10/22 SPIKE AMPS: 128, +2.5: 76 Still Need Assistance Please

DevilPup

Member Since 2018
Hi. Wrote last evening. No response. This tells where were headed and our situation.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...02-8-5-103-pmps-103-still-no-response.205216/

It would be easier to read thread above first--no one responded to it.

This morning I shot a small amount of insulin. Extremely hard to tell exactly how much it was. But after his BGs staying in the blues I thought it may be too soon to do a OTJ trial. But who knows, I'm not the experienced FD caregiver here. All I want to do is the right thing by my cat.....

It would be highly appreciated if I could get some guidance. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here....no one replies. What do I need to do to get a reply? Thanks.
 
Hi. I'm sorry nobody responded in your condos.

With you following SLGS, with that 76, Spike earned a reduction to 0.1u. Has anyone told you about the sticky for fine dosing? It has pictures of the syringes for each dose so you know what it should look like. I think you should try 0.1u tonight and see if you can consistently shoot that dose. There is a possibility you may have to go back up if the 76 is from the 0.5u depot, but it's better to be safe than sorry when you cannot monitor.
 
There is a possibility you may have to go back up if the 76 is from the 0.5u depot, but it's better to be safe than sorry when you cannot monitor.

Hi thanks for replying. I'm not sure what you mean, "you may have to go back up...." You mean increase his insulin? If that's what you're saying, that's pretty counterintuitive in my mind.

I have seen/read/printed all the stickies. This .25 unit is pretty much just a touch of insulin. It's hard to quantify when it's this small.
 
Bailey started off at .5 She earned a reduction so I dropped her to .25, and that was too low.
I'm been experimenting with .30, and that seems to be working for her. I am using a magnifying glass to see it because, yes, it is hard.
The sticky for fine dosing will very helpful for you.
 
I can't see increasing his insulin if he drops to the 70's. Especially since I'm not home to monitor. That would be totally irresponsible on my part.
 
If 0.1u proves to not be enough, then you would have to go back up to 0.25u. I hope that is better explained.

I understand the words you are typing, but I don't understand the rationale. Why would I increase the dose of insulin if his numbers are in the blues? That's what I'm not understanding. Thanks.
 
When I dropped Bailey to .25, her BGs started to go up because it was not enough insulin for her. She went from blues and greens to pinks and reds.
In your case, if you drop to .1 and Spike's BG starts to go higher, you would need to go back up in dose. Probably not all the way to .25 so maybe try slightly less, .25 minus a drop.
Does that help?
 
When I dropped Bailey to .25, her BGs started to go up because it was not enough insulin for her. She went from blues and greens to pinks and reds.
In your case, if you drop to .1 and Spike's BG starts to go higher, you would need to go back up in dose. Probably not all the way to .25 so maybe try slightly less, .25 minus a drop.
Does that help?

yes. I do understand what you're saying. And I do understand about increasing the insulin if not enough when the numbers increase...... But that is not the case here. Were you able to take a quick look at Spike's SS? He is not going up. I did NOT give him a shot last night, but gave him small dose this morning. He went back down, immediately. He's not going up.
 
Why would I increase the dose of insulin if his numbers are in the blues?
When you go down to 0.1u dose tonight (if you do shoot) and start to see the numbers getting higher and higher, such as high blues or low yellows, then you would want to increase to 0.25u to pull those numbers back down to low blues. It's a trend you are looking for, not just one cycle, because you will need to give 0.1u a chance to build up a depot then you can see if it's enough or not.
 
When you go down to 0.1u dose tonight (if you do shoot) and start to see the numbers getting higher and higher, such as high blues or low yellows, then you would want to increase to 0.25u to pull those numbers back down to low blues. It's a trend you are looking for, not just one cycle, because you will need to give 0.1u a chance to build up a depot then you can see if it's enough or not.

Ok. Now I understand the trend part. I was going to ask "how long is a trend." I looked at Rex's SS. I can see where you held the line for several weeks before his trial and ultimate OTJ celebration.:D

However, when I can't be here to monitor, I guess I just have to play it safe. I work from home, but am REQUIRED to go into the office at least once per week. Here it is 10:30 am and I am still home. Should have been in no later than 8:00. All other days I can monitor him. It is also somewhat difficult to get him to eat. I believe his pancreatitis is acting up, making him nauseous. But if it was, I would think his numbers would reflect the inflammation.
 
when I can't be here to monitor, I guess I just have to play it safe.
Yes, we have a saying here.. "Better a day in high numbers than an hour in low (lime green) numbers."

It does make it difficult with pancreatitis because you cannot depend on him always eating when you need him to. I think SLGS was the right choice. :)
 
A cat's insulin needs are not static. They can change over time, up or down, depeing on how well the pancreatic beta cells are healing. Assuming we are talking about a type two diabetic cat. Same idea on following a good dose for other types of diabetes, but the explanation for the variance may be different. Whereas 0.25 units of insulin may be too much today, it could be too little in a week's time. Neko's "good dose" where she was getting good nadirs went from 8.75 units, down to 0.75 units, up to 7.0 units and back to 0.25 units with lots of ups and downs in between, over the space of 4.5 years. She was not a type two diabetic, but rather had acromegaly and the dose she needed changed in accordance with her pituitary tumour changing.

So you know what to look for when Spike is nearing being ready for an OTJ trial, here is a good post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ng-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/
 
A cat's insulin needs are not static. They can change over time, up or down, depeing on how well the pancreatic beta cells are healing. Assuming we are talking about a type two diabetic cat. Same idea on following a good dose for other types of diabetes, but the explanation for the variance may be different. Whereas 0.25 units of insulin may be too much today, it could be too little in a week's time. Neko's "good dose" where she was getting good nadirs went from 8.75 units, down to 0.75 units, up to 7.0 units and back to 0.25 units with lots of ups and downs in between, over the space of 4.5 years. She was not a type two diabetic, but rather had acromegaly and the dose she needed changed in accordance with her pituitary tumour changing.

So you know what to look for when Spike is nearing being ready for an OTJ trial, here is a good post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/reminder-earning-reductions-and-starting-otj-trials.150160/

Thank you for this post. It has a lot of great info included! And great news...DH just did his first "test" today. I now have a helper!!!
 
Back
Top