10/23/18 Olive AMPS 189; +4=89; +5=57; +5.5=63; +7=73; PMPS 367; +4=302 POSSIBLE REDUCIE????

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday .Cabergoline Day 18

I over slept and got test at +4 I'm like really. Knew I should have given her high carb for breakfast. It is the 3rd cycle on this dose so anything can happen. Last reduction was after 3 cycles.

+4-13% carbs given
+5 -15% carbs given

Ok my reduction point is 60. Being treated for the acro I know rules are well kind of not there. There are no boundaries on her road down the scale.

Do I take reduction again tonight. Because it's acro, surfing to keep her safe is key. Surfing to get her body use to normal numbers is pointless because acro tumor is stalling out YEAH!!!!! Therefore reductions can be taken regardless how close they are. Stick to half units reductions or go full units?

Dos this make sense?

THIS IS OLIVE ONLY BECAUSE SHE IS BEING TREATED FOR ACRO. Everyone else should follow the protocols.
 
Glad you caught the 57. I hope she comes up a little higher and surfs safely. If you need to reduce to keep her safe, I would take the reduction.
 
I wouldn't reduce because she has acromegaly, but rather because she is on cabergoline which can produce a rapid reduction in dose requirements. That's just me nitpicking, but yes, take the reduction. Maybe try a 0.5 unit reduction since it's so close to the last one so there is still some depot action, and she is still in safe territory.
Surfing to get her body use to normal numbers is pointless because acro tumor is stalling out
I think there is some value in getting her body used to normal numbers. Besides being easier on her kidneys, she'll probably feel better overall, and if you are lucky, reduce the bounces over time. Of course, I wouldn't go out of my way to get Olive into solid green cycles. Rather, just let them happen and help her surf these nice numbers.

And for any lurkers, ditto what Paula said. This is for Paula and Olive alone.
 
I wouldn't reduce because she has acromegaly, but rather because she is on cabergoline which can produce a rapid reduction in dose requirements. That's just me nitpicking, but yes, take the reduction. Maybe try a 0.5 unit reduction since it's so close to the last one so there is still some depot action, and she is still in safe territory.

I think there is some value in getting her body used to normal numbers. Besides being easier on her kidneys, she'll probably feel better overall, and if you are lucky, reduce the bounces over time. Of course, I wouldn't go out of my way to get Olive into solid green cycles. Rather, just let them happen and help her surf these nice numbers.

And for any lurkers, ditto what Paula said. This is for Paula and Olive alone.

Thank you yet again Wendy. Wasn't sure how to word what I was thinking. I've been doing the .5 reductions. Thinking it's better to go slow if the cabergoline allows it. At the same time reductions so close, my mind keeps thinking they will fail and we start back up again. There I go with the what ifs again.

In actuality, in Olive's case. The acro caused the diabetes. So treat the acro and the diabetes can or will go away. We are for lack of better explanation substituting cabergoline for insulin.

So that brings me to another question. If or when insulin isn't needed can cabergoline (no insulin) cause hypos? I have to read the last 2 links you sent yet.
 
(On speaker box) Acromegaly is the clinical result of excess growth hormone that is most often produced by a benign pituitary tumour. The cause is the tumour, the result is acromegaly. Cabergoline is a pituitary inhibitor, reducing the output of growth hormone, which in turn reduces the acromegaly symptoms. It's that excess growth hormone that also causes the diabetes, So reducing GH output reduces insulin resistance. (Off speaker box)

Cabergoline by itself does not cause a hypo since it's not a substitute for insulin. However, by lowering the amount of GH being output, you lower the insulin resistance which in turn lowers the amount of exogenous insulin needed. It is possible to get caught in a situation where you are giving too much insulin for what the cat needs. SRT, which Neko had, does the same thing. It kills off tumour cells, reducing the amount of GH output. Cabergoline works differently on the pituitary, but there can be similar results. Should you get to a point where insulin is not needed, that just means cabergoline is controlling the excess GH.

Hope that helps.
 
Back
Top