 189, gave .25 unit. He still isnt really interested in eating. I gave him a little bit of boiled chicken, he ate a few little bites. Dr Elseys is always a win with him and he ate a few tbsps of that. I try not to give him too much Dr Elseys cause he will easily try to get himself hooked but its better than nothing right now.

Thank you for the link on appetite stimulation. I will read through that. Some times Fortiflora works but of course noses are being turned up at that at the moment (all inside cats are on the low carb diet)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top