10/22 Kona AMPS 307,+1 281,+2 224,+3 198, +5 263, +9.5 360, PMPS 372, +1 312, +3 267

upload_2023-10-22_7-49-59.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-10-22_7-49-59.jpeg
    upload_2023-10-22_7-49-59.jpeg
    46.7 KB · Views: 156
Update: I added a new tab in Kona's Spreadsheet labeled "Nutrition Plan."

I'm looking to learn more about her nutrition and how I can use it in conjunction with dosing to influence the best treatment for her.
 
6:48am - BG 307
6:50am - Fed 1% carb meal
7:03am - Shot 0.75
8:02am (+1) - BG 281
9:00am (+2) - BG 224
10:02am (+3) - BG 198

Testing Schedule for Today:
12pm (+5)
2pm (+7)
4pm (+9)
6:45pm (PMPS)
8pm (+1)
9pm (+2)
10pm (+3)
 
Last edited:
Update: I added a new tab in Kona's Spreadsheet labeled "Nutrition Plan."

I'm looking to learn more about her nutrition and how I can use it in conjunction with dosing to influence the best treatment for her.
If you're feeding her Weruva, they have detailed nutritional info on all their foods on their website.

6:48am - BG 307
6:50am - Fed 1% carb meal
7:03am - Shot 0.75
8:02am (+1) - BG 281
9:00am (+2) - BG 224
10:02am (+3) - BG 198

Testing Schedule for Today:
12pm (+5)
2pm (+7)
4pm (+9)
6:45pm (PMPS)
8pm (+1)
9pm (+2)
10pm (+3)
Has she got any food after AMPS?
 
Has she got any food after AMPS?

I think I gave her a snack at the +1 or +2.

Ugg, I keep forgetting about the snacks. I know you mentioned last night the importance and I need to re-read that post shared on flattening.

Thanks for reminder. I will give her a snack for the +5 & +7 and try to come up with a decision on the snack automatic feeder.

I'll start to note the snacks as well.
 
6:48am - BG 307
6:50am - Fed 1% carb meal
7:03am - Shot 0.75
8:02am (+1) - BG 281
9:00am (+2) - BG 224
10:02am (+3) - BG 198
12:00pm (+5) - BG 263

Testing Schedule for Today:
6:45pm (PMPS)
8pm (+1)
9pm (+2)
10pm (+3)
 
Last edited:
Has she gone up without food? You can still feed her if she's hungry. And you can take a break from tests till PMPS. Looks like she's still bouncing/ recovering from the skipped shot.

Yes, I haven’t given her any food since her +1 or +2. She went up without snacks.

She’s not hungry, just been napping the last few hours or so.

Okay, no tests until PMPS.

Thanks so much for getting back to me! Do you ever sleep?
 
Gave Kona a LC snack, she woke up asking for it. Small chunk of freeze-dried salmon.


6:48am - AMPS BG 307
6:50am - Fed 1% carb meal
7:03am - Shot 0.75
8:02am (+1) - BG 281
9:00am (+2) - BG 224
10:02am (+3) - BG 198
12:00pm (+5) - BG 263
2:30pm (+7.5) - snack

Testing Schedule for Today:
6:45pm (PMPS)
8pm (+1)
9pm (+2)
10pm (+3)
 
I still have two hours for her PMPS test, but she is pretty high now at 360.

Just to plan ahead for the PM shot decision. I'm wondering if we've given the reduce dose enough time to work in.. or should I go back to 1U.

At what number would we consider the reduction a fail and go back? 400+?

I have to work tomorrow, so testing will be limited to the AMPS and then PMPS & +1, +2.

Today's summary:
6:48am - AMPS BG 307
6:50am - Fed 1% carb meal
7:03am - Shot 0.75
8:02am (+1) - BG 281
9:00am (+2) - BG 224
10:02am (+3) - BG 198
12:00pm (+5) - BG 263
2:30pm (+7.5) - snack
4:37pm (+9.5) -
BG 360
5:30pm (+10.5) - keytone neg?

Remaining Testing Schedule for Today:
6:45pm (PMPS)
8pm (+1)
9pm (+2)
10pm (+3)
 
Last edited:
As noted above in my daily summary, keystone test result from test at 5:30pm (+10.5). I’m comparing the colors below.

Looks negative to me, but these are the dirt cheap Walmart ones, hope they’re sensitive enough for cats and are accurate?

upload_2023-10-22_17-43-33.jpeg


upload_2023-10-22_17-43-21.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-10-22_17-43-21.jpeg
    upload_2023-10-22_17-43-21.jpeg
    40.7 KB · Views: 145
  • upload_2023-10-22_17-43-33.jpeg
    upload_2023-10-22_17-43-33.jpeg
    34.8 KB · Views: 137
I have 10 minutes to make a decision, wondering if I should stick with the reduction U0.75 or fallback to previous dose of 1.0U. Maybe a failed reduction? Or just not being patient enough...

Today's summary:
6:48am - AMPS BG 307
6:50am - Fed 1% carb meal
7:03am - Shot 0.75
8:02am (+1) - BG 281
9:00am (+2) - BG 224
10:02am (+3) - BG 198
12:00pm (+5) - BG 263
2:30pm (+7.5) - snack
4:37pm (+9.5) -
BG 360
5:30pm (+10.5) - keytone neg? See screenshots above.
6:43
PMPS BG 372

Remaining Testing Schedule for Today:
8pm (+1)
9pm (+2)
10pm (+3)
 
I ended up sticking with the current dose U0.75. I really hope to stop seeing all these pinks sometime soon...

Today's summary:
6:48am - AMPS BG 307
6:50am - Fed 1% carb meal
7:03am - Shot 0.75
8:02am (+1) - BG 281
9:00am (+2) - BG 224
10:02am (+3) - BG 198
12:00pm (+5) - BG 263
2:30pm (+7.5) - snack
4:37pm (+9.5) -
BG 360
5:30pm (+10.5) - keytone neg? See screenshots above.
6:43
PMPS BG 372
7:03pm - 0.75U shot
8:00pm (+1) -
BG 312

Remaining Testing Schedule for Today:
9pm (+2)
10pm (+3)
 
Last edited:
Question: I'm still seeing higher numbers from the skip a couple nights ago, dose reduction, and drastic food change. How many cycles with pink numbers before we deem a failed reduction and revert back to the 1.0U dose?

Maybe I'm not being patient enough... but I worry about those pinks. Plus, I'm limited with testing on weekdays.
 
You are seeing a combination of a bounce and the effect of a disrupted depot after a skip. I would give it at least 6 cycles for the depot to rebuild and for her to clear the bounce to see better numbers. Anyway, with SLGS you hold doses for a week - even a failed reduction - although, I wouldn't call this a failed reduction yet. Besides, like you said, you cannot monitor much on weekdays and you have just changed her to a low carb diet. It's hard to be patient in high numbers. We have all been there :-)

I bet she's waiting for you to get back to work to throw you greens! :rolleyes: It's back to work tomorrow, right? Or did you say you are off till Tuesday?
 
You are seeing a combination of a bounce and the effect of a disrupted depot after a skip. I would give it at least 6 cycles for the depot to rebuild and for her to clear the bounce to see better numbers. Anyway, with SLGS you hold doses for a week - even a failed reduction - although, I wouldn't call this a failed reduction yet. Besides, like you said, you cannot monitor much on weekdays and you have just changed her to a low carb diet. It's hard to be patient in high numbers. We have all been there :)

I bet she's waiting for you to get back to work to throw you greens! :rolleyes: It's back to work tomorrow, right? Or did you say you are off till Tuesday?

Thanks for getting back to me @Bandit's Mom! Okay, I'll be patient.

Yes, tomorrow/Monday I start the work week, but I think I'll be able to work from home.
Tuesday-Friday I'm scheduled to be in the office.
 
Back
Top