10/22 Shylo AMPS 166 PMBG 56 +1 86 +2 170

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127294

We had a lovely time last night with Shylo's BG, but unfortunately he decided it was another good night to throw up again. ): It's strange, after looking over his SS from where I noted everything it almost looks like there's a pattern? It's always around the same time. The consistency is always the same, but it's almost like projectile vomiting instead of just a regular puke (this is the grossest sentence I have ever typed lmao).

Luckily this morning I tempted him into starting his breakfast (we replaced the canned portion with baby food) and he's at least eating. He woke me up when he got sick and in my attempt to make sure he wasn't puking on the carpet (last time it was my bed though so I'd really take anything besides that haha) I slipped and fell out of bed onto the floor... really feeling it right about now lol. Definitely glad to be taking him to the vet tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/22 Shylo AMPS 166

i think you're smart to get him in to figure out what's behind the vomiting. that's not a good sign.

He's not vomiting during the day cycle? Is the food the same at breakfast and dinner?

The 2 meds that people here use for vomiting/nausea are cerenia and ondansetron. If your vet suggests something else, you might want to ask about these 2. The cerenia is for dogs, but we use it on cats - 4 mg once a day; the ondansetron is a people med, so it can be gotten at any pharmacy. There are people here who are fans of both of those.
 
Re: 10/22 Shylo AMPS 166 PMPS 56

So I just got home and tested Shylo for his preshot, and he's only at 56... I'm kind of alarmed that he's not any higher (since it makes me wonder how low he got while I was away today). I left a snack out for him but it doesn't look like he really ate any of it. How long should I stall before retesting? We're already right at our usual shot time so I'm not really sure what to do here. He hasn't eaten dinner yet either and so naturally he's being super antsy over that.

As for the vomiting, he hasn't during the day cycle and the food is the same for both meals (we do rotate between rabbit, duck, and turkey canned but there's only about a teaspoon or two mixed in with each meal?). It seems to be at about the same time each night also (between +5 and+6 or so). I'm wondering if maybe it has something to do with the ursodiol since he only gets that medication once a day and I give it to him right after dinner.... but I'm not sure.

I'll make a note of those two so that I can ask the vet about them tomorrow!
 
Re: 10/22 Shylo AMPS 166 PMPS 56

So a twenty minute stall and he's still only at 57... I mean obviously the green numbers are good to see but I wish Shylo would be a little more cooperative. P:
 
Re: 10/22 Shylo AMPS 166 PMPS 56

Hi Emily and Shylo! That is certainly an interesting PMPS!

Technically, you can stall without feeding as long as your schedule allows (if your next shot can be 12 hours from this shot), but I once stalled a 50s PS for almost an hour and Billie's numbers drooped even more because she hadn't eaten in a while.

Considering that he has been vomiting and you are new to shooting low, I would skip. It looks like he is doing really well, and I'm sure he'll get right back on track.
 
Re: 10/22 Shylo AMPS 166 PMPS 56

Hi Deanna! Yeah, I just tested again and he's only at 60, so I think I'm just going to skip to be safe. He's being a putz over dinner too (I think he's not super fond of duck to be honest), so I'm thinking it's the right choice to just pass tonight and see what he looks like tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/22 Shylo AMPS 166 PMBG 56

I hope your vet can help figure out the vomiting tomorrow! Sending vines that he feels better soon.
 
Re: 10/22 Shylo AMPS 166 PMBG 56

Good plan on skipping tonight, especially if you don't know if Shylo will keep it down. Sending lots of good vetty vines for tomorrow and appy vines for tonight.

I'd keep testing Shylo for a while tonight to make sure he's coming up.
 
Re: 10/22 Shylo AMPS 166 PMBG 56

We're going to a different vet we haven't met before, but I've heard a lot of good things about them so hopefully we hit it off well. P: Shylo is still working at his dinner so once he's finished up I'll give him a poke and see what his BG looks like.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top